We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!!!”
Review of Soleil Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Soleil Chalets
Reviewed 9 June 2013

On checking in we were met by the manager Geraldine (love her!). Like her establishment she is just the best, friendly, helpful, funny. The view was amazing. Watching the sun set into the ocean was breathtaking; that in itself would be worth the visit! The people of Cheticamp are very warm and welcoming. The cabin we stayed in was perfect for four people. Clean, well supplied with anything you needed, great sleep, and there are BBQ's to use! Geraldine is full of information on the area, funny and helpful stories. I would not stay anywhere but here, I can't say enough about the cabins, how clean and homey they were. It was the best place I have ever stayed!!

We had one truly amazing time! and hope to do it again in the very near future...I can see this becoming an annual affair! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

We spent one night here and it was wonderful. We had arranged to stay in a friend's cottage in Cheticamp but when we arrived, it was infested with mice! I started calling around frantically but most places were too expensive for us. Finally a woman very helpfully told me to call Geraldine and tell her Yvette told me to call (thank you, Yvette!). Geraldine was wonderful and she had a cabin available. The cabin was great, two double beds, a small fridge, a two burner stove. The temperature dropped to zero overnight, and the cabin was nice and cosy and warm. It was well stocked with pots and pans and dishes and we made a nice supper. The cabin was super clean! I think it was much cleaner than my own home ever is :) The towels smelled really nice, the shower was a good one. We could see the sun set just across the road on the water. My older daughters walked down to Timmies in the evening for fun and I went down in the morning to get some coffee. Everyone I met said good morning to me, it is a super friendly place. Geraldine is lovely also, I found her to be so genuine and friendly and helpful.. We only were staying one night, but you could easily settle into these cabins for a longer term stay and be quite happy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingmomquebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

After checking just about every other accomodation in Cheticamp, we managed to get the last cottage left (#1 with 2 rooms with double beds and kichenette - for $115/night tax included) at Les Cabinets du Portage.

First off, I have to say that Géraldine (the manager) was the nicest person we met on our trip. She was charming, friendly and welcoming and she gave us plenty of information and helpful tips about the place (without us having to ask). She even offered to give a ride to the restaurant!

The cottage was very clean (and even smelled awesome - something I haven't seen anywhere else). There's free wifi. A large fridge, stove, microwave - just about anything you need. Note that coffee is not provided.

We were glad there weren't any rooms left at Laurie's ($120); glad we decided that Ocean Views Chalets was too expensive ($160) and glad we turned down Frank's because the room was tiny (although it was only $70).

WE LOVED THIS PLACE! We wished we could have stayed longer and we definitely recommend this place to everyone. Book in advance since there are only 10 chalets.

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ClaudeL56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Village acadien ou la francophonie est à l'honneur.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalilouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank tytybenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheticamp hotels
0.3 mi away
Ocean View Motel & Chalets
0.3 mi away
Pilot Whale Chalets
Pilot Whale Chalets
#1 of 9 in Cheticamp
90 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Laurie's Motor Inn
Laurie's Motor Inn
#6 of 7 in Cheticamp
218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabot Trail Sea and Golf Chalets
2.6 mi away
Auberge Doucet Inn
Auberge Doucet Inn
#5 of 8 in Cheticamp
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soleil Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soleil Chalets

Address: 15660 Cabot Trail Rd, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia, Canada (Formerly Les Cabines du Portage)
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cheticamp
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Cheticamp
Price Range: £109 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Soleil Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Soleil Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soleil Chalets Cheticamp, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing