We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible customer service”
Review of High Wheeler Cafe

High Wheeler Cafe
Ranked #3 of 30 Restaurants in Baddeck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Horrible customer service”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Ate here just last week while passing through baddeck. Expecting to recieve a delicious meal at the high wheeler cafe , I ended up two hairs in my food and told a staff member that waited on me that there was hair on my food and her response was " well thats not good" while walking away.

Generally i would not let a hair in my food bother me , however it was the unbelieveable response and customer service that i recieved I was not given an apology nor was I offered a refund.or replaced meal. She simply replied "thats not good" and walked away.

All in all good food , very poor customer service... will not return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phrozt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    97
    28
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
172 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Awesome Sandwiches”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

A lovely Main Street cafe serving up hearty sandwiches (scones, and bakery items) which can be enjoyed on site or as take away to be enjoyed while on the Cabot Trail.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanetJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast and desserts”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A good find in Baddeck for light fare. Highly recommend the apple struedel and the breakfast egg sandwich!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Little Gem for breakfast.”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had breakfast here twice. The little bakery makes the most wonderful cinnamon rolls, bran muffins and granola bars. We took the granola bars on the Cabot Trail with us. The gentleman who runs the place is so nice. Oh, and the coffee is great. They open early, too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sooner78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
221 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very good sandwiches but be prepared to wait”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Ordered two sandwiches to go. Quite a long queue when we arrived showing how popular the cafe is but the. Had a 25 minute further wait for sandwiches to be made up and brought up. I had ordered a simple egg salad and partner ordered chorizo. Was surprised at the wait as it was meant to be a quick stop before doing other sightseeing. Sandwiches were very tasty and filling when we eventually got them!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tandemania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed High Wheeler Cafe also viewed

Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to High Wheeler Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing