We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, friendly, homey, with lots of amenities on properties”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ceilidh Country Lodge
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We booked our stay via one of the provincial travel/tourist information centers, so we got a good rate that included a nice breakfast (either continental buffet, or a hot egg/ham combo). The staff was very friendly, and very helpful. In fact, we had one of those new flat screen TVs in our room (though why anyone would stay in and watch TV, I don't know). Also, there was a cozy fireplace (electric) in the room, which was a nice touch as the evenings got cool.

As others have said, there are a lot of lakefront facilities at the sister property across the street. We didn't have a chance to use them, as we only spent 2 nights, and it was too cold to swim. There is a very pretty Lakeside Restaurant across the street at Invenery which has very good food (though a bit pricey). The cozy pub is a comfortable place to hang out and listen to local musicians.

The only negatives were that the bed (queen) was a little mushy for our taste, and the walls are not very sound-proof, such that we could hear our neighbors turn on the showere, flush the toilet, etc. Also, you have to go to the property across the street to be sure of the internet (it was spotty inour room).

All in all, though, especially for the rate, and with everything on site and a friendly staff, we give this high marks. We'd love to come back in the summer, and use the lake services.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaggiMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2008

Spent two nights here. The rooms are large enough but with two double beds and a small bathroom. The facility is older and not very comfortable. The sister property across the highway has all of the amenities but that doesn't help us. I'll find another place to stay next time!

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank waynertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2007

We enjoyed 2 nights here. The rooms are nice typical hotel rooms. But honestly we didn't spend much time in our room because of the access to the resort amenities across the street at the Inverary (their sister property). For $7 each we paid for a wrist band and had all day access to sea kayaks, paddle boats, canoes, sports equipment , the tennis courts. Basically everything they have that doesn't have a motor. Motorized things cost extra. Our 9 year old loved it. Also, there is a nice indoor pool/hot tub that opens up to a terrace with lots of lounge chairs and it's a short walk to the shops and restaurants in the town. I wish that there had been more time to sit by the lake in one of the many adirondack chairs on the shore or on the wrap -around porch in the main house/reception area. We enjoyed the bonfire on the lakeshore too.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SBTChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2006

It was fine and basic and the front desk service but it wasn't anything exceptional. With that said, it wasn't expensive either.

Positives:

1. Location. Baddeck is lovely and a good stopping point to enjoy the Cabot Trail. The hotel was easy to find and was a short walking distance to the town center.

2. Front desk was helpful and friendly. As part of the package they provide a packed lunch and an icecream voucher for those travelling the Cabot Trail.

3. We had access to the pool/sauna/hot tub in the Inverary Lodge across the road. There were restarants and a pub there, as well, though we didn't take advantage of them.

4. Clean room.

Negatives:

1. The rooms were clean and basic but could be a bit nicer. We were traveling with others staying at the Lynwood and although those rooms were basic and along the same lines they were much nicer. (Also, the food there was brilliant).

Although I would recommend the Lynwood for a couple looking for something basic but cheap enough, I think the Ceilidh Country Lodge would be better for a family because of the amenities accessible at the Inverary Lodge.

Stayed: October 2006
6  Thank SDTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2006

Things that we find worth the value -
Coffee or tea in-room or at least within close proximity - NONE - too bad because this is a simple requirement of most travellers now.
A comfortable bed and a great view - 1 out of 3 is not acceptable now as a marketing concept.
Suprising is that we are not picky people but expect good value for our dollar and appreciate the extra effort and ammenities that a place has to offer.

Room was OK, but as basic as they come.
- Old (Dark Beige - 60's) bathroom fixtures, mildew on the tiles but still very clean. Beds were hard and not the best......reminded me of a bunk bed situation.
- Ice was located in the main reception area because the one in our building was broken.
- No special ammenities - toiletries were simple, basic industrial supplies.

Pub & reception info stated it was open for snacks and drinks late. Not so, we were told to go down the street for food in Baddeck Town. We had a very late dinner at an outdoor type restaurant with Great service at 9 pm. Everything else in the town was closed.
Although I understand this, I still find it hard to sell this area to my friends and associates.
Europeans don't get started dining til 9pm !!!! Yes, Canadians tend to eat early but we didn't arrive in Baddeck until 7pm.

Considering that it was shoulder season, accurate meal info and lesser rates would have been more appropriate. We started inquiring across the road at the sister property - Inverary and found that info was not accurate.
Perhaps main season provides a better offering in this area with so much to offer.

Observation is that Cape Breton needs to step up the pace for marketing and services to gain tourist curiousity. We had hoped for a B&B with intrigue and saw none along the way. So, we opted for a hotel instead - simple as it was.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Straight_Forward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2006

We stayed 2 nights here and enjoyed it very much. This is a more old fashioned type Inn part of the Invernary Resort, rooms were around $90/night Canadaian vs about $130+ across the street but you get all the same amenities (indoor pool, sauna, hot tub,) the Lodge has a nice dining room for breakfast (not included w/price of room but very fairly priced)we had a room at the front of the lodge 2nd floor, much larger than the ones at the back, room was clean, bed comfy decent size bath. We found that most motel/hotels we stayed in on Cape Breton were older type establishments, very much the type of places most common in the seventies or eighties here in the states, I think you need to keep this in mind while traveling here and not to have huge expectations unless paying a huge price. We found the people here to be friendly, and helpful, the weather was quite cool and quite breezy, we did take advantage of the $5/day rental of the bikes, and various watercraft, we tried out just about everything they had to offer and used the bikes to ride into town (not a far ride at all) we stopped at the interpretive center about the lake (don't miss it very good and admission is just whatever you wish to donate)the sailboat ride on the lake is very good as well saw many bald eagles! Ceiledh Lodge was a quiet clean and friendly resort and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank bird18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Birthe Ø
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
0.2 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
676 reviews
6 mi away
Trailsman Motel
Trailsman Motel
#6 of 7 in Baddeck
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lynwood Inn
Lynwood Inn
#9 of 17 in Baddeck
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
682 reviews
1.9 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceilidh Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceilidh Country Lodge

Address: 369 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia BOE 1BO, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Baddeck
Price Range: £80 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ceilidh Country Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ceilidh Country Lodge! Our lodge provides comfortable accommodation for all types of traveler and we are pleased to offer each of them a complimentary continental breakfast! Enjoy stunning views of the Bras d'Or Lakes from our elevated property and a warm smile from our innkeepers and staff! Only a few minutes walk from the Baddeck village center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Ceilidh Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceilidh Country Hotel Baddeck
Ceilidh Country Lodge Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing