We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value - good location”
Review of Trailsman Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trailsman Motel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Cape Coral, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good value - good location”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed here while exploring the Cabot Trail and were very pleased. The rooms are a little tired, but are very clean and comfortable. The breakfast is nice (great muffins and fruit) and served in a room with a beautiful view of the lake. The hotel is very close to the entrance to the Cabot Trail, but further away from Baddeck than I expected (about an 8-10 minute drive). This place offers good value for the price and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavonne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    75
    44
    16
    10
See reviews for
61
82
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Escanaba, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel was reasonably priced, clean and offered a nice breakfast. The air conditioning worked well, beds were comfortable and a back door to the lake was very nice. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

The issues were the water pressure in the shower was quite low and the water turned cold now and then during an average length shower. The Wi-Fi went up/down a few times which was annoying. Also the Wi-Fi was so slow that I could not connect with my smart phone and make free Skype phone calls.

The hotel is about 5 miles from town which was further than I realized when I booked it. However, the drive to Baddeck was not bad and the hotel driveway was easy to see at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glace bay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Nice little motel, we stayed in # 52 on the end, it was clean and it had its own deck, the staff was very friendly plus you get a free breakfast, beds are comfy,its close to all restaurants in Baddeck....air conditioned rooms,private and peaceful with beautiful view of the water,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Labrador
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel because of the reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. The room was very clean and the staff super friendly. The breakfast was great with homemade bread, fresh fruit and homemade oatcakes. I would certainly stay there again!!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FrozeninLabrador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Rooms with modern fittings. They have good facilities, outdoor pool and laundry. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was included. Home made bread and muffins, juice, cereal. A suggestion would be to have a hot item such as eggs or bacon. This is very close to Cabot Trail. It was quiet. Perfect view of the lake from our room. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the lake for a perfect view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazeliz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelburne, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

As my husband and I completed our loop of the Cabot Trail, it was especially important to find a room with a good bed. The Trailsman Motel had just that. It was a busy spot; the owner noted that their bookings are up 30 percent this summer from last summer ... which is good news! It's a lovely scenic spot right by the lake. And the complementary breakfast (the only one on offer along our specific route), but very good and satisfied our needs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank messengrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed at this motel a few weeks ago and it was such a cute place right by the lake. So calm and peaceful. It is not a sketchy motel at all. It is just what you need in a scenic place like Cape Breton Island. We really enjoyed our stay here. It was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. I haven't had a bread tastier than theirs! My advice - arrive early in the morning for breakfast so you can enjoy their bread. We arrived just about when they were closing breakfast and they only had a few slices of bread left :(

Room Tip: It is a really calm and a quiet location, so there shouldn't be any issues with noise or anythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
3.6 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
4.1 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
5.6 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
4.5 mi away
Auld Farm Inn B & B
Auld Farm Inn B & B
#2 of 17 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailsman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailsman Motel

Property: Trailsman Motel
Address: 10003 Hwy #105, Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Trailsman Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Trailsman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trailsman Hotel Baddeck
Trailsman Motel Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing