We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Baddeck
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Ann's Motel & Cottage
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This motel has everything you want for a pleasant stay. Our room was spacious and very clean. Very comfortable bed. Huge picture window with a fantastic view of the bay. Mini fridge. A coffee maker with real ground coffee (not the paper bag stuff), and a whole jar of coffee whitener rather than the little packets you get at some hotels/motels. Real spoons(not the plastic stir sticks). In addition to a desk and office chair, the room had a table and two comfortable chairs. Outside we had two chairs outside our door on the porch as well as two muskoka chairs and a picnic table in the back to sit at and view the bay. Free wifi. A larger than normal screen TV. I'm sure I missed listing a few things. The owner has obviously given a lot of thought to setting this place up and has added the little touches that make a difference. We found him to be a very friendly and accommodating person.
If want to see bald eagles this is the place to come to.
The perfect place to stay at the start or end of your trip on the Cabot Trail.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tedjp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for St Ann's Motel & Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

I am not a Motel person - I normally consider them to be run down and dumpy. However, after staying at this place, I will definitely consider staying at motels in the future! We selected this Motel based on TripAdvisor reviews, and were not disappointed. It is well maintained, and the rooms are clean. It has great views, and is in a great location. It is not in Baddeck, it is about an 8 minute drive out of town. But it is situated right at the beginning of the Cabot Trail, so is a great place to stay no matter what direction you are heading; it is central on the island. My only issues were that the pillows were too thin (but luckily we brought our own) and there was a huge spider on my towel when I got out of the shower! They do have free WiFi which is good. We would stay here again if in the area!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrinceAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Clean and comfortable, this little gem of a motel provides a remarkable waterfront view from your window. We were passing through heading to the ferry at N. Sydney which is 30 minutes away. If you are traveling the Cabot Trail you won't be disappointed with a night here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoaminHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Completely agree with most of the latest comments.
Yes, it's a motel, which means it's pretty basic with no frills, however it's spotlessly clean, large room (we were in #3) and a fabulous view! The water laps the shore literally 10 feet from the large windows that overlook the bay (one of the most beautiful one's I've ever seen), and waking up in the morning and looking out over the water and seeing a beautiful bald eagle circling a few feet above the motel looking for its breakfast has got to be one of the hi lights of our trip!!
The owners were extremely accommodating, to the extent of going in to town (about 12 miles away) to fetch a package from the post office for us!
If you intend to tour the Cabot trail this would be the perfect place to stay as it is ideally situated at the junction of the trail with the highway.
The Englishtown ferry, just a short hop up the road is also very convenient for cutting across to Ingonish and the northern section of the trail.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WanderingFungi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed her based on previous reviews. The room was much more spacious then you would think from the outside. Very clean and comfortable. Great view of St. Ann's Bay. Had problems with the Wifi but it must have been an incompatibility with my laptop because it worked fine in the motel office. Friendly owners and most accommodating. Would be even better if there was a decent restaurant nearby but Baddeck was only a short drive away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teach3258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Let's call a spade a spade. This is a motel. It's on the side of the highway. You are going to have a little road noise in your room. The sheets are, well, motel sheets. The bathroom doesn't have designer soap (But it WAS very clean!). To be completely honest, It's a little over priced...but as they say in real estate, location location location.

The real selling point to this place is the fact when you open your window, you can forget all that because you have one of the nicest views I've ever seen from a hotel room - directly onto the beautiful waterfront. We also had a lovely welcome from the proprietor who is a very friendly gentleman and easy to deal with.

My one tip - on the website, it says it's a 5 minute walk to the Gaelic Cottage. We found it longer than that. I also strongly suggest that if you try to do this walk in the dark, bring a flashlight. My husband walked right by me on the side of the road! Overall, good stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaperGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night here. When we arrived, we felt very welcome. The view from our room was so beautiful. Each room has a very large window that faces out, onto the lake. When we woke up in the morning, it was wonderful to look out at the lake.
Our room was very clean and we had 2 single beds. We had a fridge which was a bonus. Parking is at your door and you are also provided with chairs and a table, if you wish to sit out front.
At night we drove to Boularderie and ate at the Cedar House Bakery and Restaurant. Our meal was delicious and we would recommend it. Breakfast wasn't included.
We would stay here again if we were in the area and would recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharonkai48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
11.2 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
655 reviews
35.0 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
11.0 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Trailsman Motel
Trailsman Motel
#6 of 7 in Baddeck
200 reviews
10.7 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
333 reviews
12.8 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Ann's Motel & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Ann's Motel & Cottage

Address: 51947 Cabot Trail | RR4, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
St Ann`s Motel & Cottage Hotel Baddeck
St Ann`s Motel And Cottage
St Ann's Motel & Cottage Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing