We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”
Review of Silver Dart Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Dart Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“Friendly”
Reviewed 29 July 2010

I travelled with hiking friends. We arrived at the end of June and stayed the last 3 nights in June and 1st day in July. I found the room spacious, comfortable, two comfy beds, a couch and small table with 2 chairs. It had a great view of the bay. I loved the dining room with the view of the bay. We had very good food for breakfast and dinner. They were very accommodating in packing us lunches for our hikes. We were also given a gathering room to use for our happy hours, when raining, and for our meetings. The staff was helpful in every way. They were eager to make suggestions, help with directions, and made checking out efficient. They even itemized our bill for our food and hotel for the two of us sharing a room. I would definately recommend Silver Dart for a lovely stay. Great location...close enough to Baddeck to walk into town.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 42045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    261
    85
    26
    6
See reviews for
144
325
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Smiling faces greet you as soon as you enter the reception. And it seems the word 'NO" does not exist with anyone that is ready to comfort and serve. For each question my wife and I had, the answer was 'Yes". Rooms clean and newly renovated. With food, its like you are at a five-star restaurant. If you need help with directions, its like you have your own personal guide. Patient and meticulous. Staying at Silver Dart Lodge made all the difference to us and we would seek Baddeck again if only to experience their hospitality once more.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ogeegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

This is a pleasant complex with a great view, pretty dining room, and friendly front desk staff. Definitely "motel" not "lodge" but perfectly okay given the rustic and beautiful setting.

However, things went downhill after our first night. A mouse in the room destroyed some of our things and was darting about the room. This is a small problem that can easily be corrected by a couple of folks with brooms (I would have happily helped out) to chase the beast out the patio door. A call to the front desk indicated that they would put us in another room later that day. However, no one came to the room to check up on us, take a look at the damage, deal with the mouse, or console us. We were not offered compensation for the small damage, a free meal, or anything to placate us. When we decided we should probably leave, no help booking a room at another resort was offered. When we left and called Expedia to arrange for a refund for the balance of three prepaid nights, the front desk at first wanted to refund us only two nights, but they eventually relented when Expedia called the GM back after I complained to Expedia. So I would describe the operation as, at best, lackadaisical. Absolutely no understanding of customer service was evident, and they seemed quite willing to try to nickel-and-dime us. I had not planned on writing this review but having to struggle a bit to get a refund was the last straw.

Given the difficulty of finding another nearby place to stay, we gave up and came home early.

The management should spend some time at a Hampton Inn or a McDonald's, to see effective management in action.

I still think this would have been a nice place to stay if nothing went wrong.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grumpy_pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverDartLodgeWes, General Manager at Silver Dart Lodge, responded to this review, 17 July 2010
Unfortunately our natural surroundings do sometime expose us to all sorts of wildlife! We too would rather see moose than mice, although a moose would have probably done much more damage in a room than a mouse! We're not sure how the little feller got in, but we made sure to help him get out ;)
In response to the comment above, I would like to add a couple of facts: We did offer to remove the pest, move the guest to another room, and refund the night's stay due to this unacceptable event. As this guest was staying with us through Expedia, we also contacted Expedia in advance and offered a full refund of all room charges due to this unfortunate event. It was the first time we had encountered such an issue here in all of our years, and our team tried to react as quickly and appropriately as possible. We all apologized many times, and we apologize again. We pray for more moose sightings in future too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed at the Silver Dart for one night, in most part due to the recommendations of Tripadvisor, CAA and the (very helpful and surprisingly honest) Nova Scotia tourism guide. This was certainly the nicest stay we had during our tour of Cape Breton. Check-in was a breeze and the staff were very helpful and professional. The main building is very well kept and nicely updated. While not super-cheap, they do offer a significant CAA discount, which is a plus.

We rented one of the cottages, which contain two units per cottage. The setup is unobtrusive and we did not hear a peep from our neighbours. The rooms themselves have obviously been recently renovated. They are very very nice, with nice hardwood and amenities. Beds are comfy, and each side has their own deck which looks out on their expansive lawn, with a view of the lake. We did not want to leave the room!

Eventually we pried ourselves away long enough to go have dinner at the restaurant on site. Second best decision we made all day. The food is superb, and the service is impeccable. This is truly a highlight for Cape Breton, which is typically quaint, but basic.

My only regret is that we didn't have more time to spend in the room (something I don't say too often). I would highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truebluetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

What a great deal! Beautiful view, sweet deck, gorgeous clean pool, wonderful food and the best service and staff EVER. yes, the rooms are outdated and walls maybe a bit thin, but we were thrilled with the view, the amazing food, beautiful dining in main lodge and the grounds and staff were all top notch. We'll be back for sure!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubashe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waubaushene, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Silver Dart Lodge for two nights July 2010, we loved it. I wish we could have stayed longer, but it was time to move on. We stayed in one of their chalets. How cute! It had everything you need to feel at home. The view was incredible, overlooking Bras d'or Lake and the pool a comfortable 86 degrees. Nice! We had one supper in their diningroom, that was very good also. We would definitely return for another holiday and highly recommend staying in one of their chalets, they seem a little more private and you obviously only have one immediate neighbour (since the little chalet is divided in two).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccam08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Overall, we had a great 3 night stay at the Silver Dart Lodge. Our room in the East Lodge was on the second floor and overlooked the Bras D'or lakes. Beautiful! The room was very clean and comfortable, and was nicely appointed.

The front desk service was excellent, and the resturant staff were generally very friendly and attentive. While the dinner offerings are probably the best you can get in Baddeck, and probably the best you can get within 50 miles, the food quality wasn't quite worth the money. Still, it was a nice to be able to enjoy a fine dining experience. (Again, wih a great view) Breakfast was always good.

Baddeck makes a great central location for exploring Cape Breton Island. If you are looking for nicer than average accomodations to base yourself at for your vacation, the Silver Dart lodge is a great choice!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev_N_Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
45.2 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
27.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
0.2 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
280 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
104 reviews
2.1 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Dart Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Dart Lodge

Property: Silver Dart Lodge
Address: 257 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Dart Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MacNeil House is located in beautiful Baddeck on Cape Breton Island, sharing a 90-acre property with the Silver Dart Lodge. Whether you want to sit and relax on our observation deck while taking in the beautiful scenery and gorgeous view of the Bras d'Or Lakes or get active and take a hike on the walking trails, kayak on the lakes, or take part in our Cabot Trail Treasure Hunt, our goal is to help you build a better Cape Breton vacation. Relax, unwind and let our knowledgeable staff guide your Cape Breton adventure, the perfect starting point for your Cabot Trail experience. Our Taste of Nova Scotia approved restaurant, McCurdy's Dining Room includes a lounge area and patio. Enjoy your afternoons and evenings with our heated swimming pool, private waterfront, and forested nature trails. Variety of hotel rooms and chalets, open mid-May to mid-October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Silver Dart Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Dart Hotel Baddeck
Silver Dart Baddeck
Silver Dart Lodge Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing