We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaside Whale Cruise”
Review of Whale Cruisers

Whale Cruisers
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Seaside Whale Cruise”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I went on the Saturday night 5:00 whale watching cruise. Luckily for me, Saturday nights are their slowest time. The boat was practically empty -- just 6 adults and 3 kids! It was great. We were all able to move about the boat and take pictures. We saw a ton of pilot whales and a few tuna. The tour guide was very friendly and chatty, as was the captain. Great way to get off your feet after a long day of hiking. You get a small % off the admission fee if you are staying at a Cheticamp motel.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful experience, lots of whales”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

It was my first time whale watching and it was a great experience. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and we saw at least 6 whales 30 feet away from us. It was a great experience and I would definitely do it again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank janet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good whale watch!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Went to whale cruisers who offered a 2.5-3 hr cruise for 2 adults and 2 kids for less that $100, which suited the budget. Waves were very high and other services weren't going out, but these guys said they would....we were nervous, but the cruise turned out to be great fun, with big waves making the boat toss and turn like a roller coaster. Kids loved it and it was a beautiful sunny day - where else would you want to be rather than on the water? Coastline views more than made up for the lack of whale sightings. Because we didn't see whales, we even got a voucher for a free return trip for all 4 of us at some future date.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A worthwhile cruise where you will always see whales”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is a fun trip to see pilot whales. Cal the captain went out of his way to show us a place where bald eagles like to nest too when he heard that my husband loves birds. The captain and his crew are easy going and a lot of fun and we had a great experience. I would definitely recommend it as a fun outing with experienced sailors who can definitely find the whales. The captain is quite a character with a phenomenal sense of humour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rhobru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Whales galore!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We went whale watching the morning of July 31, 2013 with Whale Cruisers and had a great experience with our two children (9 and 5). The crew of the boat were great fun and very knowledgeable about the whales we saw and others we may have come across during the cruise. The spotters were excellent with the kids and kept them engaged even before we got lucky enough to see at least 30 pilot whales! Overall we had a great experience with Whale Cruisers and would recommend it to friends.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wannabe_Maritimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whale Cruisers also viewed

Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 
Pleasant Bay, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Whale Cruisers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing