We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Accomodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Silver Dart Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Dart Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Certificate of Excellence
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Accomodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

The rooms, views, grounds, restaurant and staff are the best. We traveled with another couple, and we all loved the place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madrussian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    256
    85
    26
    6
See reviews for
143
320
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Highlights:1. The hotel owns the beach across the road where there's a gazebo and swimming area. Nobody else was there except us, we really enjoyed visiting the ocean.
2. The hotel has a restaurant with an excellent buffet choice and there was entertainment when we were there.

Room Tip: Expedia gave us the best $ deal, but no view. Ask if you want to face ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

My family and I stayed 2 nights here. We were in the West wing, which on the website claims to have been renovated. A better term would be "partially renovated". The carpet and bedspreads looked new, but the bathroom still looked like something from the 70s, aside from the fresh caulking on the tub. That said, it was still very clean. Our room had a sofa bed, but to be honest it really stank so no one slept in it. The queen beds were comfortable. TV reception was horrible. Wi-fi was off and on, but that's to be expected in a place like Baddeck. The walls seemed thin because we could hear the person next door snoring at night.

The view from our room was amazing. I loved waking up to that. We did not use the restaurant (we went to a near by Tim Horton's instead...cheaper). Our kids liked the playground and the pool looked nice but the weather was too crappy to use it. The little nature walks were a bonus. Nice property.

All in all, a good place to stay in Baddeck. Room are big and clean. Great views, nice staff. With a good updating/upgrading/renovation, this place would be perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SillyMom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverDartLodgeWes, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Thank you for your feedback.
We have done a lot of work to our West Lodge over the last year including carpets, beds, and furnishings. We do have plans to update the bathrooms as well this fall as you have recommended. Not sure why the sofa bed was smelly. We will put our smellers to the test and correct this issue right away.
Thanks again for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubley, Ns
Level Contributor
232 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights in one of the chalets. The staff was incredibly friendly and knowledgable and there were lots of amenities. The property in general was a little dated and perhaps a little run down, but it did not detract from the experience. Chalet had a kitchenette with a fridge, sink, microwave and dishes. Very handy. The only downside of the chalet is that the walls were paper thin, and we could easily hear our neighbours.

The restaurant on site (McCurdys) was OK. A little on the pricey side perhaps for the quality of food. There are lots of other food options in the area (only a 1 minute drive to downtown Baddeck). All in all a good stay and we would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotiajim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed there 2 nights in the Lake view East wing. The view of the lake is gorgeous and the room clean(they say renovated but I would say renewed). We were 2 couples with young children and We found the patio door great as we could sit outside and hang out while the kids were sleeping in the room at night. For breakfast, I would recommend the French Toasts à la carte, Mmmm Another reviewer was right, the wifi tends to drop often at the East Wing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terryyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

This is an old time motel, perfectly maintained, with generous-sized rooms, quality furnishings and, in the case of our room, a patio overlooking the lake. Recommend staying in the main lodge for the best views. There is a large playground and pool, so this is a great place for children. You can hear plumbing noise from adjacent rooms and footsteps from above.

Short drive (could even walk) into Baddeck, a charming lakefront village perfectly located for a day's drive around the Cabot Trail. Hotel has a good restaurant (but Bell Buoy in Baddeck is better). Service at the Silver Dart Restaurant is excellent and Keltic ballads added to the dinner experience. Need to make dinner reservations as dining room fills up quickly. WiFi works best in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandLinda042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Friends and I took advantage of a well-timed Groupon deal for this lodge-and-cottages resort. The lodge enjoys scenic views of Bras d'Or Lake, which is actually a salt water lake. Silver Dart has created a convenient beach access on the water side of the highway, complete with a sitting gazebo and picture-perfect path for its guests.

Our deal included a buffet breakfast, which, unfortunately, was a victim of its own success. We managed to scavenge for less popular items, and were a tad disappointed that most of the hot items were not available during the hour we chose to eat. On the up side, one cannot help but enjoy the sweeping views and golden sunlight streaming into the airy dining room!

The lodge boasted a medium-sized pool with plenty of chairs and chaise lounges. Our group was impressed by the cleanliness of the pool and surrounding area. It was perfectly heated for Baddeck's climate. We also had the option to borrow bicycles and helmets during our stay...on the house!

Further, I was struck by the comfort level of the beds at this 3.5 star hotel. Personally, I would have rated the hotel at 3 stars due to the age of the East Wing building where we stayed, coupled with an absence of upgrades to furniture, towels, plumbing, etc, but I was able to sleep just fine due to the comfortable beds (from the bowling ball advertisement, I believe....), and air conditioning. The bath drain was backed up and not draining properly, but this was the only major 'issue' during our two-night stay.

If you are considering driving the Cabot Trail (along which Baddeck is situated), I may recommend this spot as your base; however, I would also caution you to consider a second night in a location toward the north side of the trail. We would have liked more time to hike and take in the views, without worrying about driving all the way back to Baddeck by night time. In hindsight, this would have been preferable.

All in all, a basic, clean and comfortable country lodge-type experience!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the side facing Bras d'Or Lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discerningdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
45.2 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
39.6 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
0.5 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.1 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Dart Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Dart Lodge

Property: Silver Dart Lodge
Address: 257 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Dart Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MacNeil House is located in beautiful Baddeck on Cape Breton Island, sharing a 90-acre property with the Silver Dart Lodge. Whether you want to sit and relax on our observation deck while taking in the beautiful scenery and gorgeous view of the Bras d'Or Lakes or get active and take a hike on the walking trails, kayak on the lakes, or take part in our Cabot Trail Treasure Hunt, our goal is to help you build a better Cape Breton vacation. Relax, unwind and let our knowledgeable staff guide your Cape Breton adventure, the perfect starting point for your Cabot Trail experience. Our Taste of Nova Scotia approved restaurant, McCurdy's Dining Room includes a lounge area and patio. Enjoy your afternoons and evenings with our heated swimming pool, private waterfront, and forested nature trails. Variety of hotel rooms and chalets, open mid-May to mid-October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Dart Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Dart Hotel Baddeck
Silver Dart Baddeck
Silver Dart Lodge Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing