We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”
Review of Silver Dart Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Dart Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We selected this hotel after reading the comments on Trip Advisor. We requested a room in the Main Lodge, top floor(quieter - no noise from people walking above) and our room had a great view of the water. The room was large, clean and had a fridge and the all important Wi-Fi worked well. We asked for the Touring Package which included 2 dinners and 2 breakfasts at McCurdy's restaurant which is attached to the Main Lodge. For dinner, it was order anything off the menu and we chose the buffet for breakfast.

Room Tip: Always request the top floor at the end of the hallway. These rooms tend to be quieter - no noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2travellers336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Hello and thank you for writing on Tripadvisor about your stay with us. It was nice to see how much you enjoyed our property and McCurdy's Dining Room. Please contact us if you will ever be in the Baddeck area in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    256
    85
    26
    6
See reviews for
143
320
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Although the outside of the Main Lodge is a bit dated, our room was very comfortable. We had one dinner at McCurdy's and two breakfasts - good food and good service. The Lodge is well located, easy to find, and staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: We had a room in the Main Lodge with a view of Bras d'Or Lake. The room was spacious with funct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noname39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for writing about your visit with us. I was pleased you enjoyed your room and I appreciated your comments about our property. Enjoy your winter and we hope to see you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Traveling over the Labour Day weekend without reservations, arrived early evening at the Silver Dart. We have stayed here a few times before and have not been disappointed. The rooms are a bit dated, but clean and comfortable. The weather was awful so we decided to not venture very far and have dinner in McCurdy's which was very good. We know what to expect at the Silver Dart, the staff is very good, very friendly and helpful. We will stay again and again when in Baddeck.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Well it was so nice to read that you are a returning visitor! I appreciate all your comments and we are always looking for ways to improve our property for any future visitors. Please stop in to say hi on your next visit to our property. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Wonderful time in Cape Breton. Would definitely stay again. The rooms are clean the food is excellent and the staff is very friendly and helpful. View of lake is to die for. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
It was lovely to read your nice review of our property and that you will recommend us to others. I was pleased you enjoyed the accommodations and the service... And I agree, the view is fantastic! Please stay with us again if you are in the area next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay at the Silver Dart more based on other availability and cost. (others were more $ for similar rooms)

We got a 'loft' room which had an upstairs with a bed and tv and a downstairs with the same.

It was very comfortable for a small family.

Room was very clean and well appointed.

Had a little fridge but no stove or microwave which would have been great.

The property had a decent pool and excercise room.

We had an ezcellent meal at McCurdy's.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickbalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for writing about your stay this summer. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to experience the pool, fitness centre and McCurdy's Dining Room. Please feel free to contact us if you are ever back in the Baddeck area as we would love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Straightforward comfortable lodge accommodation fairly close to town. Clean rooms with nice water views. Lots of green space. Lodge is located within walking distance to Baddeck town. Lodges would suit family and friends vacation. The staff are friendly.

Room Tip: West lodge rooms 42 - 43, or thereabouts, are fairly quiet. View is good. Peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingdavid1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Silver Dart Lodge. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in the West Lodge. These rooms are large with two queen beds and a pullout sofa and, as you mentioned, are great for families. I will pass along your nice comments to the staff. I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Cape Breton Island and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Baddeck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were disappointed upon arrival as Silver Dart Lodge did not live up to its pictures posted on their own website. We were promised a newly renovated room but were given an outdated basement room that smelled horribly like garbage when we arrived. The caretaker agreed with us that the room smelled very badly and we were given a better room that did not smell. The second room was adequate and clean but the carpet was old and stained and the furnishings were outdated. We would have been happier with the room if our expectations weren't raised by the unrealistic pictures of the lodge and rooms on their website. We did enjoy the outdoor pool and playground.

Room Tip: Book early and request a chalet or West Lodge Room. The east lodge rooms are much poorer in quality...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
45.2 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
39.6 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
0.5 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.1 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Dart Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Dart Lodge

Property: Silver Dart Lodge
Address: 257 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Dart Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MacNeil House is located in beautiful Baddeck on Cape Breton Island, sharing a 90-acre property with the Silver Dart Lodge. Whether you want to sit and relax on our observation deck while taking in the beautiful scenery and gorgeous view of the Bras d'Or Lakes or get active and take a hike on the walking trails, kayak on the lakes, or take part in our Cabot Trail Treasure Hunt, our goal is to help you build a better Cape Breton vacation. Relax, unwind and let our knowledgeable staff guide your Cape Breton adventure, the perfect starting point for your Cabot Trail experience. Our Taste of Nova Scotia approved restaurant, McCurdy's Dining Room includes a lounge area and patio. Enjoy your afternoons and evenings with our heated swimming pool, private waterfront, and forested nature trails. Variety of hotel rooms and chalets, open mid-May to mid-October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Silver Dart Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Dart Hotel Baddeck
Silver Dart Baddeck
Silver Dart Lodge Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing