We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silver Dart Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Telegraph House Hotel(Baddeck)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabot Trail Motel(Baddeck)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aberdeen Motel(Whycocomagh)
US$73
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fair Isle Motel(Whycocomagh)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Margaree Riverview Inn(Margaree Forks)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kow's Inn(Little Bras d'Or)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
675 results
Traveller rating
254
288
100
27
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
288
100
27
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseast wingcabot trailgreat viewdining roomcape bretonmacneil houseoutdoor poolnight packagewalking trailsview of the lakebras d'or lakelaundry facilitiesbreakfast buffetnova scotiatour busesbit datedcomfortable beds
Filter
Updating list...
406 - 411 of 675 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

we returned to the Silver Dart after staying there 5 years ago, and its nice to see that it has maintained the same standards as it had then. Friendly and accommodating staff, clean and well kept rooms, great food... and oatcakes. When I mentioned that we'd had oatcakes in our bread basket for dinner 5 years ago and that I was disappointed not to see them this year, the waiter immediately went to get me - some along with the recipe. Nice touch!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MuskokaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed in the main lodge had a great deck to sit and relax on as well as to enjoy the view of the lake. Bed was fantastic and pillows were great loved the room layout bed faced the bank of windows overlooking the lake what a sight to wake up to really enjoyed the screen door to deck as well as being able to open the windows for fresh air The entire staff is there to serve. Great people. The restaurant has very good food. short walk to town take the time to do this so as to savoy the town. Great experience

Room Tip: Get room on upper deck
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Trudy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I was discussing an upcoming four-day anniversary trip to Nova Scotia with a colleague who grew up in the Maritimes, and he immediately said, "the Silver Dart Lodge on Cape Breton Island." We booked for two nights, and had one dinner and breakfast there. We had a view of St. Patrick's Channel from our second floor room in the Main Lodge. Spectacular. The room was large, bed modern and very comfortable with a pillow-top mattress. The rest of the accommodation was average--overall the resort is a bit dated. The food is good but unexceptional--my haddock and chips were terrific, and the breakfast buffet was substantial. The staff, however, were uniformly helpful, friendly, willing to offer recommendations off-property, and dedicated to service and cleanliness. Rooms: 3/5; Staff: 5/5. Overall it was a positive experience and I would not hesitate to book again.

Room Tip: Upper floor of the main lodge has the million dollar view. People who work in other hotels in the area talk about the view...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrBob78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We enjoyed the staff and dining in the restaurant here for a couple of nights. Folks DownEast are just so very helpful & friendly!

The food in the McCurdy dining room was very good to excellent. Staff were a pleasure to deal with and much kibitzing over wine or coffee was enjoyed!

The rooms were a little dated and sound carried between adjacent rooms a little too well, so be prepared for that. They kept them nice & clean - no problem there at all.

I recommend this place for a stay when in the Bras d'Or Lakes area.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed an extra day it was so nice!!! Great staff, great view!!! Grounds were neat and pool was clean. Food was good(closed a little early though). Beach area was good and so was walking trails. All round great place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rusty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews