We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in town”
Review of Water's Edge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Water's Edge Inn
Ranked #8 of 17 Baddeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best location in town”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The staff were five star friendly and the location is ideal. Our studio was spacious, comfortable and faced the water. We went kayaking from right outside our front door. The free wifi never worked in our room, which is important because cell reception is very poor in Baddeck. We were impressed with the locally made gluten free toast.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    27
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
67
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Water's Edge is right by the harbour - they own the property across the road which undeveloped so views/access are not impacted. We had a room upstairs at the back so it was quiet and well furnished. As a family of 3 there were some places that were challenged to accommodate without a second room, and Water's Edge easily accommodated with a pull-out couch.

The gallery downstairs is really beautiful! The talents in the region are well represented with a great variety of materials - something for every taste. They ship anywhere in the world and know how to ensure your piece gets to where it's going unbroken and no worse for wear. They ship massive glass dishes to Singapore every year so they have the experience.

The breakfast was included in the room rate, and they really went all out! They set up a buffet with cereals, muffins, breads, fresh spreads, yogurt, fruit and even a waffle maker. The hospitality here was outstanding!

Baddeck is small and very walkable. The A.G. Bell Centre is only a 10 minute walk from Water's Edge. The main street offers a great many shops and restaurants to choose from. In the summer they have nightly ceilidhs at the community centre at the far end of town (again, walkable) and this is one event you must experience!

Room Tip: If you want to see the harbour, just ask for a room with a view. They have exits covered (emergency...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights, and loved it. Our room (2) was on the first floor, with steps up to one side of the hall and a ramp up yo the other - handy for heavy cases. It was large and nicely (if simply), with a huge and comfortable bed.

Some nice touches: Venetian blinds that closed up or down, nice for privacy; artwork on the walls, for sale; fridge and wine glasses as well as coffee maker; and most of all a large balcony with a couple of chairs where you can sit, sip chilled Nova Scotia wine from the liquor store and watch harbour life unfold (we used a small table for drinks). Good sized bathroom. Excellent AC (it was hot while we were there).

Very good breakfast - fresh waffles, good strong coffee and the best bread we'd had in Nova Scotia, along with banana bread, fruit, muffins etc, served by the friendly and helpful Julie.

Location is excellent: on the harbour, but quiet at night. Wifi free, though not strong enough to stream video.

All in all, excellent.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a better view than Room 1, though there's not too much in it. Same principle upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in June at the Waters Edge Inn. From the outside the building looks a little tired, but we were really impressed with our room which was Room 2 (located in the next door building). Really large, spacious room with great views over the water. Had all the usual amenities and the bed was huge and really comfortable. Breakfast was lovely - home baked muffins, different breads and waffles and there was always fruit and yoghurts too. We met Mairi (owner) who was lovely and also Julie (if I remember the name correctly) who served breakfast in the mornings. They were both really helpful and were great on giving advice as to where to eat in evenings, what to see/do etc.... Baddeck is a great base for touring Cape Breton - we managed to see loads whilst there and I would definitely recommend staying at the Water's Edge. Thank you for a great time!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMRSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgehampton
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

There's a well kept secret about Cape Breton - the best place to stay is the Water's Edge Inn in Baddeck. What makes it the best? Location, location, location: It's in the center of Cape Breton, it's in a town, AND it's on the water with a wonderful view of the harbor and it's lighthouse.

Only a few miles from the entrance to the Cabot Trail, Baddeck is a lovely town with restaurants, shops, sailing, and the Alexander Graham Bell Museum. The important word in that sentence is "town" because there are not many towns around the Cabot Trail and those that do exist tend to close down around the end of the season. If it's cloudy or rainy one day, being in Baddeck, provides you with options - to drive around the Bras d'Or Lake, visit the Louisbourg Fort, wander around a real Highland Village, amble through the Bell museum, or simply stay in town and enjoy a long leisurely lunch. Baddeck has easy access to it all, and is home to the little gem called the Water's Edge Inn.

Water's Edge is comprised of multiple buildings, a new building that has several rooms, an art gallery and a dining room for the Inn's guests, and a building next door (green) that has a studio apartment on the top floor. That is where we stayed for four wonderful nights. The sunrises we saw from our water-front window were very simply breath-taking, casting the Baddeck Lighthouse in a perfect silhouette. The apartment gave us lots of room for all our gear (this is a 30-day photography trip), the full kitchen allowed us to eat at home for a couple of meals, and the brand new flat-screen TV enabled us to view our photos after each day's shoot. Simple, clean, convenient, and comfortable - we were very happy here.

Breakfast every day was home made muffins, breads and waffles, fresh fruit and yogurt, juice and coffee, and you are greeted by one of the family of Innkeepers. Camilla, Michael and their daughter Mairi run the Inn and are the most genuinely friendly people we've ever met traveling. They are full of suggestions on where to go, what to see, and which way to travel the Trail (counter-clockwise), and they seem genuinely interested in hearing what you think of what you saw in their little corner of heaven.

Room Tip: Make sure to request "a room with a view" ... of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDWBridgehampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

A great location by the water and convenient for driving the Cabot trail. Enjoyed the gallery -a nice selection of artists. The room was fine, but nothing special. Breakfast was a disappointment -stale breads (maybe a few days old?), waffles and a fruit cup. We expected more for the price. The hosts were pleasant, but we wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TucsonGal47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Water's Edge Inn. The rooms were sufficient but rather spartan. The Manager was not there and she had left 2 young women in charge who were not helpful and did not have the ability to make decisions. We knew we were going to have to move rooms after the second night due to earlier reservations but were moved the second day to the new room which had not been vacuumed. There were a few other problems but, since the manager was not on site, we were not able to speak with the her. We wanted to check out the afternoon of our last night and the young woman did not know what to do. She called the Manager, who came in to meet with us. We told her we wanted to leave early the next morning as we had a long drive to Annapolis Royal. She told us she would be there at 7:30 am the next morning to prepare coffee for us. We waited until 7:35 and then decided to leave rather than wait.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
0.7 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
589 reviews
1.4 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auld Farm Inn B & B
Auld Farm Inn B & B
#2 of 17 in Baddeck
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Gisele's Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Inn

Property: Water's Edge Inn
Address: 22 Water St | P. O Box 829, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Water's Edge Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small charming Inn on the waterfront at Baddeck with it's own famous art and craft gallery. Complimentary breakfast with an outstanding menu of home-baked, natural selection. An Inn, small enough to take your needs seriously. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Water's Edge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water's Edge Inn Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing