We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our Cape Breton Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Telegraph House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Telegraph House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Camrose, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Cape Breton Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

My wife and I loved Cape Breton and especially the Telegraph House. The main house is classy and historic, the cabins clean, cute and reasonably priced. We stayed at the House for the Lobster and Mussel Supper which was AMAZING!!!!(and only $20 bucks). But most important to us was the genuine warmth and hospitality of the staff. If we ever get the opportunity to return to Cape Breton we will definately be spending some time at the Telegraph House.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    91
    58
    26
    10
See reviews for
52
143
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Whilst the accommodation itself was reasonably good I was bitterly disappointed by the cost. We had researched the information before our holiday and had used the recommended and supposedly most popular guide - Doers and Dreamers - that is provided by the tourist board. In this the prices shown were $75 - 120 and yet when we enquired (mid September) we were told that prices actually started from $120.00 and we ended up paying $130.00 for our accommodation. No explanation was given for the difference shown in the Doers and Dreamers and so we can only assume that the owners are quite happy to mislead visitors to get them "in the door".
We had been on the road for 5 hours before getting to Baddeck which is why we decided to stay , had the situation been different we would looked for alternative accommodation.
This was the only instance of this practice that we found in the fortnight that we were in Nova Scotia and would recommend the Doers and Dreamers guide to any prospective visitors but also wanted to alert them to the "sharp practice" of this particular hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Becky160851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

I recently spent 4 days in the historic little town of Baddeck and stayed at the Telegraph Inn. the staff were incredibly nice, accomodating and I got the sense they wanted to do what they could to ensure the stay was a pleasant one. i stayed in a cabin out back which was small but very nice. The town is historic and represents a very important point in history, ie. Alexander Graham Bell and all his important work that helped the world! Given that, the last thing i would want to do in a town like that, is stay at a modern franchise-like hotel with no feel to it at all. I love the fact when you walk into the Inn, it feels and looks like a well put together museum. The place is clean, ideal spot central to everything in the town and very historic. It absolutely represents what the town of Baddeck represents as a whole, significant history with a warm, friendly personna. Do not change a thing in the rooms.
My only regret is that I didn't figure out til the third day of my stay to eat at the Telegraph Inn as well. The food was unbelievable and reasonably priced as well! Don't waste your time going any where else in the town to eat, it's not worth it. I look forward to staying there again if I am ever in Baddeck. Good job!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Indiana
Level Contributor
524 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

This is an interesting old hotel with lots of history. The prices are reasonable and their is a restaurant attached. We have stayed at better hotels but the people working there were nice and would help you in any way they could. If you stay here be sure to walk one block and watch the almost nightly Ceilidh music show. This is the music they love on Cape Breton and it's interesting and very entertaining. Also while in Baddeck you could rent a kayak, go to the Alexander Graham Bell museum, take a schooner ride on beautiful Bras d'Or lake, or just walk around this quaint little town. From Baddeck your not far from a whale sightseeing tour. a sea bird excursion, the beautiful Cabot trail or Fortress Louisbourg. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed at this charming hotel for only one night, after driving the Cabot Trail and hiking the Skyline Trail, both of which I highly recommend. I also recommend the hotel. Our room was charming and quite comfortable. There was a nice sitting room on the ground floor with televisions and books to read. Our room also had a television and private bath. Alexander Graham Bell had stayed in the hotel when he lived in Nova Scotia; it has history. It also has a lovely, relaxing dining room with great food. I enjoyed the fish cakes, a new taste for me. The wait staff was very accommodating; the music was quiet and peaceful. It's an old hotel reminiscent of a bed and breakfast in its decor - not luxurious, but clean, comfortable, and relaxing. There is a computer in the office for guest use.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterville, Maine
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We arrived to a warm welcome, allowed to check in early. Our room in the main building was very small and very clean, with an outdated bathroom. For $80/night, it was a good value. Beds were comfortable, though the pillows were thin and lumpy. The two front rooms on the second floor are larger and quite nice, with a comfy chair.. The old place could use some extensive freshening up and modernization. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but it was wuite busy in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenSH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed here before starting the Cabot Trail, and came back a few days later on our way back through Baddeck. We stayed in the same room in the main house both times. The house itself is beautiful and nicely decorated. The room we stayed in was small but very comfortable. Everyone at the inn was very nice and helpful. We also had breakfast in the dining room both mornings and loved it. We will definitely be back if we are ever in Baddeck again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ms174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
0.6 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
44.7 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.3 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 18 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dunlop Inn
The Dunlop Inn
#4 of 18 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telegraph House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telegraph House Hotel

Property: Telegraph House Hotel
Address: 479 Chebucto Street, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Telegraph House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Telegraph House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraph House Hotel Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing