We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible customer service, after we left a bag behind”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lynwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lynwood Inn
Ranked #9 of 17 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Incredible customer service, after we left a bag behind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

First, let me say the room was quiet and comfortable and clean, and had an awesome view of the fall foliage and lake. But that's not why I'm bothering to write. My husband left a bag behind, a large thermal bag, with several spoiled-food-containing rubbermaid containers in it. They called us at home even before we knew we were missing it, and amazingly, had their housekeeping clean out the by-then really disgusting containers and with our approval, arranged to ship all of it to our home, charging the shipping cost and the most tiny token of a handling "fee" to our room credit card. I just can't believe they went to so much trouble for us! I've had other good experiences with friendly Nova Scotian hotel-related staff, but the Lynwood Inn folks really went way beyond what was reasonable to ask. I hope to visit Cape Breton many more times, and Lynwood Inn is now top of my list for places to stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbelvadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    72
    34
    20
    10
See reviews for
34
92
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

We booked Suite 3 in the main building as it was the only thing they had left. The "suite" is basically 1/3 of the upstairs of a 1 1/2 storey building...not very big! It was furnished in old antique furniture with nick naks everywhere. It was so cluttered it was unreal. The bathroom was nicely renovated but the light on the ceiling had the cover of it missing and only contained one lightbulb with the second socket left with nothing. The television is very old and small and doesn't receive very good cable reception ( very snowy). The wireless internet doesn't work in the room nor in the sitting area upstairs that I was assured it would. It may pick up a signal for 30 seconds but after that your disconnected every time. The staff doesn't appear to have anything in the way of proper customer service skills. They have one person at the desk (actually I lie, sometimes they have no one at the counter and you have to wait for someone to appear). They have this one person at the counter not only booking people into both buildings of their inn, but taking all phone calls as well as take payments from customers from the restuarant. Needless to say this means lots of waiting for everyone. One time I was speaking to the lady at the desk telling her about problems with the room and the restaurant server came in and totally interrupted me mid sentence to tell the girl not to sit anyone else because they wanted the kitchen closed by 8....guess they must have plans.
The air conditioner in our room was broken, the radiator in the room would not turn off and had alot of heat coming off it. You couldn't open the window as all the smoke/fumes from the kitchen of the restaurant below would blow in the room. When we booked the inn we did not realize there was such a busy restaurant located downstairs from our room...or that we would actually have to walk in thru the main entrance of this restaurant to walk upstairs to our room. There was also a performer at the restaurant playing music with a mic. Thats all great but not when you've rented a room for the night above it. When I told the lady at the desk all the complaints her response was..."oh it will be quiet in like an hour". This is ridiculous...we payed $100 for a night in this place we shouldn't neet to put up with that if we weren't made aware! We ended up leaving and driving to Antigonish and finding an awesome place ...called Evergreen Inn.....it was less $ than what we were paying at Lynwood, it had a full kitchen with oven, microwave and dishes. It was very clean, spacious and well worth the money. As far as Lynwood Inn...don't waste your money! Not only do the accomodations not add up...but their lack of customer service leaves a bad taste in my mouth. They really give the impression that they don't care whether you stay or go!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolCanuckChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Baddeck hotels

New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

People wrote many things about the Lynwood Inn and I was hesitant but did not want to spend the money on the Inverary Resort. I actually thought the Inn was very nice. The room we had next to the main building was clean, nicely decorated and very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and modern with a great jacuzzi tub. I got a room with a balcony but don't spend the extra money. Most of the balconies face the parking lot. We did not eat at the Inn because so many people said it was terrible but there are few good choices. We were actually at the end of our trip and were very disappointed in the food throughout the trip so we decided to get pizza right across the way. (Tom's) OK we're from the NY area and so I wasn't expecting great pizza but nothing could have prepared us for just how bad pizza can be this far away from NY. They spread the dough out with their hands (no tossing for this crew). Then the cheese is rubbery and the pepperoni was just strange. They put it on before the cheese and then the cheese on top which causes the whole thing to slide off when you pick up the slice! Unless you've never had pizza before, don't go there. Just don't go there. There is a place everyone raves about called the Highwheeler Cafe for lunch or breakfast. It was pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crackerjack1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

The old inn at the Lynwood is very quaint, and filled with antiques. We enjoyed drinks on the patio with live music.

Our room in the new hotel was quaint, but well-appointed. Two comfortable, queen sized beds, and still lots of room for two armchairs and a side table. The bathroom was big, clean and modern with a jacuzzi tub.

My only tip is to be sure to follow the instructions to unlock the door before going out on the balcony...that lock can be tricky, but the staff was pretty helpful in letting us back into our room when we locked ourselves out ;)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoKimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

The Lynwood is first class all the way.The rooms are superb, and the staff is incredible.The location is great, close to everything. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Baddeck...it's that good !

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SORDALE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
297 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

Lovely historic inn in the center of downtown Baddeck (which is not very big!). I stayed in one of the three rooms in the main building, built in 1868. There is also a newer wing with luxury suites. Room was comfortable and cute, although it lacked horizontal surfaces to put stuff on; the few it had were covered with little froufrou doilies etc. Bathroom was modern with a big skylight which may not have been historically accurate, but was really nice and let in lots of light. I stayed there before the season really started on chilly Cape Breton Island, so their restaurant wasn't open yet and the front desk wasn't always staffed. When it was staffed, they were very nice and friendly.

Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieOnAHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floyd, VA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2009

My husband and I stayed at Lynwood and we both really enjoyed it. It is a great location and you can walk to shops and restaurants. It is well priced and clean and attractive. We did not eat at the restaurant while there because it was real small and very crowded and overpriced. I would and probably will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasha480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
0.5 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dunlop Inn
The Dunlop Inn
#4 of 17 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#8 of 17 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.6 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynwood Inn

Property: Lynwood Inn
Address: 441 Shore Road | PO Box 585, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lynwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynwood Inn — in the heart of Baddeck. Walking distance to Bell Museum, Shops, Waterfront, nightly Ceilidh and more. Great choice for Cape Breton vacations—centrally located on the Island—“beginning & end” of Cabot Trail! Four Star accommodation features: 32 Suites & 2 Cottages * Queen Beds * En Suites with Whirlpool Tubs * A/C * Cable Television * WiFi* Laundry Facility * Bras d’Or Lakes View * Licensed Seasonal Restaurant (indoor & outdoor dining) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Lynwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynwood Hotel Baddeck
Lynwood Inn Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing