We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Telegraph House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hosts go out of their way to ensure your stay has everything you need. I've stayed there three times, and have never been disappointed. A nice variety of clean rooms, in the middle of Baddeck. I had to change my reservation a couple of times, and it was no trouble at all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
There are newer reviews for Telegraph House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were a party of 7. We slept 2 persons/room. I traveled all over the world a few times and from registering to check out I have never experienced such friendliness in my hotel accomadations. The owner and staff just couldn't do enough for us. We felt like family! Our every need was expidisously executed with such natural grace! It was amazing.
The rooms were very comfortable, immaculately clean, spacious and bright. We wanted for nothing. Our stay lasted for way too short a time.
When we were leaving and after we checked out we came back and asked the owner if we could wait for a while in the parlor so we could get out of the cold wind and he not only pleasantly said yes, he actually went to the kitchen hustled up a brunch/snack and served it to us himself with hot coffee. Wow! Did that warm us up! In addition to this he took several pictures of us and the race finishers and I received them this morning in my e-mail. Now how could you possibly get better true hospitality than that???
Thanks again Mr. Dunlop for your genuine caring of perfect strangers. Although we don't feel that way anymore. We left feeling like family!!!

Room Tip: Very quiet @ rear away from street noises. However, the rooms in the front have the warm sun shining...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

What a great place to stay. Really welcoming; the staff were very busy but couldn't have more friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well serviced. I didn't eat there but the menu looked very appealing. Highly recommended for anyone wanting a base to explore the Cabot Trail or Bras d'Or Lakes areas

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Shawn and his staff provide amazing hospitality which really make you want to return! Check in is quick and professional and staff are helpful in answering any and all questions. Shawn allowed some of my team members and I to use the living room to stay warm in before heading outside to watch the finish of Cabot Trail Relay from the view of the beautiful front veranda. Shawn brought us coffe and a few treats prepared by his amazing Chef (entire menu is gluten free - they even make their own pasta)

The Telegraph House is the preferred home base of the Fredericton TrailMasters!

Room Tip: We had room #35, which is accessed from the large, front veranda. I thought it might be noisy given...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Our 2 nights at Telegraph House worked out extremely well for touring Cabot Trail. Slept well in the Alexander Graham Bell room and started out by 10 on the drive. As Shawn predicted we returned 9 hours later after beautiful sights and filled-up on fresh crab along the way. Lovely to have our room waiting for us after a rewarding day! And tea by the fireplace prepared by Shawn finished our day of discovery! Thanks to the history of Telegraph House we felt like we had The Real Cape Breton experience!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rev-Jeff-of-Gorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Facilities were most enjoyable. Host was friendly, accommodating and made a great cup of tea. Even though the restaurant hadn't yet opened for the season I had eaten there several times over the past number of years it and found it great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed for two nights in the Alexander Graham Bell room in the gorgeous main house of the Telegraph Inn. The room was spotless, charming and very comfortable. Our host Shawn Dunlop was extremely accommodating - from setting a wood fire in the living room to tracing down a lost scarf on the other side of the island! We enjoyed two delicious meals in the dining room. Most of the food is sourced locally and is creatively prepared. Would recommend this Inn to anyone who appreciates old world charm and hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
0.6 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
655 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
669 reviews
6.2 mi away
Trailsman Motel
Trailsman Motel
#6 of 7 in Baddeck
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
2.1 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#8 of 17 in Baddeck
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telegraph House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telegraph House Hotel

Address: 479 Chebucto Street, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range: £68 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Telegraph House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Telegraph House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraph House Hotel Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing