We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Light lunch”

All Aboard Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Cheticamp
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Light lunch”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Found this restaurant while sight seeing on the Cabot trail & decided to stop & give it a try. The atmosphere was great, I can imagine what a lively place this restaurant would be when there are musicians playing East Coast music in the corner! Our server was very friendly & we had our food & drinks in no time! We were very pleased with our menu choices & my cola was served with a mason jar for that extra down home touch! If you are travelling through Cheticamp & looking for a place to stop & have a bite to eat, I highly recommend All Aboard restaurant! I wouldn't hesitate to return here in the future!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msgordon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    112
    28
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“So Nice We did it Twice”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were made to feel like we were family by Sharon in this local casual restaurant serving fresh lobster, crab legs, scallops, and other wonderful gifts from the sea. This is the kind of restaurant that does not mess up what is essentially great food simply made, by trying to add extraneous ingredients, The Chowda was my kind of chowder, not a lot of cream and butter but rather a taste of the sea and wonderful fragrance of the ocean, filled with lobster, cod, small chunks of potatoes. It does not get much better.

For those of us more familiar with New England Clam Chowder, this is not it, do not expect it. The Cape Breton Chowder is a fish and seafood chowder and stands on it's on. I love the difference and it is different in every restaurant, All Aboard had one of the best.

So after a local beer and a glass of local wine and the friendliness of the atmosphere and the homemade goodness of the food you start to feel like you are in a friends home for a big party.

There is never a good party without good music and All Aboard has good music. The first evening we were there we were blessed with Chrissy Crowley on fiddle and Kathleen Leblanc on keyboards.

The two of them played almost non-stop and more importantly played well, very well. Chrissy is a truly gifted and hard working musician. We feel lucky to have heard her play live and just a few feet from us. What a treat.

What makes this restaurant work is the fresh and simply served local seafood, the reasonable prices, the welcoming atmosphere, the great friendly service, the music.

If you are in Cheticamp this is the one restaurant you should try.

And maybe like us you will find it so nice you will do it twice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank h2oworks2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Eats”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Solid option among but a few alternatives off-season. I had the pan fried haddock (very good) while my wife had the pasta (so-so). Friendly, quick service was appreciated.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IstvanOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoy the music.”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Food was good not great but the music was wonderful. We had a very generous portion of mussels for an apetizer and good but not great fish.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul11804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roebling, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“If visiting Cheticamp this is a "must do"”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

It is rare to walk into a restaurant when traveling and get that immediate feeling that you're one of the locals. All Aboard is one of those places. And the food is very good, the staff welcoming and friendly. We will return any time we are in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tlwright19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed All Aboard Restaurant also viewed

Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 
Pleasant Bay, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to All Aboard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing