We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Cozy”
Review of Bay Wind Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Wind Suites
Ranked #4 of 7 Cheticamp B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Lovely spot. Clean and comfortable. In a convenient location. Nice restaurant. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NflderAndCaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

We arrived in Cheticamp after a very foggy drive and were delighted with our suite! We booked the Bayview suite. It had a living room, separate bedroom and large bathroom with a two person jetted tub. The extra touches of bathrobes, candles and a fully stocked bar fridge were much appreciated. The view of the small harbor was wonderful...watched several bald eagles chasing the gulls!! Our seafood dinner in the restaurant was fantastic. The snow crab steamed perfectly:-))) Wonderful staff.....so friendly. Our only wish was that they served breakfast in the morning. We will definitely return to the Bay Wind Suites again and again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Staying at the Bay Wind Suites was a nice treat after the one room B&B's we have experienced during our holiday so far. The place was clean and the suite contained a living room, a kitchen with mini bar, a bathroom with jacuzi, a bedroom and a walk-in closet, all very spacious. Great views of the harbour from the living room. As the bedroom is situated on the street side it can be a bit noisy. The dinner in the restaurant was good (lobster and snow crab) but they don't serve breakfast. However, there are a couple of other places nearby to have breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Bay Wind Suites are the best accommodations in Cheticamp. We stayed in the Highlands Suite. It had plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 teenagers. There was a nice kitchen with everything needed to stay a week. The living room and bedroom were nice sizes and the closet in the bedroom was huge! There was plenty of room for suitcases so we never felt cramped. The bathroom was awesome with a huge tub. The owners were very pleasant and more than willing to assist when needed. They even came back late due to our late arrival.

If you are an American, please note that hotels in Nova Scotia are not what we typically expect with the words "suites" and "resorts". We had to ask when we were out of anything with the exception of towels including coffee, toilet tissue, etc. I did read this in an older review below and am glad I did; otherwise, I would not have liked that.

This hotel is a great place to stay when visiting the Cape Breton National Park for an extended period of time. It is very close to the entrance of the park and in walking distance to a pizza restaurant for nights when you're too tired to go out.

I don't want to put a negative review for kids activities, spa, or fitness center because these things just don't exist in Cheticamp. If you are going to the national park, leave the very small kids at home. They will be bored to death here. This hotel is great for couples and families with older children. In my opinion, this would be a great honeymoon spot for active couples

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgcatoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Everyone at Bay Winds was very welcoming. We arrived on a cold foggy June afternoon but were soon revived by Suzanne with hot soup and hot chocolate. We stayed for 4 nights in the Lighthouse suite. The accommodation is still somewhat 'work in progress' but had all required facilities including bath robes and good heating which was needed for the chilly evenings. The food upstairs in the Harbour Restaurant - also owned by Lorraine and family - is excellent. My wife particularly enjoyed the scallops and lobster. Steaks and the ubiquitous fish and chips were also very good. It's a great location for exploring the Cape Breton Highlands National Park which we certainly did.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IPA_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

What a beautiful place Cheticamp is. We stayed for 3 nights in the Deveau suite. It was clean and peaceful! I would stay again, only thing that was strange was having to ask for towels and maid service for the room.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmic101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We spent 5 nights here and used it as a base for walking some tracks in the national Park. We loved it here, our suite, the Lighthouse suite was just perfect and we were sad to leave here. We will definately stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank bevchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheticamp hotels
2.8 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
215 reviews
1.5 mi away
Auberge Doucet Inn
Auberge Doucet Inn
#5 of 7 in Cheticamp
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laurie's Motor Inn
Laurie's Motor Inn
#6 of 7 in Cheticamp
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ocean View Motel & Chalets
1.5 mi away
Pilot Whale Chalets
Pilot Whale Chalets
#1 of 9 in Cheticamp
92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabot Trail Sea and Golf Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Wind Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Wind Suites

Address: 15299 Cabot Trail, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cheticamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cheticamp
Price Range: £135 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Wind Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bay Wind Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Wind Suites Cheticamp, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing