We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”
Review of Lynwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lynwood Inn
Ranked #9 of 17 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed here with our preschool daughter and found it to be a terrific place to stay. Our room had a balcony which provided a fine place to sit and have morning coffee or read night time stories. The bathroom was exceptionally clean as was the entire hotel room (for those of you who use the tub with kids). The beds were comfortable and there is plenty of room for moving around. The parking is right out front and very convenient for bringing in luggage, etc. We also ate dinner at the restaurant and found the food to be very good and the service extremely friendly and accommodating for our threesome. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Inn to anyone, it's one of the finest stays in Baddeck, I'm sure!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophieboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Open & wide terrace seating. Handicap accessible. Is vintage home That is warm and inviting.
A good variety of food choices. Excellent service and very good food. We loved the fiddle music in the background.
We would definitely return for another meal here. We looked at the interior and think this might be a fun place to spend a night or two.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty-cake27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We came to Baddeck because it is centrally located to visit the many places on Cape Breton Island (North East end of Nova Scotia). It is an excellent location to negotiate the picturesque Cabot Trail and has several advantages. It is the location of the Alexander Graham Bell museum. It is 10 minutes from the Gaelic College. It is a village that is quiet and has a beautiful harbor. Turns out that Alex Bell picked the location for his home away from Washington, DC so that gives you a clue about the environment. There is a great boardwalk for quiet walks at habor edge - Bell and his wife can be found hanging out there any day you would like to meet them.

We spent 3 days at this site and found the Inn probably the best choice in town and excellent value. It has a fine restaurant for all meals and specialize in lobster dinners. Food was as good as you will get and prices are reasonable - $21 for that lobster dinner. The room we had upstairs over the office and restaurant was spacious, period furniture, good bed and private bath, all spotless. Common area was nicely appointed but limited is size. This Inn was was an excellent value pick and we will use it again if we ever have another chance to visit the Canadian Maritimes.

If you want high-end accommodations for this area - the Keltic Lodge some 94 km up the trail will be happy for your credit card and can no doubt provide all the trimmings and breathtaking views.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the B and B over the restaurant that are very desirable - spacious and clean with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The setting is nice, the house is beautiful, but like others I found the service terrible and food is just ok!
We were going to spend the night but quickly changed our minds after our lunch and were so happy we did.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We didn't pre book this inn as the one we were booked into had some problems. We were told about this one from tourist information. It was a bit old fashioned but comfortable too many chairs in the room, we ended up putting them on the landing. We had a balcony which was nice to sit and watch the world go by.We didn't have breakfast there we dicided to have that in the town. Not a bad inn

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShirleyM71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We drove into Baddeck at night and were happy to find this Inn was open and advertising off season rates. Very helpful staff, large, clean and pleasant room and bathroom. The location is at the start of the Cabot trail and central Cape Breton Island, making it a great location. The view from the room was lovely. Since it was off season the Inn's restaurant was not open, but Staff told us several places we could walk to for breakfast and other meals. We could also walk to the Alexandar Graham Bell museum from this Inn. Cape Breton, including Baddeck, has very little to offer the tourist off-season, beyond the beautiful natural sights and hiking. If you want to shop in boutiques, artisans and speciality restaurants wait to visit in early June - September.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRTraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This was not a pre-booked visit. In fact my husband and I had booked to stay at another Hotel, but there were problems with that, so we travelled on and ended up at Lynwood Inn quite late in the evening. Luckily, as it was off-season, there were plenty of rooms. We were placed in the Annexe and the room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was nice, but unfortunately the beds were very hard and we didn't sleep well. The room had a good heater, but it was very noisy. The Restaurant was not open, so we couldn't review the food.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
0.5 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Bell View Luxury Suites
Bell View Luxury Suites
#10 of 17 in Baddeck
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
0.4 mi away
The Dunlop Inn
The Dunlop Inn
#4 of 17 in Baddeck
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynwood Inn

Address: 441 Shore Road | PO Box 585, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range: £86 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lynwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynwood Inn — in the heart of Baddeck. Walking distance to Bell Museum, Shops, Waterfront, nightly Ceilidh and more. Great choice for Cape Breton vacations—centrally located on the Island—“beginning & end” of Cabot Trail! Four Star accommodation features: 32 Suites & 2 Cottages * Queen Beds * En Suites with Whirlpool Tubs * A/C * Cable Television * WiFi* Laundry Facility * Bras d’Or Lakes View * Licensed Seasonal Restaurant (indoor & outdoor dining) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lynwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynwood Hotel Baddeck
Lynwood Inn Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing