We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like home :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hunter's Mountain Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed at Hunter Mountain October 4-7/2012 we had a wonderful time the cottage was beautiful and had everything you would ever need :) up the road about 20 minutes we found gocarts and mini golf was lots of fun!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joudreysabrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed in a two-bedroom unit, not really a chalet, which we shared with another couple, for three nights. It was at one end of a row of four units, whose porches abutted one another. Unfortunately, the other units were occupied for the first nights of our stay by a very noisy extended family, who sat on their porch most of the day and into the night talking extremely loudly. We could cut out part of the noise by closing our living room windows, but that would have left us without any fresh air during the hottest summer they've had in that area in recent years, We asked the owner/host to speak to them, which he did, but it didn't do much good. At least the final day of our visit was peaceful.

Aside from that, and the two sofabeds, which I'll talk about in a minute, the accommodations were excellent. The large, nicely decorated living room contained the aforementioned sofabeds, a coffee table a flat-screen TV, a fake fireplace and panelled walls. The dining area had a large table and six chairs. Each bedroom had a king-sized bed, night tables, dresser, closet and a rather noisy ceiling fan. The decent-sized bathroom had a tub/shower and a small cabinet. All the rooms had very good lighting, which is often lacking in vacation rentals. The porch had a table, six chairs and a barbecue, the latter shared with the adjacent unit.

The kitchen contained an electric oven, refrigerator, microwave, electric kettle, toaster and adequate cooking, serving and eating utensils for six people.

Back to the sofabeds. One of our party decided that he wanted to sleep on one, for reasons I won't go into. He said it felt like sleeping on bare springs. We mentioned this to the owner, and he said he was in the process of ordering replacements.

There were extensive grounds around the chalets containing a number of marked hiking paths of varying lengths through the woods.

BTW, the very friendly owner travelled around the units and grounds on a segway, and those devices were available for rent.

There is a pay phone in the office, and feeders for hummngbirds, many of which hovered around them.

This would have been a great stay, except for our noisy neghbors, but that was just bad luck, and I can't fault the accommodation for that.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coffeemavenswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Delightful stay, which we enjoyed so much we extended from two to three days, and wished we could have stayed longer whilst we explored the Cabot Trail. Whilst not quite in the luxury class, we stayed in a two bedroom apartment with our adult daughter, it was very comfortable and clean, and we all appreciated having our own space. The first night we ate our in town, but as the Chalets are about 10 to 12 minutes drive out of Baddeck, the last two nights we bought up supplies in town, and made full use of the cooking and bar-b-que facilities. Some delightful walks around the property if you are not "walked out" after doing the Cabot Trail, or you can take advantage of the Segway hire option if you want to do them the easy way.

Room Tip: Trust Roland to look after your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burdekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

In July, six of us, two Canadians and four Australians, spent one day in this resort. The location was excellent: close to amenities, but in the country with a great view of the surrounding area. Roland and his family were great hosts. We found the chalets very clean and well equiped to prepare meals and relax. Our Australian friends appreciated the calm after having spent 27 hours of flying time to get there and that does not count the wait at airports. I would highly recommend this resort if you want the peace and quiet of the country. One glitch that needs attention: the two bedrooms were excellent, but the hid-a-bed for the 3rd couple was awful: it was lumpy, you could feel the support bar in the middle as well as the springs. I would not recommend it for six people, but four would be great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandPalmizi, General Manager at Hunter's Mountain Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Thank you for choosing Hunter's Mountain Chalets for your stay on Cape Breton Island. We appreciate your nice comments, as well as your constructive criticism. We always strive to improve to make your stay with us special.
As far as the the Futon/hide-a-beds in the living rooms are concerned, we replaced them with new and better ones in Fall of 2012. So next time you and your friends, hopefully, find your way back to Hunter's Mountain Chalets, a great sleep will await you, even the ones sleeping on the Futon's in the living room.

Kind Regards
Roland Palmizi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We loved it, nice place, central for the Cabot Trail, Baddeck, Louisbourg, Cheticamp. Really quiet place and clean, everything in the chalet, No AC, but the night in Nova Scotia could refresh the rooms. You can rent Seagway on site and have a nice experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stéphane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Very spacious apartments - good to have separate bedroom and living area. Well equipped kitchen with two ring hob (no oven) and a lovely deck outside with gas barbecue - one BBQ supplied per two apartments. No air-conditioning, but very quiet ceiling fan in bedroom. Beds quite firm. Mesh screens on windows so you can leave the windows open at night. Peaceful setting, set back from the road. Several well marked walking trails in the grounds. Nearest restaurant about 2km away and Baddeck about 10km. Wi-fi worked well in our room, though we were the nearest room to the office - don't know if that made a difference.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Very comfortable housekeeping cottages, great location, lovely grounds with hiking trails and beautiful view. You have your own patio with table and gas grill. Roland, Anton and family are super. You can take a Segway tour which is awesome. I would go back here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol/Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
32.2 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
5.2 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
676 reviews
32.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
30.4 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
5.6 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter's Mountain Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter's Mountain Chalets

Address: 562 Cabot Trail | R.r. #3, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Baddeck
Price Range: £74 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunter's Mountain Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hunter's Mountain Chalets offers 12 1- and 2-Bdrm. housekeeping cottages and apartments; all with king bed, 4-pc. bathroom, spacious living and dining room and kitchen. Centrally located on Cape Breton Island, your ideal headquarters for your daily trips around Cape Breton Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hunter's Mountain Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter's Mountain Chalets Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing