We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby”
Review of Lynwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lynwood Inn
Ranked #9 of 17 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shabby”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Overpriced for value. Food ingredients, towels, bedding all seem to have been bought from the lowest bidder. Would not take tea (hot water and a tea bag back when we decided we didn't want it at breakfast. No decisions are made without the owners consent. His concern for making money over customer comfort was apparent. Room was across from laundry room which is used by guests even when not supposed to.

Room Tip: Rooms near laundry room are noisy all night long. Walls are thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    74
    35
    20
    10
See reviews for
35
94
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Katrina at the front desk was amazing and was so helpful for us on our honeymoon. She gave us some great information to enjoy our stay in Baddeck. As honeymooners we absolutely loved this place and we would recommend it any day!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank honeymooners1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The main house had some charming Victorian aspects. The upstairs suite we stayed in was quite nice if you didn't mind going through the storage areas to get to it. Kind of felt like staying in Grandma's attic. The desk staff was indifferent and not very helpful. Dinner in the Inn was fair. Our waiter was maybe 16 and just learning - very nice young man although he didn't have the experience one might expect in that sort of dining room. Overall, we didn't think the accommodations were worth the money. Most disappointing stay on our trip in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdlerKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here during the March snowmobile Ride for Dads, so this was definitely the off season, but the accommodation was very nice, clean and comfortable.
The gentleman who checked us in was very patient and helpful, notwithstanding our wish to change a reservation that had been made through a third party online site.

No fridge in room but the wifi worked well.
The diner across the road closed at 7:00pm and didn't reopen until 11:00am so food was tricky (pizza for supper and gas station food for breakfast).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larbert
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Unhelpful reception and very old and dusty decor in dining rooms made this the least appreciated stay on our visit to the Canadian Maritimes. The village is an interesting place and the trip on the sailboat made up for the disappointment in the accommodation.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gorfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Corner, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

It was a nice room. The bed was comfortable and the staff were very nice. Nice modern, large, bright bathroom and a small balcony. There was a Coffee pot too. It was a reasonable price for the room. The only thing that would have been better, would have been nice to have a larger television as my husband and I are old and blind, lol.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in had access directly to the outside which was great for taking the little dog o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faustina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Lynwood Inn for 2 nights during Celtic Colours. The owner of this property should be aware that the lady on the day shift who greets and checks people in, should not be doing this job. She was unfriendly, snippy, uninterested, with very little personality. There wasn't one smile during the interaction we had with her. We had an issue with the room we had been assigned, which she couldn't have cared less about. Luckily, the lady on the afternoon/evening shift came in and was very helpful. It was the same attitude when we checked out. The Lynwood has lots to offer, however, this lady should be doing some other kind of work where she is not greeting guests. We stayed at 3 other properties while attending Celtic Colours, and were warmly greeted each time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
0.5 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#2 of 17 in Baddeck
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#8 of 17 in Baddeck
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynwood Inn

Property: Lynwood Inn
Address: 441 Shore Road | PO Box 585, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lynwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynwood Inn — in the heart of Baddeck. Walking distance to Bell Museum, Shops, Waterfront, nightly Ceilidh and more. Great choice for Cape Breton vacations—centrally located on the Island—“beginning & end” of Cabot Trail! Four Star accommodation features: 32 Suites & 2 Cottages * Queen Beds * En Suites with Whirlpool Tubs * A/C * Cable Television * WiFi* Laundry Facility * Bras d’Or Lakes View * Licensed Seasonal Restaurant (indoor & outdoor dining) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Lynwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynwood Hotel Baddeck
Lynwood Inn Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing