We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dunlop Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dunlop Inn
Ranked #5 of 18 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

My partner and I spent 2 nights at the Dunlop Inn, and would've loved to have stayed longer! The house was immaculate and homely - we had use of the kitchen, sunroom, lounge and garden. The lake-side decking was also a great place to sit and relax with a cold beer! This is a perfect place to spend a few nights before or after embarking on the Cabot Trail. The breakfast is basic, but fresh and tasty with cereals, bagels, english muffins, coffee, juice, fruit, yoghurts etc served. Cris, the housekeeper, was also very accommodating and friendly! Overall, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    26
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
68
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed two nights here on our travels through Cape Breton. A good launching site for driving thru the Cape Breton Highland National Park. The town of Baddeck is walkable and has some good restaurants. The Inn was very lovely. Right on the water. Rooms were clean and airy and comfortable. Inn is small so was quiet and peaceful. Beautiful surroundings. A very nice breakfast. Nice common areas of lounges. Highly recommend this place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PippinSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I spent one night at the Dunlop Inn and wished it had been more! After my long drive from Halifax up to Baddeck I was delighted with this B&B. The room I stayed in was stunning. The house is immaculate and has everything you could need. The absolute best feature was the sunroom that looks out onto the back deck right on the water. It was truly a delight. You can walk through the whole little town from this location and there are several restaurants near by. I loved sitting out on the deck and enjoying the peace of looking at the water, the lighthouse, the boats and the blue heron sitting on a dock nearby. The house was quite and comfortable for a great sleep.

I left very early the next morning to get a head start on the Cabot Trail so I can't comment on breakfast. However the kitchen was stocked with coffee, cookies, etc. I would recommend it to anyone and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadow Vista, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night but wished it was longer. This older home right on the lake has been converted to a B&B. We stayed upstairs in the Lighthouse Room with views of the lake and lighthouse. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was small but functional with new high quality towels. The best part was the sunroom and deck where we sipped wine and watched the sun drop behind the clouds. Just lovely!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CindyMeadowVista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We booked last minute at The Dunlop and are we ever glad we did! Clean and well appointed with a beautiful view of the lake right in your backyard. Chris was a very friendly hostess and the staff that checked us in also very kind and accommodating. Right in town and close to everything. Would stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmaryv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Dunlop for two nights. We could have stayed longer. The housekeeper (Chris) is extremely friendly and helpful. She prepared really good breakfasts for us and we enjoyed chatting with her. We were lucky enough to meet the owners of the Dunlop - they are great people who took the time to chat with us about our adventures, etc. and suggested some great places to hike. The Dunlop is within walking distance of everything. We didn't mind having to get our key at the Telegraph House - we walked back there in the evening to have an amazing dinner. Our room was lovely. Chris keeps everything extremely clean and tidy. We loved the sunroom and spent one evening on the terrace - beautiful view. There is also a good sized deck right on the water - the brightly coloured chairs were a delight.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mabel Bell room which is on the main floor, right across from the sunroom. We don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

The motel is located by the water with a nice view.
It use to be a living house, renovated to be motel, and that is clearly seen by the tiny room.
Breakfast is varied.
You have to drive half a mile to the Telegraph house where you check in.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeha59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
0.8 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
44.6 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
1.4 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 18 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#8 of 18 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunlop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunlop Inn

Property: The Dunlop Inn
Address: 552 Chebucto Street | Cape Breton, Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunlop Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Dunlop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunlop Inn Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing