We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dunlop Inn
Nearby Hotels
Telegraph House Hotel(Baddeck)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aberdeen Motel(Whycocomagh)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MacNeil House(Baddeck)
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Dart Lodge(Baddeck)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MacNeil's Motel(North Sydney)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kow's Inn(Little Bras d'Or)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
83
29
11
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
29
11
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslighthouse roomself serve continental breakfastrenovated kitchenikea showroombreakfast areab bbell roomother guestsentire place iscabot trailoverlooking the wateryogurtcommon areaslight househighly recommend this propertyentire housewithin walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed for two nights and felt very lucky to have found this B&B. We were in room 5, that did not have a view of the water, but that mattered little as there were many opportunities to experience it from the Inn. There is a long deck right on the water, a large deck outside the dining and sitting areas and spectacular views of the harbour from the kitchen/breakfast area and the sitting room. We happened to be there when the Cape Race was on and enjoyed watching the sail boats complete one of the races as the finish line was right in front of the Inn.

The building has been renovated with style with quality in mind. Breakfast is a do-it yourself affair that took a few minutes to get accustomed to, but everything is there: fruit salad, eggs, bread, bagels, cereal, coffee, toasters, a microwave and a fridge for guest use. We had lovely chats with other guests on the decks and at breakfast.

It was also a great location from which to drive the Cabot Trail. The bed was very comfy and we wished we could have stayed longer and just sit and read and enjoy the views of the water.

Room Tip: We heard that the room with the view is the one to have. I think it is number 2.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank William155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My family booked all 5 rooms at the Inn for my parents 50th Anniversary and we couldn't have had a more wonderful experience! This home was owned by my father's uncle and is now operated as the Inn by other relatives, so this was a lovely experience for my parents to reminisce. The location directly on the water and in central Baddeck is perfect for exploring and Beverly (the houseperson) was friendly, knowledgeable, and most helpful. An excellent and memorable experience, and worth every penny you may spend.

Room Tip: Mabel Bell Room great for those not a fan of the stairs, but the Lighthouse Room on the 2nd floor offers a luxury bathroom and spectacular view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna-MariePEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a great B&B. It has all the charm of an older home that has been well cared for. The kitchen which, unlike many B&Bs, is available to guests has just been renovated. The house is not owner occupied which means guests have access to the whole house. There are 3 great public areas. The kitchen and tv/game room both have wonderful water views. There is also a living room on the front of the house which guests can use. The views of the water are unbeatable. There is a back deck outside the tv room with small tables and chairs as well as a waterside deck lined with chairs.
The rooms are all pleasant. The largest is on the first floor. Upstairs are 4 additional rooms. We stayed in two different ones on the front of the house. Of these the Garden room is the nicest. The
other, the Heuser has a very small bathroom and the room felt a bit cramped. The Lighthouse
room is everyone's favorite because it looks out over the water. It has a newly enlarged and
renovated bathroom.

Breakfast is continentinental and self serve in the kitchen. I found the offerings more than adequate. The rooms do not have televisions but the wifi service is good. If we ever return ro Baddeck I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dlee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night in the Inn but could have stayed the entire trip at this location. It is beautifully decorated & perfectly situated. We stayed in the Lighthouse room with windows facing the water - very picturesque. Very warm hospitality. Highly recommend it.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Vesta2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

When I reserved this room, the only one showing availability was the room with the bath across the hall. It looked like a good location so I booked it anyway. In correspondence before arrival they said a room with ensuite bath was available for $10 more. I said OK because this was what I wanted all along. I guess they had a lot of cancellations because we had the whole house to ourselves except, of course, for the other 4 bedrooms.
The lady in charge of breakfast was delightful and since they had set up breakfast for several more folks there was plenty of food. We were worn out from a day on the Cabot Trail, so a bottle of wine had our name on it at the local liquor store. Only problem was it closed at 6PM. I believe they are a little over priced compared to the other places we stayed on our trip, but all was in order otherwise. Be aware that the town is small and I'm not sure it ever awakens.

Room Tip: Non of the rooms have a TV. There is a small one in the shared family room. This was fine since we were alone, but might be a problem if all 5 rooms were occupied.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews