We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of Trailsman Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trailsman Motel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stared here for a couple of night while going around the Cabot Trail. This place had a nice view of the water, but the rooms were dated and just ok. Luckily they were clean! There was no included breakfast as specified due to some damage through the winter. We stayed May 22-24, 2014 and booked well in advance, so was a bit disappointed that they hadn't called to let us know this. They did, however, give us each a $5 Tim Horton's card, but it definitely didn't cover two breakfasts each. Also, their laundry facilities were not working and since this was our last stop in Nova Scotia we thougt we might do a load of laundry before returning home to Ontario. I probably wouldn't stay here again because it is about 10 minutes from Baddeck and I have stayed in other places closer to Baddeck (Silver Dart) that is MUCH nicer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendylmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

The rooms are simple but clean. We has two queen sized beds on the water side. The beds were comfortable. The room had a small tv, table with two chairs, a fridge, microwave and few dishes. The bathroom was clean, but basic vanity, the front of the vanity was plywood - but all clean. The breakfast is included and there was homemade bread, muffins and oat cakes from the bakery down the street. It also had cereals, tea, coffee, yogurt and plenty of fresh fruit and a fruit salad. The dining room was clean and tastefully decorated overlooking the water. I would recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunseeking17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at this motel mid-October on a trip around the Cabot Trail. It is an older motel and while it certainly shows its' age, they do keep it nice and clean. Unfortunately, due to age and climate, there is a distinct odor when you enter....quite musty and "old". That being said, it certainly would not be a reason to pass it by unless allergies are an issue. One thing to take into consideration when booking is the close proximity to the highway - noise is very obvious as the units do not have a solid core door to muffle it at all - try to get one of the lower units on the back - you will not hear the noise from there. It is one of the more economical choices in the area and a really plentiful and fresh continental breakfast is included. Beautiful sunrise over the water can be enjoyed from the breakfast room too. Price was about $110 with tax. Not a bad choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank codysmomCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

hi, we visited Cape Breton this year again and stayed again at the trailsman, room was great, view was beautiful, breakfast was lovely with yummy muffins. The only complaints and it's not really one is the pool, it wasn't open. I wish we were told this when booking, so we wouldn't of told our 4 yr old about a pool at the motel and brought his new pool noodle with us. The lake area if the pool isn't going to be fixed for next year, the area by the lake should be cleared and made more into a beach.(jelly-fish) were icky. Over all we loved our stay and would go back again next year for our annual trip.

Room Tip: all rooms have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samconnoraaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had just traveled for several hours only to run into issues at a pre-booked location so we needed to move on and luckily came across the Trailsman later in the evening.
We were greeted by a very welcoming young lady that understood our journey and gave us their best room for a reasonable price. The motel has a pool and other things but we just valued the breakfast and continued on our way. Another really nice Nova Scotia independent that would go to again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickbalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Convenient to Cabot Trail. Beds were comfortable. Bread & muffins are from local bakery. Computer available for Internet access. Most units are single story; however, we got one beneath another unit. Walls & ceiling are thin. Noise transmitted easily between spaces.
Strongly recommend that specific directions be obtained to locate the motel. Do NOT rely on car GPS! Motel is not in Baddeck; highway signs indicate Nyanza. Our use of GPS left us miles south of the motel. A restaurant owner told us we were about the 150th person to stop and ask directions. The motel clerk said that the different towns along Highway 105 use the same address numbering, and that many GPSs direct motorists to the wrong address.

Room Tip: Do not get a room beneath another. Every footstep of occupants is heard. Annoying at 6;00 AM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smoked333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed here while exploring the Cabot Trail and were very pleased. The rooms are a little tired, but are very clean and comfortable. The breakfast is nice (great muffins and fruit) and served in a room with a beautiful view of the lake. The hotel is very close to the entrance to the Cabot Trail, but further away from Baddeck than I expected (about an 8-10 minute drive). This place offers good value for the price and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lavonne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
5.8 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
675 reviews
33.1 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
33.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
348 reviews
6.1 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
683 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailsman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailsman Motel

Address: 10003 Hwy #105, Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range: £66 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Trailsman Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Trailsman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trailsman Hotel Baddeck
Trailsman Motel Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing