We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ehh”
Review of Inverary Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inverary Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night w my wife last week on NS road trip. It was an interesting property and seemed pretty nice outside. We got a room in the 'old barn' building. Every entering the old barn there is a nice common area w fireplace chairs and a fridge. The room was bottom shelf. Old motel feel to it. Moldy carpet and 30 year old bathroom. Still it was fine and bed was OK.

Had dinner at the lakeside restaurant. Laughed w the waitress about the single scallop dish for $12 and the $40 lobster. We had very decent food and it was wine Wednesday $5 off all bottles so we had another NS wine (they are good!). Went to the pub next to our old barn room for a late beer to hear music. Once again disappointed to hear classic rock covers and not Celtic but oh well. The good local craft brews were about $9 in the pub but tasty

The property has some upside and a marina and some newer buildings that probably have nice rooms? But resort is misnomer. It's like 6 two story motels strung together on a cool lakefront.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mapman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you mapman2 for your comments and we appreciate you sharing the apsects of our resort you enjoyed and those that could have been better. I am sure you found some dishes on our menu in which you saw great value, and I am confident we have a room your you and yopur wife you would find more enjoyable.

Thank you again, and we loook forward to your next visit from Portland!

Matt
Inverary Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

We were prepared for it to be kind of shabby based on reviews, and were pleasantly surprised by our rooms which were fine. Grounds beautiful, and heavenly cocktails available overlooking the lake. Our stay included a weekend, when it got a lot noisier with weddings and reunions, but everything was kept quiet by about 11. Breakfast not included, and really not worth the price. Very good location, and restaurant good. There was an initially annoying screwup with our reservation, when they tried to put us in the sister property across the street, but the manager corrected the problem when we complained. Overall, I recommend this and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TobyNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you TodyMewYorkCirty for your review. We are glad you saw our property as it is... a gem! So glad we could fix your reservation and that you had a great time with us. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Matt
Inverary Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Beautiful resort, with everything we were looking for in a vacation. Place needs some upgrades, pool liner is old, some cosmetic fix up needed. Reminiscent of a resort in Ontario that we have visited. Restaurant was short staffed for the breakfast but the girls did a great job keeping everyone happy. Kids loved the swim, hot tub good, sauna needs improvement. Pub food good with night entertainment was nice, all in one, could stay on the property and get what we needed. stayed in the Glasgow House. Main lodge very beautiful old century home.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you Tracey W for your comments. We are very pleased you enjoyed our resort and love that you didn't even need to leave to make your visit to Baddeck memortable!
Thank you again and we look forward to your next trip East!

Matt
Inverary Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great spot for a get away! Had a 2 bedroom suite, and a lovely deck on either side to sit and view Brasdor lake. The lakeside restaurant was excellent, our waitress Katrina was super, she waited on us for dinner, then much to our delight was our waitress the next morning. Great room, friendly staff, good food. The village of Baddeck was also a pleasant surprise. Lots of fabulous shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you Marilyn S for your comments. Great to hear you had a wonderful time away with the girls! Sounds like you had a blast and it was our pleasure hosting you!

We look forward to your next visit!

Matt
Inverary Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Perfectly fine. Air conditioning did not work properly. A little dated property. Wanted a hotel as had booked B&B's later in the trip. Included a pedestrian breakfast and definitely more an old style hotel with old TV and minimal amenities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you Anthony327 for your review. We appreciate your comments and you will be happy to hear that we already have flat screen TVs in many of our rooms, and we have another 60 on order to complete our property! Also, I hope you had an opportunity to enjoy the many resort amenities our propety offers, including a recreation facility with water sports and lawn games, live local entertainment, or our nightly bonfire with delicie Scottish oatcake s'mores!

We look forward to seeing you again.

Matt
Inverary Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Lodging is good enough. Clean, but in need of some updating. Great staff. They have a pub & restaurant, but we didn't eat there. Short walk into Baddeck, a very tiny village, a few restaurants, local church hall where nightly celtic music is played ($10 cover) & the Alexander Graham Bell site. Very tiny town. Perfect location for starting or ending the Cabot Trail.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you Alison C for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed our quaint village and you will be happy to hear we have added new drapes to many of our rooms, new flat screen TVs are being installed and new flooring is being installed in many guest areas!

See you next time!

Matt
Inverary Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed here two nights on a tour of Cape Breton Island. The resort setting is on the lake and beautiful. The rooms are large, clean and quiet. The tour menu was somewhat limited but you can order off the main menu as an extra. All the food is very good. There is a nice pub with entertainment in the evening. All the staff are friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PanamaGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Manager at Inverary Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you PanamaGeorge for your review. Very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you enjoy another Maritime tour in the near future!

All the best,

Matt
Inverary Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
0.3 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
348 reviews
6.1 mi away
Trailsman Motel
Trailsman Motel
#6 of 7 in Baddeck
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.8 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
19.2 mi away
Fair Isle Motel
Fair Isle Motel
#1 of 2 in Whycocomagh
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverary Resort

Address: 368 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range: £90 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inverary Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverary Resort is a family owned and operated, full service property located on the shores of the beautiful Bras d'Or Lakes in Baddeck. With a variety of accommodation types, conference facilities and waterfront recreation center, Inverary is a picturesque getaway location for couples, families and groups. Centrally located, Baddeck is the perfect place to experience the finest attractions our world-famous Cape Breton Island has to offer. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inverary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverary Hotel Baddeck
Inverary Resort Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing