We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, nice view, comfy bed”
Review of Inverary Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inverary Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Beautiful grounds including two restaurants, a gym and pool, conference centre, several buildings housing guests and a main lodge. The view of the lake was beautiful and we dined at the Lakeside for a wonderful dinner, and ate breakfast at Flora's. We stayed in the main lodge, and our only complaint has to do with our room (116), our view was of the road and parking lot. We couldn't open our windows because of the noise from the parking lot and pub, and throughout the night we could hear a neighbour snoring. The queen sized bed was very comfy, and I think the hotel was very nice so if you avoid Room 116, it would have been a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swim_bunny2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamieBolduc01, General Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2011

Dear swim_bunn,

Thank you for your recent visit and review. I am glad to hear that most of your stay was perfect and apologize that you felt the location of your room was not suitable for you. We certainly would of been happy to move you, if requested.

All the best and have a fantastic 'short' week!

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

My husband and I have been guests at this awesome resort for over 10 yrs on a

yearly basis ...It's the cozy ,country welcoming feeling that we love ...rooms,grounds ,staff and all it has to offer is top shelf for sure,We spent our 25th @ the resort and a worker came to our room with chocolates and wine as well as a card of wishes ... Back a few yrs ago when on valentines day we would come to the Inn for a great valentine pkg it rocked ,,,, Rack of lamb so good ,as well as the wine that was served ...see you in November as we will be at the Inn to see Mr. Minglewood as
we do
each time he is your beautiful resort/town

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbwilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamieBolduc01, General Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Dear jbwilcox,

Thank you for your fabulous review and past patronage! I am glad to hear that that you feel that what the resort has to offer is 'top shelf'. This is certainly what we strive for. We also do our best to recoginize the special days our guests have while staying with us, whether it be a birthday or anniversary. With that, I am glad to hear we made your special day 'extra' special. We are also looking forward to Matt Minglewood and look forward to seeing you there. It should be a great time.

Best Regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My husband and I found this resort and the room to be very tired and old. Needs to be updated before we'd return again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamieBolduc01, General Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2011

Dear Joanne W,

I would like to thank you for your recent visit and review. I am sorry to hear that you felt the resort was tired and old. We are continually making improvements to our guest rooms and hope you are able to enjoy these improvements the next time you visit.

All the best,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This place suited our needs fine. We got a "rate of the day" special through an info centre, and thought that just over $104 for a room incl. tax and hot breakfast was great value. Our room was in the section across the road from the main resort, but on the second floor still had a good view. The room was your average motel room- bathroom was a bit dated, but was clean and comfortable - nicer than some of the others we stayed in on our trip for similar price with no breakfast. The "quick start" breakfast included an egg, toast, bacon, potato and juice - a nice change from the usual continental breakfast. We did a quick walk through the resort which was nicely landscaped, but did not use any of the other facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Canadian_Explorer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamieBolduc01, General Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Dear Heidi_200,

Thank you for your recent visit and review. I am glad to hear that the resort suited you fine. Our 'rate of the day' specials we offer are very popular offer great value. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you in Baddeck soon.

Best regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I saw some reviews here that were not positive and I was a bit wary of staying here, but I did. Was very happy. I think some of the negative reviews stem from the term "Resort" -- this is a traditional summer resort, not a Four Seasons-type of Resort. I did find the rules around alcohol to be a bit odd (both at the restaurant and the pub), but I understand that it is a "dry" county (town?) and that they need to do things in a particular way to work with the laws.

Room Tip: There appear to be both hotel-like rooms and motel-like rooms. I personally prefer the hotel style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank carlojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamieBolduc01, General Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Dear carlojo,

Thank you for your recent visit and review. I am glad to hear that you chose to stay with us, despite some of the reviews you have read. In agreement and as you have pointed out, the rules we need to follow at the Inverary Resort regarding the serving of alcohol are a bit unique, as Baddeck is deemed a 'dry' village; with that, our pub is strictly for the enjoyment of resort guests. Other 'non resort' guests and local residents can also enjoy the pub, but need to purchase an membership. Not an ideal arrangement for us, but we respect the rules we need to follow.

Best regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I stayed one night at the Inverary Inn and were extremely disappointed. We arrived a bit later and called in advance to let check in know. Upon arrival we were treated very poorly, almost as if we were inconveniencing the hostess. We were given a room in "The Barn." We should have known by the name it wasn't going to be any kind of luxury room. The room was completely out of date and the ceiling was extremely low. The bed was not comfortable. We were paying $140 a night, and expecting something a bit nicer. This price did include a continental breakfast or a "quick start" breakfast, which was average. We will NOT be returning to this resort, and will NOT recommend it to friends. Baddeck is a beautiful spot and we will find better accommodations elsewhere!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HappyinHali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamieBolduc01, General Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Dear HappyinHali,

Thank you for your recent visit and review. I apologize that your experience with us was not what you expected. I have passed along your poor staff encounter to our Front Office Manager and we both apologize the agent was not more welcoming. It is certainly not representative of the stellar service we strive for. With regard to your room, I apologize also. The 'Old Barn' is one of the original buildings at the resort and, therefore has a vast amount of history attached to it. We certainly could have moved you to a more desireable room if requested.

Best regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Enjoyed the Inverary Inn and the surrounding area. Service was good. Food just fine, The grounds are lovely even though I was there in the spring. I would stay here again and would like to go back for pleasure rather than business and in the summer or fall so as to more fully enjoy the outside,

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darsie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamieBolduc01, General Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear darsie62,

I would like to thank you for your review. You are most certainly welcome back at any time, for business or pleasure.

I hope you had a great summer!

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
0.3 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
674 reviews
45.0 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.3 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Trailsman Motel
Trailsman Motel
#6 of 7 in Baddeck
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
42.8 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverary Resort

Address: 368 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range: £92 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inverary Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverary Resort is a family owned and operated, full service property located on the shores of the beautiful Bras d'Or Lakes in Baddeck. With a variety of accommodation types, conference facilities and waterfront recreation center, Inverary is a picturesque getaway location for couples, families and groups. Centrally located, Baddeck is the perfect place to experience the finest attractions our world-famous Cape Breton Island has to offer. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inverary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverary Hotel Baddeck
Inverary Resort Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing