We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Broadwater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Broadwater Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

What a wonderful view of Bras D'Or lake from the Bay Room. John was a spot-on advisor for our drive around the Cabot Trail. The inn is comfortable, homey and welcoming, a first-rate place to stay! We enjoyed the breakfast and the thoughtful touches in our room and throughout.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mems1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at the Broadwater Inn for two nights on our 14 day tour of PEI and Cape Brenton. The first impression of our room was only fair, sparsely furnished. It had only one small window in the bathroom that opened and a noisy air conditioner. However the bed was comfortable and room was adequate. Breakfast is served in a nice room with other guests only at 8am. The food was good but didn't blow my mind.
Owners are VERY friendly and accommodating. Great stories from the owner during breakfast, helpful with directions and suggested side trips and they even offered use of their kayaks so we wouldn't have to unload ours. Price if very reasonable.
Great group of guests all up to tour the Cabot Trail so lots of interesting meet ups.

Room Tip: You might want to call and discuss your room specifics with them if things like opening windows matt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickyRight2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a delightful B & B to stay in when wanting to see Cape Breton. Although a little too far for us oldies to walk into Baddeck we enjoyed our 2 night stay very much. As previous reviewers have commented John is a great host and has lots of interesting suggestions about visiting places. We did not get the room we originally booked but the Library room was offered so I shouldn't complain. It is a magnificent room, the only gripe I have is it was expensive to say there was no view and we English like our early morning cuppa! All in all though I would certainly stay again and thank you.

Room Tip: Don't ask for Library if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameranel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We spent 2 wonderful nights in Baddeck at the Broadwater Inn. We stayed in Cabin 1 and just loved it. Great location, privacy, deck and all the amenities. John is a wonderful source of information on Baddeck and Cape Breton. We took his advice on touring and he was right on. Loved the great breakfast.

Room Tip: We loved Cabin 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milehighhorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at Broadwater Inn with two friends. The four of us had two upper rooms in the main house, each with it's own bathroom. Our friends had the Library, a gorgeous large room with books and couches to relax in while perusing the books. We had the room with fantastic bay views. The stairs to get upstairs were rather daunting however once up there we were in our own sanctuary.
The house is beautifully restored and full of interesting stuff. We had breakfast in a lovely room overlooking the bay, and the breakfast served as part of the deal was great.
Baddeck is a surprise. While we were there for a specific event, there is a lot to do so it really requires a stay of at least two or three full days. We didn't have that amount of time, and much to the chagrin of our host at the B&B we missed the Alexander Graham Bell museum, and the Cabot Trail.
And talking about our host, John Pino, what a host! He is a man who is very proud of the history of Baddeck and of his origins. He is a fascinating raconteur, and we had the pleasure of hearing him talk about the origins of Broadwater Inn.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Inn, and wish we'd allowed more time to see the historic and beautiful sights of the area.

Room Tip: Of a group of four book the upstairs Library and Bay Rooms. One of the bathrooms is not directly att...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at The Broadwater in The Library room. Reached by very steep stairs, the room was huge with a lovely sitting area. The bathroom was modern with fluffy towels. Dorothy greeted us and was very helpful with restaurant recommendations. Minnie took care of us the next two days, always willing to refill our ice bucket and give us directions. The host, John, took care of us at breakfast with his stories and charm. We loved the location on the Bras D'Or Lake. A regatta was being held all week which made for some stunning photography. We loved walking through town and down to the wharf to watch the sailboats. There's much to do in the area. Could have easily spent 2 more nights!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PM45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed in the Library for 2 nights. The room is in the gable of the main house, and reached by perhaps the steepest stairs I have encountered. The Library contains a treasure trove of old National Geographic magazines, and could easily be a destination in its own right. The room was furnished with a large couch, double bed, and ample hanging space in a closet built in to one wall.
What makes Broadwater such an extraordinary property is its ubiquitous and effusive host, John Pino. We were regaled at breakfast with the history of Baddeck, and its association with Alexander Graham Bell. John could always go on the speaking circuit if he tires of the Inn, but that would be a loss to tourists keen to get under the skin of Baddeck.
The Inn has a great location, overlooking the water...and John's house! Baddeck itself is worth a look, especially down by the yacht club.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenstOat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
2.1 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
676 reviews
1.9 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
682 reviews
1.8 mi away
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
348 reviews
1.4 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#7 of 17 in Baddeck
112 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lynwood Inn
Lynwood Inn
#9 of 17 in Baddeck
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadwater Inn

Address: 975 Bay Rd., Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range: £78 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadwater Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Cape Breton Homestead in quiet setting along Baddeck Bay one and half mile east of village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Broadwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadwater Hotel Baddeck
Broadwater Inn Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing