We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The great innkeeper shares historical knowledge”
Review of Broadwater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broadwater Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We spent three awesome nights at this Bed and Breakfast in early September. The room was clean, and comfortable, and with the decorations it was a very homey feeling. Breakfast was served in the main house, with the Innkeeper John, serving both the breakfast and the historical tidbits of the area. The breakfasts were good, but the knowledge that you came away with was great. Suggestions on how to spend a day, places to visit, and roads to travel were also shared around the breakfast table. We would highly recommend an enjoyable stay here in Baddeck, thank you, John.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flutterby09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed three nights in the East Room at the Broadwater Inn. It was very enjoyable, great location just outside of Baddeck which is a central great place to stay while you are touring the Cabot trail (1 day) and the fortress of Louisbourg (1 day). Be sure to tour the Alexander Graham Bell Museum. This house has a lot of history and John, the host, knows all about it and explains it to you while eating breakfast. The room was basic, but very adequate and had a separate entry which was nice. John gives good advice on things to see in the area and good directions. A great host.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had a delightful 5 night stay in one of John's cottages at the Broadwater Inn. The accommodations were cozy and included a small electric fireplace. We were close to all the festivities of the International Celtic Festival of Colours and loved the close proximity to Beddeck, a great town on the shores of the lake. We are definitely returning to the Broadwater Inn!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEW1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We wished we could have stayed longer. John, the Innkeeper is amazing and we could listen to his stories for hours. He was most accommodating to my limitations and placed us in a cottage a short distance from the main house after I explained that stairs were a problem for me. When we arrived, John greeted us;checked us in, and we were taken aback when we asked what were the hours for breakfast (most Inns and B&Bs serve over a two hour period) - John stated 8 AM; he couldn't promise anything would be left if we came much later. Well, that was surprising, but we got there early and were ushered into breakfast with the other guests. And John started telling us about the building, the history of the area, prior guests and we all sat mesmerized. If you asked the right question, about a book or picture that would be the beginning of new information. We could have spent the day with him but we all had reservations and/or plans to see Cape Breton so we had to leave. I am looking forward to the book he said he is writing. The Broadwater Inn is a perfect spot from which to explore Cape Breton and John made suggestions that were perfect for dining and driving. Our cottage was clean and the bed was comfortable - be aware this is not a boutique B&B/Inn; it is comfortable, more like your grandparent's summer house on the shore or lake - but when we go back to Cape Breton - Broadwater Inn will be where we stay as long as "John the Innkeeper" is there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaguaroCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

John is a wonderful innkeeper ,friendly , accommodating staff. John remembered our previous visit from 10 years before with great detail so it's not like he went and checked his "guest book" just before we arrived.A truly wonderful place to stay and would highly recommend as a base to explore the Cabot Trail.
ps. This house is steeped in history - just ask John for the details !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowboarderColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at Broadwater for one night night on our travels through this region. On the positive side, this B&B is located just outside of town, near the water, and surrounded by lovely landscaping. The building is old, but has a certain charm that far outweighs the slightly uneven floors and old furniture. Our queen room, the Library, was very spacious. With multiple chairs and a couch, it could have almost been considered a suite. Unfortunately the room was a bit cool and the reading lights poor, but otherwise we had no complaints about the room.

On the negative side, we found the innkeeper quirky to the point of almost being rude. The day we arrived it was raining very heavily and not conducive to a lot of outside exploration. As a result, we arrived in Baddeck many hours earlier than expected. After visiting the nearby museum and having lunch in town, we tried to check into the B&B about 50 minutes early. Short of that, we were hoping to just sit in the common area and get warm and dry. The Innkeeper, John, told us that neither of those options were available and we needed to come back in an hour or possibly longer. So, we drove down the road and sat in our rental car and watched the nearby ferry boat. Needless to say, our first impression of Broadwater's hospitality was not positive.

A second problem was breakfast which was rigidly scheduled for 8 am where the innkeeper tightly managed the process. When folks at our table got up to help themselves, we started to join them - only to be chastised by John for not waiting for his introduction. When he started telling other folks a story and forgot about giving breakfast instruction, we finally gave up and went to the buffet.

So overall, we basically liked the Inn but were put off by the innkeeper. I'm hoping he just had an off day and this is not the typical way he treat guests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hhoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeBretonMusic, Owner at Broadwater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

I remember the reviewers request for an early check in, we do our best to deal with this and accommodate as logistically possible, I mentioned that the AG Bell museum (which got a 3/5 as well, that hurt more then us getting it ) and a cafe to grab lunch were the options to entertain until we were ready to check in. I offered 2:00 instead of 3:00 and the guest landed at 1:00.( two hours not 50 minutes early) the common area always has folks in it ,reading or emailing so I don`t know where no place to settle came from.It was pouring rain for most of the time the guest were here. I couldn`t control that .I wasn`t the one having the bad day.(if it rains on my holiday I dance in it) I don`t recall any dancing.......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here in August for 3 nights and would return in a heartbeat. John is so welcoming and friendly and he provides accommodations which are just perfect. We stayed in one of the cottages instead of the main house. Our space had a kitchen, living room/bedroom and a full bathroom. It was spacious and cozy all at once. We also had our own deck which overlooked the gorgeous grounds and afforded us the sunset views. It was clean, comfortable and so quiet. This is a property which was once owned by the Cunard family as well as Alexander Graham Bell. That is a nice historical touch. The location is perfect because it is so close to Baddeck and yet not in the midst of a lot of action. We are looking forward to returning sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
2.1 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
674 reviews
1.8 mi away
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
1.9 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#7 of 17 in Baddeck
112 reviews
1.6 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
348 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lynwood Inn
Lynwood Inn
#9 of 17 in Baddeck
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadwater Inn

Address: 975 Bay Rd., Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range: £86 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadwater Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Cape Breton Homestead in quiet setting along Baddeck Bay one and half mile east of village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Broadwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadwater Hotel Baddeck
Broadwater Inn Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing