We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Acadian Restaurant - CLOSED

Acadian Restaurant
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Cute, home-cooked cultural food! All three of us in our party had something different (after deliberating for a really long time since everything looked amazing) and all of us really enjoyed it. The toffee was so delicious. Very well priced. We would most certainly return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The food is some of the best I have ever had at a restaurant.Absolutly Acadian food according to my wife who is French decendant of the area.Homemade bread and very cheerful and pleasant staff.This is the cleanest restaurant I have ever visited.I will return when I am back in Cheticamp.We spent less than 30.00 after tip for a great meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank carteego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, PEI
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good food but a bit pricey”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I was reading through the reviews and noted that most folks who would not be used to Acadian food don't seem to like the food here. This is authentic Acadian food and it is delicious. We are PEI Acadians and although the names of food are sometimes different, it was very much the same as PEI Acadian food. One thing I did find though was that the blood pudding was a bit dry and this might just be personal preference, my mom used to make it and it wasn't dry but moist.

You have to try the cookies for dessert, they are awesome!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juanita_PEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acad1enne, Owner at Acadian Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Hi Juanita, thank you so much for your review. We are in a transition this year so we've been experimenting with the menu but I do agree that the cookies are a hit! The Acadian sugar and molasses cookies as grand mère use to bake, the delicious cinnamon rolls that literally melt in your mouth and we've recently added the popular jam jam.
I've noted the dryness of the blood pudding, thank you so much for your input. Your comments help us reach further into the pot of perfection. We hope to welcome you again! Bonne soirée :0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pictou, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful to see the Costumes”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The women who work in the restaurant are all in Acadian costumes, which was great to see. Your meal starts off with fresh homemade bread and molasses butter. The meat pie and the chicken fricot were usual and we thoroughly enjoyed our food.
If you go into the gift shop next door, there is free WIFI available.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heath1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Acadian Food and Charming”
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

We lucked out and just picked this place Very homey and tasteful food Stewed chicken with light gravy and fresh vegetables superb Meat pie very good too , get some gravy on side for knockout meal Salad was ridiculously beautiful and fresh with the French dressing like no other, mild and herbful Craft folk art store attached, from an Ohio couple

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GAS5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Acadian Restaurant also viewed

Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing