We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty nice place !!”
Review of Silver Dart Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Dart Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Motel units to park in front of your room was very handy to have there . Room was clean & the bed was very comfy , also bedding was good . Restaurant is on site also & the food in there was pretty good too. Clean bathrooms & lots of towels in them :) heated pool on property but did not use it .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Thank you for your review of the Silver Dart Lodge last August. I was pleased you enjoyed your visit. Please visit with us again on your next trip to Baddeck and hopefully you will have time to enjoy the heated outdoor pool as well as all the other amenities on site! Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were wow'd by the views and above and beyond service by the hotel GM. We had an unfortunate situation during dinner occur - our waitress was new and overwhelmed - but it was 100% addressed and immediately remedied on the spot.

You can't beat the views from the main hotel building. The room was huge and very clean. We spent the evening exploring the private lakefront beach, then sat on the veranda (shared) to watch the sun set. The mornings were perfect for a cup of coffee and THAT VIEW!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

I was reading over your review from your visit at Silver Dart Lodge last August. Thank you for staying with us and I was pleased we are able to take an unfortunate situation and turn it into a pleasant one! I do hope you will visit with us again in 2015 - Come back and enjoy the peace and tranquility of the magnificent Bras d'Or Lakes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent our last 2 nights in Nova Scotia here and wished we could have stayed longer. Staff were friendly. Rooms were clean. We didn't require room service, but requested extra towels and were given a boatload of them without hesitation. Loved having a balcony overlooking the lake that was across the street. Having laundry facilities was a bonus. Didn't use the pool, but it looked clean. Enjoyed walking downtown, visiting shops and the Alexander Graham Bell Museum. We earned our "Master of Cape Breton" certificate at Silver Dart Academy ,,, a free presentation in the Lodge's restaurant area on Monday evening regarding the history and highlights of Cape Breton. Cute and clever way to inform tourists about the area ... well worth attending.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2015

We loved reading your perfect review of your visit to Silver Dart Lodge in August. We pride ourselves on our customer service and cleanliness are happy you were pleased during your visit. Please call us on your next visit to Baddeck and Cape Breton Island. We would love to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Surprised by review saying rooms were a bit shabby. Maybe they just redid things. It is a big place, and some buildings may be in different shape. We stayed in over a dozen rooms in NS on this trip and this was one of top three for comfort and quality vs value. We were in room 28(?) which was a second floor room farther from the registration area and restaurant. It had a great view, but what was more impressive was how nice the room, and the bed in particular was. King size, with very nice quality linens and excellent comfort level. Wife is still going on about it. Room was huge. Balcony outside. A/C, flat screen TV. Bathroom was well appointed and modern.

It is maybe a mile from the main downtown area, so we preferred to drive into town, which just took two minutes, but one could walk it. A resort type hotel is just across the street, with a pub and fancier restaurant, but breakfast in restaurant at Silver dart was was really tasty and very well priced and I'll bet their dinner would have been as good and cheaper.

Room Tip: top floor with view of harbor was worth the $130.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Travellinguy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2015

Thank you so much for your perfect review of your stay with Silver Dart Lodge last summer. The beds are truly fantastic and the views of the Bras d'Or Lakes even better! Most of the property has been renovated in the last few years. The new beds, duvets, furniture, etc. is really enjoyed by all our guests! Please visit with us again on your next visit to the Baddeck area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Silver Dart on a recent trip to Cape Breton. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel seems a bit shabby, in need of some updating (carpets, fixtures, furniture, etc. in the rooms) but the rooms are spacious and clean and pretty comfortable. The best thing about this hotel is its location - just out of town, back from the road, overlooking the lake - and the resulting views and quiet. It looked as if all of the hotel-style rooms (as opposed to chalets) face the lake and have patios or balconies overlooking it, which is a real bonus. Amenities appeared to be good (although we didn't use any of them) and we were particularly impressed that they had laundry facilities. Would not eat in the attached restaurant again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TOwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed the pool and peace and quiet. Not to mention the view from our room window looking over the bay. We rode up on motor cycles and enjoyed warm weather and fog free viewing.
I recommend staying here again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarbs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Rooms are clean,spacious and have great views of Nova Scotia's inland sea the Bras d'Or Lac. Extremely comfortable beds.
Breakfast is good and restaurant menu excellent. Atmosphere in lodge is comfortable personnel hospitable. A good dollar value for the area.

Room Tip: Most rooms have excellent balcony a on patios over looking lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank laborpains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
45.2 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
27.3 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
27.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
0.6 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Dart Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Dart Lodge

Address: 257 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range: £94 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Dart Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MacNeil House is located in beautiful Baddeck on Cape Breton Island, sharing a 90-acre property with the Silver Dart Lodge. Whether you want to sit and relax on our observation deck while taking in the beautiful scenery and gorgeous view of the Bras d'Or Lakes or get active and take a hike on the walking trails, kayak on the lakes, or take part in our Cabot Trail Treasure Hunt, our goal is to help you build a better Cape Breton vacation. Relax, unwind and let our knowledgeable staff guide your Cape Breton adventure, the perfect starting point for your Cabot Trail experience. Our Taste of Nova Scotia approved restaurant, McCurdy's Dining Room includes a lounge area and patio. Enjoy your afternoons and evenings with our heated swimming pool, private waterfront, and forested nature trails. Variety of hotel rooms and chalets, open mid-May to mid-October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Silver Dart Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Dart Hotel Baddeck
Silver Dart Baddeck
Silver Dart Lodge Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing