We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Good Price”
Review of Silver Dart Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Dart Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Good Price”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This hotel was selected purely for it's location. The price was reasonable and the rooms seemed pretty nice.

We had a ground level room which had a walk-out patio, kinda cool. The room was nicely appointed. The wireless reception was also nice and strong.

We were lucky to find an online deal with this hotel where breakfast was free each day. I was glad it was free because it was alright, nothing spectacular, but good enough to fuel the fire for the morning. Toast (there was a gluten free bread too, which my wife loved, it was probably the best GF bread she ever had), eggs, bacon or sausage and tea with a juice. There were substitutions that could be made but I forget what they are. If we didn't have the free breakfast deal I would not have eaten here, the cost was a bit over the top for what you could select from.

This hotel served as a great base for doing the Cabot Trail drive. It allowed us to do the trail and the Skyline hike in one day with a lot of time to make many roadside stops at the shops and scenic overlooks. It was also a great location because there is a gas station not too far from it where we filled up and started back to New Brunswick.

The bathroom had your basic amenities and they were clean, the floor was clean throughout the room. Would I stay here again if I were planning the same trip? Yep.

All in all this was a good hotel at a good price. The staff were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onebigfellah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Silver Dart Lodge in Baddeck. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and I have made note of your comments about our breakfast. We are always looking for ways to improve upon our products and services for any future guests! Please stay with us again if you are ever traveling back to Cape Breton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    265
    85
    26
    6
See reviews for
147
334
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The silver dart lodge was a great location to call home base as we experienced the Celtic festival recently. The lodge provided free shuttles to entertainment centre for late night event. The room was clean, restaurant was good, view of lake was awesome and we were very close to quaint baddeck. If you are driving the Cabot trail, baddeck is perfect spot to begin and end the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lloyd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your review and I was pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Baddeck is the perfect location for exploring the Cabot Trail and we have a great location with that awesome view of the Bras d'Or Lakes. I hope you will visit with us again for the 2014 Celtic Colours Festival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I was only here for 2 nights but would have loved to stay longer. The location was stunning - overlooking the lake - and so conveniently located to town and other attractions. I really enjoyed sitting out on the deck looking over the lake in the morning. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the restaurant also was excellent. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaanro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
It was a pleasure to read your review and thank you for your kind words. It truly is amazing to sit out and enjoy the Magnificent Bras d'Or Lakes! As you mentioned, it is stunning! We hope to see you again in 2014 if you get a chance to visit Baddeck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boxborough, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the newly renovated "Silver Dart Lodge" and couldn't have been happier in our cozy chalet, complete with wood burning stove. The staff here is amazing. General Manager, Denise MacLeod went beyond the call of duty in arranging our reservations for us, even when we were calling in to make our reservations very close to our arrival date. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the location of the dining room and the property in general, is very picturesque. Not being very adept at fire making, amazing groundskeeper Francis, couldn't have been more helpful in aiding us in getting our fire started but also in checking in with us to make sure we were able to successfully keep our fire going ~ which thanks to him we were.
We visited Baddeck for the "Celtics Colours Festival" and would definitely recommend this fine property for that event or for any touring you would plan on doing in Cape Breton as it is in an ideal location for many activities, including the beautiful "Cabot Trail."
Can't wait for our return trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisaval16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I was thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay and I was glad I was able to be a part of it! I will make sure Francis knows how much you appreciated his help as well. Thank you for recommending us to all your family and friends and we hope you will stay with us again during the 2014 Celtic Colours Festival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed here for a week while on a golf vacation in CB. A good central location so that you can commute to all the island's courses in a bit more than an hour (Cabot links, The Lakes, Highland links, Dundee, Bell Bay). Breakfast was good, both a la carte and buffet. Very help staff

Room Tip: If you want a LARGE room, ask for the room on the top floor, parking lot side, at the far end of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanataguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your review of our property while you were on vacation. As you mentioned, the property is very centrally located for your golfing vacation and I was pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. Please make your plans early as we would love to have you stay with us again if you get to Cape Breton for another golf vacation during 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed two nights in a chalet at the Silver Dart. The room could have used some updating but we couldn't have been more pleased. It was large, clean, very quiet and fully stocked with dishes, utensils, etc in the kitchenette. The deck, with it's lovely view, was a pleasant place to sit at the end of a day of hiking and sightseeing or to have coffee in the morning. It is a little far to walk to town but there was plenty of parking so this wasn't a problem. Once we got to the Silver Dart we knew we had chosen the right hotel for our needs!

Room Tip: I think the chalets are the best option. They are away from everything and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwt_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Hello: Thank you so much for your review and your comments. We have upgraded many of our rooms in the last couple of years and are hoping to continue with our chalet project this winter. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us.... We hope to see you on your next visit to Baddeck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Silver Dart Resort for 3 nights in October, during the Celtic Colours Festival. It was terrific! Our room had been renovated and was very spacious, and we even had a view of the lake! We appreciated having a fridge in our room. The buffet breakfast was excellent and, again, we had a view of the lake. Our server could not have been more pleasant or accommodating and the desk staff was the same. We would definitely stay here again--in fact I am planning a trip back, next year, with my daughter. We are not the type of travellers who who want to spend a huge amount for frills, so our room in The Silver Dart Resort suited us perfectly. We had a standard room with a king size bed. It was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in!

Room Tip: I have not seen all the rooms, but I know there are several types available, including cottages. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoyfulTaveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Good evening: Thank you very much for writing about our property! We love when guest share their experiences with the world! It was just fantastic to read how your enjoyed the property and the staff - they really do an excellent job. I hope to meet you on your trip to the Silver Dart in 2014. Enjoy your winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
27.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
45.2 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.2 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
289 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
109 reviews
2.1 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Dart Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Dart Lodge

Property: Silver Dart Lodge
Address: 257 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Dart Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MacNeil House is located in beautiful Baddeck on Cape Breton Island, sharing a 90-acre property with the Silver Dart Lodge. Whether you want to sit and relax on our observation deck while taking in the beautiful scenery and gorgeous view of the Bras d'Or Lakes or get active and take a hike on the walking trails, kayak on the lakes, or take part in our Cabot Trail Treasure Hunt, our goal is to help you build a better Cape Breton vacation. Relax, unwind and let our knowledgeable staff guide your Cape Breton adventure, the perfect starting point for your Cabot Trail experience. Our Taste of Nova Scotia approved restaurant, McCurdy's Dining Room includes a lounge area and patio. Enjoy your afternoons and evenings with our heated swimming pool, private waterfront, and forested nature trails. Variety of hotel rooms and chalets, open mid-May to mid-October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Silver Dart Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Dart Hotel Baddeck
Silver Dart Baddeck
Silver Dart Lodge Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing