We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up to date true resort”
Review of Inverary Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inverary Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Up to date true resort”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed overnight at this lakeside resort in main building. Spacious updated room with pillow top mattress. Nice breakfast from menu although pricey and the high wheeler cafe bakery in town is better. Fresh baked scone.
Excellent resort rentals. $10 per day per person or $10 per hr. friendly helpful gentleman at adventure center. We kayaked out and around island in about an hour.
Resort is nicely landscaped. Many inns and restaurants to choose from. Wish we had made this our base for touring island

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatureEnthusiast7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caper240657, General Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thanks very much for commenting on your your stay at the Inverary. It is a wonderful place and indeed you were able to take advantage off our Lakeside Location and the activities that we offer here at the Inverary. We find that as you suggest, people are more then ever wanting to make the Resort their base while here on Cape Breton and also to enjoy our facilities as well. We look forward to having you visit us again. Many Thanks Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    200
    168
    90
    39
See reviews for
148
293
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We would of never known about this place or the town of Baddeck if we didn't stop at the visitors information. Florence was such a help in recommending this beautiful cove area. We loved the resort property . Stayed in "L" Argyle lodge Clean and well kept(bathroom could be updated) The bed was amazing! Walked to the pub,and lakeside resturant There was a boardwalk where you could watch sail boats, craps and a light house (Kids would love it ). Ate yummy fish and pototoes. Evening time they have a marshmellow roast. Breakfast was amazing!! In the Main lodge there is an huge dinning area with a hot buffet of eggs, sausage,yogurt,cearl,etc..On china plates !! We drove 5mins(could of rented kayaks or rode bikes) to a small walk on ferry that took us over to the Kidston Island lighthouse. There is a change room there and picinic tables and lifeguards for swimming. Beautiful!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b2mack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caper240657, General Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thanks for commenting on Baddeck and our Resort. We are very proud of both of them and indeed you took the time to enjoy all of what we have here. Baddeck centrally located on Cape Breton Island along with having lots to do right here, is ideal to use as a base to tour the entire area. There is hiking, boating, touring, swimming etc. It is nice to see people really take the time to enjoy the area. Thanks Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Inverary Resort is a very well maintained older property and my 5 night stay was quite pleasant. I did not use any 'resort' elements of the property but I did eat my breakfast (which was included) in the main building's dining area and a couple of evening meals in the "Thistledown Pub" in the main building's lower level. The food was good and the prices reasonable but the small pub had live entertainment every night beginning at 9:00 PM which made conversation difficult past that point (although the performers I heard were excellent).

The staff was helpful and friendly. The grounds and view are charming and the guest rooms that I visited in the larger buildings were all modern and up to date, however, one of our group stayed in a "cottage" which was spacious and included a porch, kitchen and living room but needed some remodeling and did not appear to have air conditioning. Another item to mention would be that the available electrical outlets in the rooms are few so, if you travel with a lot of items that need recharging, be prepared to unplug some lights and/or the TV. The only other issue in my room was extremely sensitive water temperature in the shower-tub. Both my roommate and I had more than one experience of suddenly having 'all hot' water coming out of the shower-head. With all that said, I don't want to give a negative impression because that was certainly not the case. The beds were comfortable and, as I stated, the overall experience quite pleasant.

I look forward to return to beautiful Baddeck, Nova Scotia and will certainly stay at the Inverary Resort again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiteology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caper240657, General Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
thanks for your comments on your visit to the Inverary Resort. We are always pleased when people have a positive experience at the Resort and that they give themselves the time to enjoy the facilities and people at the Resort. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Sincerely Scott MacAulay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I loved everything about this place...the atmoshphere, the staff, the resort. I came for a few days in June (20 - 23) to figure out logisitcs for a business meeting in September, and am very much looking forward to returning with my company.

The beds were extremely comfortable, the food tasty (try the strawberry rhubarb ice cream at the Lakeside Restaurant), and working with Audrey to coordinate a puzzle of meetings and events has been (and continues to be) a dream! From the resort owner to management and staff, everyone here was *extremely* pleasant and accomodating.

I couldn't rank the spa as I didn't have time to experience it, but it did look lovely.

(Make a point of going to the pub - especially if Tracy's playing. He's got a super playlist and puts a great sound of his own to everything he does - made me like a lot of his versions even more than the originals!)

The only negative thing I have to say is that I didn't get to stay long enough :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank interpretive_option
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caper240657, General Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
We really enjoyed having you and your sister staying with us as well. You would have loved staying on through July as we have had a wonderful summer. Audrey has been a wonderful part of our team here at the Inverary and honestly enjoys working with all of our guests and brides to make sure that they have a perfect visit here at Inverary. We will see you in September. Thanks Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire. UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We pre-booked 2 nights here and were allocated a ground floor room in the main block. The accommodation seemed Ok at first. It had 2 large beds and all the usual trimmings - hospitality tray, bathroom toiletries etc. It wasn't until the first evening when we wanted to sit and read, when we realised that 2 or the 3 lights in the room weren't working. The next morning we went to make a cup of coffee only to find the previous guest's used coffee bag still sitting in the coffee machine. Yuk! We left a note about these issues for the housekeeper and went off for the day. That evening we returned to find the coffee pot had been emptied and cleaned but the lights still not working. I rang reception who couldn't have been less interested, saying that all the maintenance personnel had gone home so nothing could be done about the lighting until the following day (not much use to us as we'd have checked out by then!)
Before leaving on our last day, we checked the room thoroughly to make sure we hadn't left anything and under the bed we discovered a previous guest's dirty coffee cup!
Maybe we were just unlucky but overall this was a bit of a disappointment.

Room Tip: Higher floors in the main block will probably be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marianjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caper240657, General Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for bringing these items to my attention. There is no question that these little things need to be dealt with and with some additional training in our Reception and Housekeeping I am sure we have made the needed adjustments. I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your trip. Sincerely Scott MacAulay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Arrived late at night for rest before Cabot Trail in the morning. Looks wonderful on the outside and still quite nice on the inside in the common areas. The rooms themselves are spacious and comfortable but seem a bit older in their interior design / furnishing. Nonetheless, it was comfortable and clean and that is important.

Has a fitness room, swimming pool, and lots of events (it is indeed a resort). Breakfast was included with our rate (potatoes, egg, toast, choice of meat). Staff was nice, and friendly - appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vak88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caper240657, General Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thanks very much for your comments with regards to you recent visit to the Inverary Resort. It would have been great if you had arrived earlier in the day in order to enjoy all of our facilities. It appears as though you did get a chance to tour the property as well as the famous Cabot Trail. I trust you enjoyed your day on the Trail.
Sincerely
Scott MacAulay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

This was a lovely vacation property on Cape Breton Island in Nova Scotia. It is an old hotel property that has been beautifully modernized. They have a variety of accomodations -- lodge rooms, cottages, etc. The property sits on a lake, and they offer paddle boats and canoes to their guests. There is an indoor pool, shuffle board and tennis courts. The property has a fine dining restaurant on the lake (pricey) and a pub (reasonable) that has limitations (slow service, poor selection, difficulty filling requests). We upgraded to the lodge rooms with a fireplace and the extra was well worth it....... the rooms were delightful. This resort is a wonderful home base if you want to explore Cape Breton, Sydney, etc without moving every night, or a great destination spot for a leisurely vacation.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a lodge room with a fireplace, and completely enjoyed that extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randyfrym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caper240657, General Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you very much for your comments on the Inverary Resort. With the two food outlets on the property we have been able to cater to those wanting something lighter or more of a dining experience. Both have been very popular, however the pub is smaller and therefore cannot handle too many customers, as well, it has been very busy. Thanks for the review. Scott MacAulay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
0.2 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
608 reviews
27.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
45.0 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
296 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
109 reviews
42.8 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverary Resort

Property: Inverary Resort
Address: 368 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inverary Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverary Resort is a family owned and operated, full service property located on the shores of the beautiful Bras d'Or Lakes in Baddeck. With a variety of accommodation types, conference facilities and waterfront recreation center, Inverary is a picturesque getaway location for couples, families and groups. Centrally located, Baddeck is the perfect place to experience the finest attractions our, world famous, Cape Breton Island has to offer. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inverary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverary Hotel Baddeck
Inverary Resort Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing