We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
Ranked #6 of 17 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We didn't stay here but had a wonderful dining experience. The tables were set nicely and the service was excellent. To top it off, the food was cooked well and was fresh and tasty, far better than most of the other places we've dined at in Nova Scotia. Between the four of us, we had good freshly shucked oysters, lobster bisque, whole lobster and duck fillets accompanied by a delicious medley of finely julienned vegetables. The fish cakes were a little tasteless but everything else was excellent including the apple dessert. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights as part of a tour. Although a nice looking Inn this was our least favourite hotel on the tour. The room was quite large but a bit over the top for our tastes and the carpet was very badly marked/faded. Compared with the other hotels the bathroom was on the small side.we had breakfast on both mornings which was served at your table but we prefer buffet style breakfasts. The dinner we had was ok but nothing special. Baddeck is a nice place with plenty of good alternative eating places. To sum up good but not excellent .

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank redscarfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My mom and I got to the hotel a little early because we woke up at PEI at 5 am. We were allowed to check in earlier than normal, which we really appreciated. The hotel was wonderful. I can't think of anything we didn't like. We also ate dinner twice and breakfast once at the restaurant, which was good. We thought the landscaping was beautiful and didn't mind having a room over the parking area because we could look to the left and see beauty.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPenn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The room we had was clean and well appointed but overlooking a parking lot. There is no discount for rooms without a view. Buses picking up guests early in the morning created lots of unnecessary noise for other guests who wanted to sleep past 6a.m.
The rooms are dated with heavy Victorian colors and accents .

We were advised that the restaurant was one of the best in the area. The service was fine but the food was bland and boring. The special was rack of lamb that was tough and tasteless. We met another couple from England who had also eaten there and they said it was the worst meal ever!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 193KRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at this Inn for two nights as part of our ten-day tour around Nova Scotia. Rooms were large with plenty of place to put all your stuff. But they are decorated elaborately in Victorian style -- very pink and purple, very girlie with tons of huge pillows that you do not know where to put when you are ready to go to bed. TV is so old that we had forgotten how to operate it. Picture quality is not that great, either. The building looks new, but you can hear every creak in the wood, and every voice on the patio. Still, somehow, when everyone went to their rooms, we could get a good night's rest because of the comfortable bed. The plugs are so hidden that we were worried about leaving our chargers behind. ( We did not leave anything behind because of the repeated warnings ). The place definitely needs a little modernization.

The redeeming features about this Inn are the people. The staff all around are some of the BEST that we have ever experienced. Everybody from the Management on down were friendly, helpful, and always wanted to make sure that everything was going well. Specially at the Restaurant, -- we were always greeted with smiles that were real, and not fake or pretentious. They all go above and beyond to make the guests feel like VIP's. Food was pretty good too.

It is a little far from the Main Street, and on an uphill climb. People with walking problems should make a note of this.

Otherwise, the ambiance is good, and grounds are very well maintained. Worth a try.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheExplorerFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

When we arrived at Auberge Gisele, I was in a bad mood. We had a long drive, and I had a headache so my first impresson was that I dislike this place and nothing they could do would make me happy. First I saw our room and eventhough it was nice and big and comfortable I wasn't bowled over. The next morning I woke up and walked into our kitchenette looked at the sink and thought to myself this is the cleaniest sink i've ever seen. Well we stayed there three ngihts and eventhough I didn't think anything would impress me and change my first opinion since I was in a crabby mood, this place did. By the time I checked out I was throughly impressed with the service and the staff. The staff treated us as if we were their most important guests they had ever had. When we had a question about visiting an area, and they didn't know the answer they would immediately go and research it for us. When they found out we wanted to use their laundry facilities, they did what they could so we had no problems. In our room the internet service was spotty (note: Baddeck is not in the most populated area in Nova Scotia) the staff suggested we use their lounge and use our devices in there. They made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Our room was quiet, even when a big tour came in, you couldn't hear a sound. I also highly recomend the resturant at the inn. You will enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is a very beautiful place, and we were quite comfortable. We were on the bus tour, and so we don't know if the normal rates are good or not. Dining there was fair, better than some, worse than others. There isn't a sidewalk from Gisele's that goes into Baddeck, and we didn't feel foot travel was very safe at night. That wasn't very convenient for guests who are bussed there. If you like to drive everywhere you go, you should be fine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
0.3 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
674 reviews
0.4 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#7 of 17 in Baddeck
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynwood Inn
Lynwood Inn
#9 of 17 in Baddeck
204 reviews
1.8 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#2 of 17 in Baddeck
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Gisele's Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Gisele's Country Inn

Address: 387 Shore Road, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range: £126 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Gisele's Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 4* accommodation in Baddeck overlooking the Bras d’Or Lakes and walking distance to most attractions. Offering the perfect blend of "home away from home" with comfort and convenience, personalized service over 30 years. 78 deluxe air-conditioned rooms, coffee machines, laundromat on property, elevator, complimentary parking, wireless, complimentary guest computer and morning newspapers. Award winning licensed dining room with friendly table service. Open mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Auberge Gisele's Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Gisele`s Country Hotel Baddeck
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing