We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lynwood Inn
Nearby Hotels
Telegraph House Hotel(Baddeck)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabot Trail Motel(Baddeck)(Great Value!)
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bell View Luxury Suites(Baddeck)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hunter's Mountain Chalets(Baddeck)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
49
84
38
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
84
38
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvenience store next doornova scotiacabot trailcape bretonwithin walking distanceeggs benedictscallopsnice bathroomturkey dinnera ground floor roombeds were comfortableoff seasondowntown baddeckthe main houseperfect locationlovely spotdining room
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Maybe some people would go for this but the room was really dated, to about the 1930s-1940s. I don't really watch TV but it was a bit disconcerting to see an old CRT in the bedroom. Remember those? Deeper than they are wide.

Overall it was quite clean but the bed covers and decorative pillows looked about 30 years old.

Pros:
Staff very friendly
Very conviently located in town
Restaurant was great and waitresses were really nice
Bathroom had been recently redone

Cons:
A bit dated - room just felt worn out
A bit expensive for what you got
I had a semi-submerged room with a single window about a foot and a half high, which made the place quite dark, and everyone walking past could look straight down and in unless I kept the curtains closed.

What's the deal with tipping for your room to be cleaned? When I went to pay they said they gave me the terminal and they said I had the options of paying service to the room maids. The options were something like $20, $30 or $40 for a two-day stay! What? I thought when you pay for a hotel it includes the room being clean? What next? Do I have to tip for a towel or for soap? Really confused by this as I've never seen it before and I travel quite a lot.

Room Tip: Don't get a sub-ground room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ReeceBot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed here with our preschool daughter and found it to be a terrific place to stay. Our room had a balcony which provided a fine place to sit and have morning coffee or read night time stories. The bathroom was exceptionally clean as was the entire hotel room (for those of you who use the tub with kids). The beds were comfortable and there is plenty of room for moving around. The parking is right out front and very convenient for bringing in luggage, etc. We also ate dinner at the restaurant and found the food to be very good and the service extremely friendly and accommodating for our threesome. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Inn to anyone, it's one of the finest stays in Baddeck, I'm sure!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophieboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Open & wide terrace seating. Handicap accessible. Is vintage home That is warm and inviting.
A good variety of food choices. Excellent service and very good food. We loved the fiddle music in the background.
We would definitely return for another meal here. We looked at the interior and think this might be a fun place to spend a night or two.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty-cake27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We came to Baddeck because it is centrally located to visit the many places on Cape Breton Island (North East end of Nova Scotia). It is an excellent location to negotiate the picturesque Cabot Trail and has several advantages. It is the location of the Alexander Graham Bell museum. It is 10 minutes from the Gaelic College. It is a village that is quiet and has a beautiful harbor. Turns out that Alex Bell picked the location for his home away from Washington, DC so that gives you a clue about the environment. There is a great boardwalk for quiet walks at habor edge - Bell and his wife can be found hanging out there any day you would like to meet them.

We spent 3 days at this site and found the Inn probably the best choice in town and excellent value. It has a fine restaurant for all meals and specialize in lobster dinners. Food was as good as you will get and prices are reasonable - $21 for that lobster dinner. The room we had upstairs over the office and restaurant was spacious, period furniture, good bed and private bath, all spotless. Common area was nicely appointed but limited is size. This Inn was was an excellent value pick and we will use it again if we ever have another chance to visit the Canadian Maritimes.

If you want high-end accommodations for this area - the Keltic Lodge some 94 km up the trail will be happy for your credit card and can no doubt provide all the trimmings and breathtaking views.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the B and B over the restaurant that are very desirable - spacious and clean with period furniture.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The setting is nice, the house is beautiful, but like others I found the service terrible and food is just ok!
We were going to spend the night but quickly changed our minds after our lunch and were so happy we did.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews