We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green Highlander - A Flyfishing Fantasy”

Green Highlander Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Green Highlander Lodge
Reviewed 27 September 2007

During a trip through Cape Breton that included 1 night in Baddeck, we stayed at the Green Highlander, having booked it through the Visitor Center up the street; it is a small 3-room B&B that sits above the Yellow Cello Cafe, which is also owned by the same people who run the B&B. In addition, each room is named after a type of fly (fishing) and offers its own individual balcony. (Mine was Tawny Rose and overlooked the Public Dock.) Breakfast can be had at no extra cost downstairs at the aforementioned cafe, where you will need to pick-up/drop-off your keys. Very convenient to everything, but then, Baddeck is not a large village.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank NeedPivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2007

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. The room was tastefully decorated and clean. Each of the three rooms has a private patio overlooking the main street. During our stay, there was live entertainment at the restaurant downstairs every night, which we could enjoy from our patio. The owners were friendly; we chatted over our breakfast each morning. They were eager to give us advice on things to see on the island. The breakfast was substantial, with fantastic freshly baked bread. For lunch and dinner, the Yellow Cello restaurant made a great casual choice. The next time we visit Cape Breton Island, we'll be sure to stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2006

The Green Highlander Lodge is a small (3-room) inn over a restaurant and across the street from the ferry dock. Our room (the Lady Amherst, named for a fishing fly) had a king bed, a large clean bathroom, and best of all, a deck overlooking the main street where we spent a couple of pleasant evenings people-watching. Breakfast at the restaurant downstairs is included. All in all, a very pleasant place to stay and centrally located for many Cape Breton activities.

Thank arbeedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, IL
227
Reviewed 15 September 2004

This was the worst B&B experience I've ever had. We were forced to wait 90 minutes for our key and endured terribly rude treatment from the manager before we finally gave up and left. Try the Lynwood Inn in Baddeck, where we stayed instead. It's not a B&B, but it's attractive, comfortable, friendly, and moderately priced. And it seemed like heaven to us after the awful experience we had at the Green Highlander Lodge.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Whitby, Ontario
12
Reviewed 3 August 2004

Stayed in the 'Blue Charm' on July 26, 2004. It was nice to have a separate room from the Kids. The room had everything you needed and it was very nicely decorated. There was a private viewing deck just above the roof of the 'Yellow Cello' restaurant just below. From the deck you could sit back and watch the tourists flock by. The 'Breakfast' part of the B&B was the Yellow Cello restaurant. The food was execellent and the staff was exetremely friendly.

Cons (although quite minor): 1. A bit pricey. It was $160 CAN before we got out the door for one night.

2. The kids went to bed early (9 pm), but the restaurant below was quite loud during their operating hours. It did quiet down by 11 however.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le petit déjeuner gratuit est des plus généreux quant aux choix proposés.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rosalilouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
0.8 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#8 of 17 in Baddeck
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
0.5 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auld Farm Inn B & B
Auld Farm Inn B & B
#2 of 17 in Baddeck
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Highlander Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Highlander Lodge

Address: 525 Chebucto St., Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Baddeck
Price Range: £86 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Highlander Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Green Highlander Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Highlander Lodge Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing