We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value & Clean Rooms”
Review of Merry's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cheticamp
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merry's Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cheticamp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed in the big house, in two rooms. They were nice and very clean. The owners are friendly and helpful. The price was very fair. There was a continental breakfast of coffee and toast/muffins. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Qbeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

All I ask for at a unknown motel in a sparsely populated area is for a clean room. This motel satisfied that requirement! The room was basic, but very clean. This motel is a very short walk to the restaurants and waterfront.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BillSweeney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here for one night. Cute little place with breakfast included. Immaculately clean and very economical. Our room had a beautiful view of the water. Service was great. A very well cared for motel. Perfect location if you are driving the Cabot Trail.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is a good value for a night's stay. No frills. The motel is older and dated, but my room was large and clean. There was a fan, desk, and TV in the room. A light breakfast is available in the main house. It is just toast and coffee, but that is what I was expecting. There are restaurants with in a short walk or drive from the motel as it is on the main drag through town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed based on others' reviews, and it was a great stop. Very economical and clean. Very friendly owner-operator with great suggestions about the area. It is basic, but all we needed for our first night on the Cabot Trail.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Excellent place to stay. Good service. Very very clean rooms. lovely chairs outside to sit out and look at water and boats, Only issue we did not like was very hard beds. Both my husband and i woke up with sore backs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Cate731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The location is perfect for visiting The Cape Breton Highlands NP. Basic continental breakfast with blueberry muffins and bakery fresh bread for toast. Freshly brewed coffee & orange juice was also available. It is a short drive toward the park for Tim Horton's if you need more. Sue and Martin are gracious hosts, and you get a B&B feeling even if you stay in the motel rooms. Sue provided a hair dryer and extra pillow on request as they were not part of the standard room accompaniments. The motel rooms are approximately 300 sq ft and were spotless. There is no air-conditioning as it is rarely needed in this area. The tub shower had good flow. TV was small but provided several US Stations. Adequate overall, clean, neat, close to the park, met our needs. This was our second stay as we stayed here seven years ago when we last visited the area. Accommodations were as good or better than they were at that time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelin_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheticamp
21.3 mi away
Margaree Riverview Inn
Margaree Riverview Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Forks
168 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#2 of 7 in Cheticamp
211 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean View Motel & Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Laurie's Motor Inn
Laurie's Motor Inn
#6 of 7 in Cheticamp
219 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pilot Whale Chalets
Pilot Whale Chalets
#1 of 9 in Cheticamp
90 reviews
1.0 mi away
Soleil Chalets
Soleil Chalets
#3 of 9 in Cheticamp
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merry's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merry's Motel

Address: 15356 Cabot Trail | P.O. Box 1052, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cheticamp
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cheticamp
Price Range: £30 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Merry`s Hotel Cheticamp
Merrys Hotel Cheticamp
Merrys Motel Cheticamp
Merry's Motel Cheticamp, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing