We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed accommodations Lynwood Inn Baddeck NS”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Lynwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lynwood Inn
Ranked #9 of 17 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointed accommodations Lynwood Inn Baddeck NS”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I booked the Lynwood Inn based on price and reviews. The room was in the main building with the restaurant. Our room was at the back on the second floor. The room was lovely and so was the bathroom. But the bed was terrible. The mattress made a loud noise every time my husband moved. Also the room air conditioner was very noisy and a fan on roof outside the window ran constantly and noisily until 3 am. So our sleep was poor.
Perhaps a room in the other building would have been better.

Room Tip: Get a room in the building beside the building where you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cacruiser_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    72
    34
    20
    10
See reviews for
34
92
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

great baddeck b and b. victorian style main house, suite #3 is perfect, it's private, toward the back of the house, quaint victorian room embellishments. delicious breakfast at the restaurant downstairs, don't skip the eggs benedict.....yummmm....
conveniently located walking distance to baddeck lobster suppers. delicious whole lobster or steak...endless soup, salads, mussels...great casual seafood dinner.
also the inn is located next to a convenience store for last minute items or snacks
easy location to access the cabot trail whether you are starting or ending your trip!
didn't get a chance to swim in the bras d'or lake but admired it from the scenic drive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihearttheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Lovely room in the old house, extremely comfortable, but very disappointed with breakfast. No lighter options, all fried and stodgy. We had paid for bed and breakfast and were given a voucher with 3 choices, porridge or bacon and eggs with toast and preserves or pancakes with maple syrup. Fruit juice was extra, although because we opted for toast only they, graciously, didn't charge us. Disappointing compared with the other Inns/B&Bs that we had stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudithH511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is a lovely property, rooms are nice bathrooms are quite small. The staff had no interest in having visitors or not, never told us if and when breakfast would be served, when we did go into the restaurant for breakfast made to feel like we were an inconvenience same the restaurant did open till June 27th, now I understand how short a tourist season is, but if your premises is opened people will come especially in late June. Must say staff let this place down could be a rather nice place to visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank patsyferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Overpriced for value. Food ingredients, towels, bedding all seem to have been bought from the lowest bidder. Would not take tea (hot water and a tea bag back when we decided we didn't want it at breakfast. No decisions are made without the owners consent. His concern for making money over customer comfort was apparent. Room was across from laundry room which is used by guests even when not supposed to.

Room Tip: Rooms near laundry room are noisy all night long. Walls are thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Baddeck hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Katrina at the front desk was amazing and was so helpful for us on our honeymoon. She gave us some great information to enjoy our stay in Baddeck. As honeymooners we absolutely loved this place and we would recommend it any day!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank honeymooners1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The main house had some charming Victorian aspects. The upstairs suite we stayed in was quite nice if you didn't mind going through the storage areas to get to it. Kind of felt like staying in Grandma's attic. The desk staff was indifferent and not very helpful. Dinner in the Inn was fair. Our waiter was maybe 16 and just learning - very nice young man although he didn't have the experience one might expect in that sort of dining room. Overall, we didn't think the accommodations were worth the money. Most disappointing stay on our trip in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdlerKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
0.5 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dunlop Inn
The Dunlop Inn
#4 of 17 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#8 of 17 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.6 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynwood Inn

Property: Lynwood Inn
Address: 441 Shore Road | PO Box 585, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lynwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynwood Inn — in the heart of Baddeck. Walking distance to Bell Museum, Shops, Waterfront, nightly Ceilidh and more. Great choice for Cape Breton vacations—centrally located on the Island—“beginning & end” of Cabot Trail! Four Star accommodation features: 32 Suites & 2 Cottages * Queen Beds * En Suites with Whirlpool Tubs * A/C * Cable Television * WiFi* Laundry Facility * Bras d’Or Lakes View * Licensed Seasonal Restaurant (indoor & outdoor dining) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Lynwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynwood Hotel Baddeck
Lynwood Inn Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing