We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot”
Review of Bay Wind Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Wind Suites
Ranked #5 of 8 Cheticamp B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The staff were friendly and the room was clean and spacious. Large bathroom with jacuzzi, but we did not use it. Beautiful spot right on the water. We had a great view of the harbour from our bedroom window.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Pretty rustic but very large suites overlooking the water. Central to everything in Cheticamp. Quiet rooms with kitchens and large bathroom and tub. The fold out sofa bed was extremely uncomfortable and our kids had a terrible night trying to sleep there. The main bed was quite comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missnbonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Pricy But nice clean appartment on the beautiful shores cape breton (The cabot trail entry is 10 minutes away ) food a there restaurant is very Good ....
No early breakfast is served :(
nice place if you need a quiet couple of days get away

Room Tip: Bayview suite on the second floor nice view from your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Bay Wind Suites was a convenient overnight stop on our trip around the coast of Nova Scotia. It is not a hotel, as such, more like a restaurant with rooms. Check in is done in the restaurant. After checking in you are pretty much left to fend for yourself.
There are four suites. We had number 1, Bay View. Access was up a flight of stairs which ran up the outside of the building. The suite consisted of a good sized lounge with coffee/tea making equipment and a full sized fridge. The bedroom had a large comfortable bed. Both rooms were furnished quite simply but in keeping with the seaside location. The bathroom was one of the largest that I have stayed in with an oval shaped jacuzzi bath. A nice touch were the candles (and importantly the matches) for anyone wanting a relaxing soak after a days site seeing. All rooms were very clean and well presented.
The views from every window were fantastic and sitting on the private balcony overlooking the Gulf of St Lawrence was lovely.
The restaurant does not open for breakfast. However, there are several places nearby who serve breakfasts.

Room Tip: Suite 1, Bay View has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Worldtravellers4549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Clean spot, good apartment, but way over priced, I can get a nicer spot in Sydney, Toronto, Ottawa or almost anywhere else for that matter. No swimming pool, and except for near by horse back riding tours (which was great), and over priced whale cruises, Cheticamp doesn't offer much or have much for individuals to enjoy or do.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

For the price you pay for this place we expected more. The staff were friendly and the room was clean, but at $200+ per night we expected a little bit more than a dated apartment. We were able to rent a whole cottage on the other side of Cape Breton for less money with a better view. The view of the ocean is obscurred by land maybe 200-300 meters across from the shore, which also seems to have a cattle ranch on it. Also the whole town has a rather foul odour about it reminiscent of sewar. The only good whale watching "nearby" is 45 minutes North of the town. My advice would be to not stay here where it is over priced, but stay on the other side the eastern side of cape breton and use it as a base for your travels.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mattpam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed at the Bay Winds on our eastern trip. I had set things up ahead of time and even had a local bakery, Aucoin, deliver baked goods to the refrigerator for the next morning. Checkin is in the restaurant and the suite was at the top of the stairs above the restaurant. It afforded a lovely water view on two sides. The room had been redone recently and is nice with a jacuzzi. It had the old CRT TV but that was not why we were there. We also had a very nice dinner in their restaurant that included fresh lobster. The only surprise was that, since it was after the high season had ended, the staff left about 7:30, leaving us the alone. This was OK since they made sure we had everything we needed. The WIFI held constant and the lack of a staff was not apparent.

Room Tip: The Bay Winds Suite is the best one with the two window views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sliphorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheticamp
30.6 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
39 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
676 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pilot Whale Chalets
Pilot Whale Chalets
#1 of 9 in Cheticamp
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Auberge Doucet Inn
Auberge Doucet Inn
#6 of 8 in Cheticamp
151 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
214 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean View Motel & Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Wind Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Wind Suites

Address: 15299 Cabot Trail, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cheticamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cheticamp
Price Range: £138 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Wind Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bay Wind Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Wind Suites Cheticamp, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing