We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On our way to nfld ”
Review of Silver Dart Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Dart Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last yr in 2013 , loved the view and the food in Resturant is tasty , amazing breakfast , they go out of their for gluten free issues . On our way today , July 3,2014 . Feels like going home . Try to book a room overlooking Bay . Rooms are bright .

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Thelillywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed two nights on an organized tour. Basically, in the middle of nowhere, although you can walk into town. It's not much of a town, but does have some restaurants and shops. The grounds are extensive, including a nature trail behind the hotel. Our room had a veranda, shared with other rooms in the same building, and a very nice view across the lawn and over the lake. The room was quite large, the bath was adequate, we had sufficient storage space for clothes and toiletries. It is an older property, so we had to search for enough outlets for our electronics; they were not all conveniently located, but they were sufficient.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmccaleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Really nice hotel, good prices and wonderful views. Best place to start your trip around the Cabot Trail. Food at their restaurant has a good continental breakfast included in the price...would love to visit again.

Room Tip: First building on the right of the lobby second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gizmotibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was a very nice property, with spectacular views. Breakfast buffet is not worth the price ($13pp) as it is mediocre at best. Pool is outdoors, but is heated. Good sized on-site laundromat is a nice time saver if you need it (we did). Staff is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Rooms are large and well kept. The property outside is as good as it gets-large and beautiful, lots of room for playing, walking, whatever you like. Close to downtown Baddeck and Cabot trail.

Room Tip: There are many types of rooms to choose from-with views, no views, chalets, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayCornerstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We booked a day in here for our motorcyle trip to Cabot Trail.
They charged us $10.00 more for booking with Expedia and I argued with them but lost.
It is an older building but wonderfully decorated and mentained,The second floor has a big window overlooking the large body of water.Imeditelly outside the bedroom is a porch with chairs where one could have a coffee or use binoculars to watch the boats going by. The room is very large and the bed is soft. The bathroom is also clean and pleasant looking.
Up on seing this room we immediatelly reserved another day.
The restaurant is nice but we only had breakfast in there(which is not included)
In the way here my cell got very wet from the rain and Amanda at the front desk helped us print the insurance forms an fax them.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter-Goldwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I had read mixed reviews on the Silver Dart Lodge on trip advisor and I did not really know what to expect beside a nice view on the Bras d’Or (I had driven through Baddeck a few days before our stay and seen the location of the lodge). However, we had a pleasant stay. Our room in the main lodge was a little bit dated but large, spotless and comfy with indeed a nice view on the Bras d’Or. Wifi is offered for free but was somewhat erratic with very weak signal at time followed by period of good connection. I do not think that it was due to an overload of the system as we were very early in the season with still a low level of occupancy. We ate at the Lodge restaurant on the first night as we did not feel going to town after a long day and we had a very nice diner so we came back the second nicht this time by choice and no longer by default. The bathroom in our room had obviously be renovated recently and was really nice but I am not sure that it is true for each unit as some parts of the lodge could obviously benefit from some maintenance (for example the paint was badly chipping away on the viewing deck in front of our room). I suspect that is what explain the mixed review but in our case, we had a very pleasant stay at the lodge

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel has been in Baddeck for a long time. The property has been updated but still shows its age. Dinner in the restaurant was terrible. My steak arrived late and tasted rancid. Ruined my whole stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
27.3 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
45.2 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
27.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
682 reviews
5.8 mi away
Trailsman Motel
Trailsman Motel
#6 of 7 in Baddeck
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Dart Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Dart Lodge

Address: 257 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range: £95 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Dart Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MacNeil House is located in beautiful Baddeck on Cape Breton Island, sharing a 90-acre property with the Silver Dart Lodge. Whether you want to sit and relax on our observation deck while taking in the beautiful scenery and gorgeous view of the Bras d'Or Lakes or get active and take a hike on the walking trails, kayak on the lakes, or take part in our Cabot Trail Treasure Hunt, our goal is to help you build a better Cape Breton vacation. Relax, unwind and let our knowledgeable staff guide your Cape Breton adventure, the perfect starting point for your Cabot Trail experience. Our Taste of Nova Scotia approved restaurant, McCurdy's Dining Room includes a lounge area and patio. Enjoy your afternoons and evenings with our heated swimming pool, private waterfront, and forested nature trails. Variety of hotel rooms and chalets, open mid-May to mid-October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Silver Dart Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Dart Hotel Baddeck
Silver Dart Baddeck
Silver Dart Lodge Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing