We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of Cheticamp!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Wind Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Wind Suites
Ranked #4 of 8 Cheticamp B&B and Inns
Lancaster, South Carolina
1 review
“Best of Cheticamp!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Bay Wind Suites are the best accommodations in Cheticamp. We stayed in the Highlands Suite. It had plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 teenagers. There was a nice kitchen with everything needed to stay a week. The living room and bedroom were nice sizes and the closet in the bedroom was huge! There was plenty of room for suitcases so we never felt cramped. The bathroom was awesome with a huge tub. The owners were very pleasant and more than willing to assist when needed. They even came back late due to our late arrival.

If you are an American, please note that hotels in Nova Scotia are not what we typically expect with the words "suites" and "resorts". We had to ask when we were out of anything with the exception of towels including coffee, toilet tissue, etc. I did read this in an older review below and am glad I did; otherwise, I would not have liked that.

This hotel is a great place to stay when visiting the Cape Breton National Park for an extended period of time. It is very close to the entrance of the park and in walking distance to a pizza restaurant for nights when you're too tired to go out.

I don't want to put a negative review for kids activities, spa, or fitness center because these things just don't exist in Cheticamp. If you are going to the national park, leave the very small kids at home. They will be bored to death here. This hotel is great for couples and families with older children. In my opinion, this would be a great honeymoon spot for active couples

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgcatoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    27
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
47
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire England
Level Contributor
306 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Everyone at Bay Winds was very welcoming. We arrived on a cold foggy June afternoon but were soon revived by Suzanne with hot soup and hot chocolate. We stayed for 4 nights in the Lighthouse suite. The accommodation is still somewhat 'work in progress' but had all required facilities including bath robes and good heating which was needed for the chilly evenings. The food upstairs in the Harbour Restaurant - also owned by Lorraine and family - is excellent. My wife particularly enjoyed the scallops and lobster. Steaks and the ubiquitous fish and chips were also very good. It's a great location for exploring the Cape Breton Highlands National Park which we certainly did.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IPA_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acushnet, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

What a beautiful place Cheticamp is. We stayed for 3 nights in the Deveau suite. It was clean and peaceful! I would stay again, only thing that was strange was having to ask for towels and maid service for the room.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmic101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mapua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
254 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

We spent 5 nights here and used it as a base for walking some tracks in the national Park. We loved it here, our suite, the Lighthouse suite was just perfect and we were sad to leave here. We will definately stay here again

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bevchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
461 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

Stayed in the Lighthouse Suite which is below the restaurant. Sounded like they were vacuuming at 7am with hand vacuum so a bit noisy then. Shower had hot water but pressure could have been better. Pleasant view from room. Wifi had good service when it worked which was sporadic. Very friendly staff. Thought it was very overpriced after staying elsewhere in the Cape and NS.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RBonTheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creston, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2009

For us it was worth the splurge. The suite felt new and very clean. Have the suite over the river was great views from both rooms. Most likely the only jacuzzi tub I have ever felt was clean enough to use, the self cleaning feature made me feel good about it. Had an exceptional meal in the restaurant below.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2005

We stayed for two nights. Very nice and clean room, with comfortable bed and two person jacuzzi bath. Dave the owner was very friendly and helpful, showed us things in suite and how to operate. Made sure we were comfortable. We stayed in the Deveau Suite. Upstairs from restaurant - very quiet - no noise from street or restaurant. The first night we ate at Gabriel -someone told us to try it - staff friendly but food so so. The second night we ate at the Baywind Restaurant - excellent food. The scallops were fresh and very sweet. Dave came over to our table to make sure everything was ok and if we needed anything. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE! Breakfast was excellent also. They deliver to your room when you specify the time you would like breakfast. Very nice and relaxing - would go back again and suggest everyone to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john_dallas_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheticamp
30.6 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
2.8 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.5 mi away
Auberge Doucet Inn
Auberge Doucet Inn
#3 of 8 in Cheticamp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Laurie's Motor Inn
Laurie's Motor Inn
#6 of 7 in Cheticamp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean View Motel & Chalets
0.7 mi away
Cabot Trail Sea and Golf Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Wind Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Wind Suites

Property: Bay Wind Suites
Address: 15299 Cabot Trail, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cheticamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cheticamp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Wind Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bay Wind Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Wind Suites Cheticamp, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing