We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Fancy - but nice”
Review of Merry's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cheticamp
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merry's Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cheticamp
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nothing Fancy - but nice”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This motel is situated back from the main street so very convenient to find and centrally located for walking to the water across the street. There are only 8 units which are very clean and comfortable. The owners were very nice. The breakfast was small but tasty. The t.v was very small and outdated and there was no phones or cell phone connection unless you used Bell. There is not much to do in Cheticamp but is a good place to stop on the Cabot Trail. We found entertainment in a local restaurant and the pub. Both served very good food at a reasonable price. They had entertainment at the art center however it was only in French.

Room Tip: If you choose rooms 1, 2, or 3 you get a view of the ocean across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    72
    24
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
77
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the motel. Nice breakfast, very clean rooms, and nice owners. Cape Breton Island is a nice place to visit for a few days. Saw moose and hiked and say waterfalls and went whale watching.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mcelhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I should preface this in saying that the motel provided what me and my buddy needed: two double beds, clean room and bathroom. The room was fairly small but nothing overly different from a small motel room. Certainly doesn't have large space to sprawl out but it wasn't what we needed.

The Motel is pretty centred in Cheticamp which gave us an easy commute to any of the food locations. The added benefit was that a Tims and a Bakery were on the way from the motel to the Cabot Trail. Sue was friendly and accommodating. She let us use her phone a couple times to call ahead to a kayaking location we were heading to the after our stay,

The breakfast was described as small and we only stayed to grab food the day we left. It may have been small but the freshly baked blueberry muffins were the real key to it and they were fantastic.

Overall, it was a good stay and good value for what was paid. If all you need is clean room, bed and a tv to settle in for the evening, you can't go wrong staying at Merry's Motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The motel is well set back from the road, on a shady slope behind the B&B (where breakfast is served). We carry folding lawn chairs, so could enjoy sitting under the trees where it was cool and quiet (there is also a picnic table). Spacious rooms, very clean. And pleasant, helpful hosts.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

In the center of Cheticamp, near to restaurants and laundry and harbor. Clean and quiet place with all the things you need including the view on sunsets. Breakfast including homemade muffins. Owners Swiss people and really nice and friendly.It's really as stated in the other reviews.I'd recommend it to friends.
Schönes Motel(mehr ein kleines Hotel) Zimmer sauber und praktisch eingerichtet. Platz zum draussen sitzen und auf den Hafen schauen. Frühstück gut für kanadische/amerikanische Verhältnisse.

Room Tip: We had room No 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Merry's has everything you need, if you want clean, simple and cheap! It is within walking distance of just about everything. You may want to drive to the grocery store, as that is a bit of a hike, but otherwise, park your car and enjoy the town on foot.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Excellent location, light breakfast, some rooms have a view, very clean and nice wood floors. $85 for the room was cheaper than two similar motels. Wireless is available. No AC but a nice breeze and a cool night made up for it. They also have a great porch to sit outside and enjoy the scenery.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheticamp
30.5 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
2.7 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Wind Suites
Bay Wind Suites
#4 of 8 in Cheticamp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean View Motel & Chalets
1.7 mi away
Auberge Doucet Inn
Auberge Doucet Inn
#3 of 8 in Cheticamp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laurie's Motor Inn
Laurie's Motor Inn
#6 of 7 in Cheticamp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merry's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merry's Motel

Property: Merry's Motel
Address: 15356 Cabot Trail | P.O. Box 1052, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cheticamp
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cheticamp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Merry`s Hotel Cheticamp
Merrys Hotel Cheticamp
Merrys Motel Cheticamp
Merry's Motel Cheticamp, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing