We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”
Review of Laurie's Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laurie's Motor Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cheticamp
New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here on an organized tour. Laurie's Motor Inn covers the basics but that's it. Shower temperature was inconsistent and spray was weak. Sink was worn and cracked near drain. Laminate wood flooring instead of carpeting was unusual. The place is tired and rooms need updating. Dinner was mediocre. Not sure of other lodging options in the vicinity but you might want to look around.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank softautumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    67
    69
    23
    13
See reviews for
34
95
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
460 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We were on an organized tour and the tour company stopped at Laurie's Motor Inn for 2 nights. Cheticamp is very small, so if you MUST stay here, you will survive, however, the rooms are musty, smelly, and in need of a good cleaning. The furniture was in disrepair and uncomfortable. I would suggest you look at the room before you agree to stay here. The good news is the staff is friendly and efficient. But, the food served is below average to poor, so plan to dine elsewhere. There are many good restaurants in Cheticamp.

We do not plan to return but if we do, we will not be staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms at another hotel might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cheticamp hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Chieticamp is a very small one pony sort of town, a passby on the cabot trail. My boyriend and I stayed here for one night. The staff were friendly and helpfull, the rooms were big, and very clean. You can walk to some good restaurants, didn't have dinner at Laurie's, and walking distance to the whale watching places. The buffet breakfast the next morning was really good, the staff were also excellent there. We had a great sleep, beds were a little hard and yes the decor is dated but for where we were it was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gumbygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

You don't go to Cheticamp to say in an upscale place, good thing. Laurie's was OK, a little expensive for what it was, a little worn and aging, but the room was clean, the shower hot and the food at the buffet breakfast stone cold. I suspect you could do better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here as part of a motorcoach tour. The room was clean but could use some updating. The breakfast buffet was a little above average with eggs benedict as an entree. Service was very good. The young new owners are trying very hard to make the necessary improvements. This is a good place to stay if you are in Cheticamp.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerFromPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Very close to Cape Breton National Park. Our room was clean enough to be tolerable. The hotel could use some upgrades and maintenance. Very disappointed to be in the heart of French Acadia and the restaurant had a Chinese lunch buffet. The breakfast buffet was terrible.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Large motel with rooms in several buildings. We stayed in the Harbourview building on 1st floor and did have a view of the harbour but also the back of the restaurant with a noisy extractor fan. Reception staff were ok but not smiley or welcoming. The room was very dreary - all browns and beige with a creaky bed and old furnishings - typical motel fare. Everything was clean though which is the important thing.

We ate at the motel restaurant as it was raining and couldn't be bothered to get in the car to find anywhere else. Cheticamp main centre is spread over a couple of miles so it is quite a walk to go to neighbouring properties/restaurants. The food was very good in the evening and the restaurant staff very friendly. The restaurant was very busy as there was a coach party staying there too. It seems that throughout the season coach tours stay there. If you want company under the age of 50 go somewhere else. Entertainment is provided free at 8pm every night - principally for the coach tours - but everybody is welcome. Local guitarist singing folksy songs but quite entertaining and informative about the area history.

We were told that breakfast was from 7 to 10 and that it was best to go about 8 because the tour party would be there at 7 and it would be busy. We decided to get there prompt at 7 because we needed an early start. We did get there promptly before the rush, and the hot breakfast buffet looked very good. Unfortunately though the 'hot' food was actually quite cold, the orange juice was very watered down and tasteless and the cinnamon rolls were solid and chewy. The same staff as the previous night but were very cheery and happy.

The experience was one of a very average motel but we actually paid $160 making it the most expensive night of our vacation by far and definitely not the best.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjrpwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheticamp
2.5 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean View Motel & Chalets
1.9 mi away
Auberge Doucet Inn
Auberge Doucet Inn
#3 of 8 in Cheticamp
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bay Wind Suites
Bay Wind Suites
#4 of 8 in Cheticamp
72 reviews
15.1 mi away
Duck Cove Inn
Duck Cove Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Harbour
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cabot Trail Sea and Golf Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurie's Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurie's Motor Inn

Property: Laurie's Motor Inn
Address: 15456 Cabot Trail, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cheticamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cheticamp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Laurie's Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a seasonal property located in the heart of the Acadian Village of Chéticamp, Nova Scotia, Choose between a motel unit, suites or one of our vacation homes, so that you can make Laurie's your home away from home. During our peak season, enjoy our complimentary hot/cold buffet breakfast in our Restaurant. All rooms are air-conditioned, cable TV, radio, WiFi, telephone, hair dryers and ample parking. We also have a playground, pay-phone, coin-operated laundromat, small canteen, ice and pop machines. We are centrally located and minutes away from the renown Highlands National Park and the famous Cabot Trail. Enjoy rug hooking museum, beaches, golf course, gift/craft shops, horseback riding, hiking trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Laurie's Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurie`s Motor Hotel Cheticamp
Lauries Hotel Cheticamp
Lauries Motel Cheticamp
Laurie's Motor Inn Cheticamp, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing