We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rustic clean room but...”

Green Highlander Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Green Highlander Lodge
Halifax
Level 6 Contributor
931 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Nice rustic clean room but...”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed two nights with our two , three year old children in the room with two bedrooms. Booked through Booking.com . Strange uninviting check-in ...almost like they were surprised we arrived , even though they had our confirmation ..right there,plus I called ahead to make sure there were too twin beds for the children. Anyway we liked it OK and the breakfast was really good.... all was well until checkout. Then the owner or whoever...,same guy that checked us in wanted an exra $40.00 per night fopr the two kids. I showed him our booking confirmation and quoted rate ( good thing I had it) and I reminded him I called ahead ...so he finally agreed to hold at the quoted rate....not a nice ending.....won't stay again , there are lots of other places in the area!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank easterntreker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Tho' comfortable enough and quite spacious, the value in staying here is having a large private deck that allowed us to keep the door open for good natural A/C, have great views of the lake and wharf for ogling the gorgeous yachts that come and go, and have somewhere to dry out our bathing suits and towels. Pam, who attended our room, was helpful and eager to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We thought the breakfast that was provided at the Yellow Cello down below was very good as it was possible, if you asked, to make substitutions, get orange juice and cappuccinos. We agree with the previous reviewer that we were never sure who the owners were or who was looking after the place. But otherwise, we had a very comfortable stay in hot, humid weather right in the middle of Baddeck.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a side deck--the Rose Dawn has one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 154943Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This is a good choice for Baddeck. We had the queen and the twin room (blue charm room) on the main floor. The private deck with the door off of the queen was very nice. The deck is a great place to sit and look at the lake (though a bit of a peek a boo view) and watch life on the main street. The beds were comfortable and the decor was rustic and pretty. There is a very inviting lounge area also on the main floor with games, books etc. Our only complaint is that the plumbing and the bathroom was a bit iffy. The toilet didn't flush very well and I had to use the plunger a couple of times. The shower stall is small and if someone else in the building is taking a shower, the water temperature is affected. Also, the bathroom fan was so loud that I showered in the dark rather than have to listen to it. The included breakfast at the Yellow Cello was good though it doesn't open until 8. There is a good coffee place just down the road that opens at 6:30 for early risers. We liked it here and would go back

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salmonpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothesay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Stayed for one night with family of four. Short walk to the ferry took us to Kidstone beach for an afternoon swim. Warm day meant for a warm sleep since there was no A/C. Thankfully, it cooled off later.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funseeker1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

This place could be so much better if the people who run the place were a little bit friendly,we have no idea if we met the owners or not ,no one took the time to bother to introduce themselves, we were there for 5 days!! The location is great with the view of the harbour, just not the Cape Bretton hospitality , also the food was just not very good, breakfast came with the room, only limited choices, went elsewhere , next time I will find a new place to stay in Baddeck.The last morning we were there to check out ,someone that was working in the kitchen followed us out the door and went in the back door , it was as if he was running to check the room to see if we did something ?? stole something??Don't know ?? just seemed weird, like he was angry ?? There was something weird about the staff , made me uncomfortable, to bad ,great view ,all in all not a good place to stay find some other place to stay.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank labdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Baddeck hotels

Brisbane Region, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Great location -close to everything. Stayed in Rosy Dawn room- large and airy - with own deck looking over harbour. Very clean, large shared area downstairs. Laundry facilities. Breakfast in Yellow Cello cafe under B&B - various mights they have musicians in and you can listen to them play. Pick up key from Cafe , staff very freindly and owner was great - she made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We stayed at Green Highlander - Rosy Dawn room - on August 4 2009, our second night on Cape Breton Island.
The room is standard but not spectacular. However, the balcony overlooking the street and harbour is very nice.
The night we stayed they were having fireworks and they were great. The balcony was the perfect place to view them in comfort.
Breakfast the next morning at Yellow Cello was your standard restaurant breakfast fare. This Lodge is not the typical B&B experience but was certainly ok.
We had supper at the Baddeck Lobster Supper and the food was really good. The wait to get in was a bit long and hot. We thought they might have a take a number, we'll call you system which could work better so that a person could wait outside instead of a narrow hallway that services both the in and out traffic!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gimmeabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
0.7 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#8 of 17 in Baddeck
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lynwood Inn
Lynwood Inn
#9 of 17 in Baddeck
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dunlop Inn
The Dunlop Inn
#4 of 17 in Baddeck
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Highlander Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Highlander Lodge

Property: Green Highlander Lodge
Address: 525 Chebucto St., Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Highlander Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Green Highlander Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Highlander Lodge Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing