We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Baddeck
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Ann's Motel & Cottage
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

If you're anywhere near the Cabot Trail, this motel will surprise you. The room (#7) was great. Well equipped and a view to die for right over the water. I was alone but in good company you would be inspired for sure.

Room Tip: All rooms are basically the same, they look out over the water and if a noisy truck drives by, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingTartar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Very clean motel room with large picture window that faced the water - saw eagles perching and flying. Sat outside to watch the sunset and wildlife. Road noise could be heard in the room. At end of Cabot Trail and near college, but not much else around. Not in downtown Baddeck.

Room Tip: All the rooms have large picture windows that face the water - pretty view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We spent two nights at the St. Anne's Motel and were fortunate to get the housekeeping unit. A picture window and deck looked out onto St. Ann's Bay - a wonderful little spot to sit and have a glass of wine at the end of a day on the Cabot Trail. Owners Doug and Christine Coolen were very accommodating and we learned all about the pair of bald eagles Doug has been feeding for the past 14?? years. He feeds them twice a day, much to the delight of those visiting. There's a restaurant next door that's quite good, but having the housekeeping unit, we barbecued steaks one night and enjoyed a home-cooked meal. The unit is equipped with everything you need to make this possible. The rates are reasonable and a great place for those looking for nice clean accommodations, a beautiful setting and friendly service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at St. Ann's Motel. This was our second stop on the Cabet trail. In both cases we found very clean rooms - our number 1 requirement. The rooms had a large window looking out on a beautiful water view.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BillSweeney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This motel has everything you want for a pleasant stay. Our room was spacious and very clean. Very comfortable bed. Huge picture window with a fantastic view of the bay. Mini fridge. A coffee maker with real ground coffee (not the paper bag stuff), and a whole jar of coffee whitener rather than the little packets you get at some hotels/motels. Real spoons(not the plastic stir sticks). In addition to a desk and office chair, the room had a table and two comfortable chairs. Outside we had two chairs outside our door on the porch as well as two muskoka chairs and a picnic table in the back to sit at and view the bay. Free wifi. A larger than normal screen TV. I'm sure I missed listing a few things. The owner has obviously given a lot of thought to setting this place up and has added the little touches that make a difference. We found him to be a very friendly and accommodating person.
If want to see bald eagles this is the place to come to.
The perfect place to stay at the start or end of your trip on the Cabot Trail.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tedjp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I am not a Motel person - I normally consider them to be run down and dumpy. However, after staying at this place, I will definitely consider staying at motels in the future! We selected this Motel based on TripAdvisor reviews, and were not disappointed. It is well maintained, and the rooms are clean. It has great views, and is in a great location. It is not in Baddeck, it is about an 8 minute drive out of town. But it is situated right at the beginning of the Cabot Trail, so is a great place to stay no matter what direction you are heading; it is central on the island. My only issues were that the pillows were too thin (but luckily we brought our own) and there was a huge spider on my towel when I got out of the shower! They do have free WiFi which is good. We would stay here again if in the area!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrinceAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Clean and comfortable, this little gem of a motel provides a remarkable waterfront view from your window. We were passing through heading to the ferry at N. Sydney which is 30 minutes away. If you are traveling the Cabot Trail you won't be disappointed with a night here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoaminHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
11.3 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
676 reviews
14 mi away
MacNeil's Motel
MacNeil's Motel
#3 of 4 in North Sydney
27 reviews
16 mi away
Trailsman Motel
Trailsman Motel
#6 of 7 in Baddeck
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
348 reviews
11 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
682 reviews
29.8 mi away
Fair Isle Motel
Fair Isle Motel
#1 of 2 in Whycocomagh
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Ann's Motel & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Ann's Motel & Cottage

Address: 51947 Cabot Trail | Rr4, Baddeck, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
St Ann`s Motel & Cottage Hotel Baddeck
St Ann`s Motel And Cottage
St Ann's Motel & Cottage Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing