We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Somewhere between heaven & earth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuonela Ski Village

Tuonela Ski Village
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baddeck
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tuonela Ski Village
Cape Breton Island, Canada
1 review
“Somewhere between heaven & earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The proprietors say that "Tuonela" is a Scandanavian word that describes a place that's "somewhere between heaven & earth." Well, that's as good a description as any of the experience at Ski Tuonela. Our wintertime visits to Tuonela (with & without the kids) are highlights of our year. Whether you're a first-timer or experienced XC skier, you won't forget your time here. The cabins (each with its distinct character) are intuitively designed for both comfort & utility, and the luxurious two-holer outhouse (complete with reading material) ensures that you won't be tempted to linger on those brisk minus-15 mornings and waste any skiing time. Many of the trails are challenging to the beginner, but as another reviewer mentioned, you can take them at your own pace. Chris & Anni's emphasis here is on having fun - and they & their crew do everything they can to establish an environment for you to have fun in. This is a place for outdoor winter enthusiasts who want to experience something that's one-of-a-kind with people of a like mind. You'll want to return as soon as you ski back down to earth.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Just spent new years at Ski Tuonela with 30 other fantastic guests and we all had a wonderful time. The weather was perfect with lots of snow and cold temperatures making the log fires in the comfortable cabins even more cozy. The nature surrounding the village was gorgeous and after some great skiing we settled into the main lodge for food, wine and great live music. It was the perfect way to ring in the new year. I'd recommend it for a nice weekend of great nature, fun, and great hospitality. Jeff and Setsuko Eagar

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary Ab
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband and I (in our sixties), our 3 adult children and 2 partners had a unique, active, and memorable mini ski vacation, Dec. 31-Jan.2. The New Years Eve meal, provided by the Ski Tuonela staff was a 5 course communal feast with live music.and was followed by amazing fireworks.
Our rustic chalet was equipped to sleep 8 on single width bunk-style beds. Duvets and bedding were provided and we were cozy and warm heated by the air-tight wood stove. The chalet was lit by 3 kerosene lamps and electric lights (sparingly used). The kitchen was adequately equipped with cooking utensils and a small 2 burner propane stove, in addition to the cook top surface of the wood stove. There is a 2-seater outhouse.The chalet that doubled as a banquet hall for the New Years Eve meal was converted to a games hall with darts, table tennis, crokinole and many other games which we, as a family, enjoyed.
Five of our group used cross country skis and snowshoes while 2 others had alpine touring skis which were perfect for this back-country experience. We would recommend using alpine touring, telemark or back country skis as it was very challenging for cross country gear.There was 152 cm snow base, most snow since 1962! The owners, staff and facilities made this a unique and memorable family vacation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jud O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Sydney, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

As a frequent day-skier and occasional over-nighter I can attest to the enduring appeal of this back-country ski haven. Skill and imagination are everywhere apparent – in the design and construction of the village, the cabins, and the extensive system of trails. Natural features are thoughtfully incorporated so that the experience becomes more than just exercise. A basic level of fitness suffices to reach the accommodations; anyone seeking a more a strenuous workout may set their own pace on the numerous loops and hills beyond. Those who wish to practice telemarking will have ample opportunity, although this skill is not necessary in order to navigate the system. Novice skiers may be intimidated by a few of the hills and turns, but you can always walk the tricky sections, and snowshoeing is an attractive alternative everywhere. Your encounter with the proprietor is likely to leave an impression. An intriguing, enchanting place. Put it on your bucket list. And don’t forget your camera.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 909peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
0.0 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 18 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auld Farm Inn B & B
Auld Farm Inn B & B
#2 of 18 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuonela Ski Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuonela Ski Village

Property: Tuonela Ski Village
Address: 49 864, Cabot Trail | Goose Cove, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ski Tuonela is a wilderness Village situated in the Boreal Forest at the foot of the Cape Breton Highlands, 4km off the Cabot Trail at Goose Cove, St. Ann's Bay.  We have 30km of trails for x-country skiing, and a Telemark Hill at the base of which lies the Village comprising nine Chalets, a games room, a central Lodge , Sauna and rental cabins. We are open January thru Easter for skiing and from Labor day thru Halloween for hiking, mountain biking, corporate & other wilderness activities.  ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tuonela Ski Village Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing