We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay, Close to Cape Breton National Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pilot Whale Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 8 Cheticamp B&B and Inns
Rottenburg am Neckar, Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay, Close to Cape Breton National Park”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights (July 1st – July 4th) during our two weeks vacations through Maine, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia. I made the reservation online in February for room #1 that is spacious and has a King size bed and an en-suite bathroom with a shower. It is very well maintained and immaculate. There is even a walk-in closet. However, we could not use it because it is used as storage by the owner.

The building is huge and located in a safe and quiet area. Even though we could hear road traffic, this was not an issue.

The owners treated us like family. Breakfast, served at their kitchen table, was good. I loved the homemade rhubarb jam. It was so delicious.
Located only 15 minutes driving outside of Chéticamp, it is convenient to Cape Breton National Park and the restaurants at Chéticamp.
Be aware of the fact, that stores there are closing early (5:00pm in the winter, 6:00pm in the summer). So, if you need to do some grocery shopping, do this in the morning!

We would stay here again if back to this area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    20
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

A hot drink on arrival would had said more than words. The lady owner could do with a course on how to make you welcome. The house is spotless and large, our bedroom was large with ample furniture, as was the well appointed bathroom, the tv needs an update. Breakfast was OK .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryP208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, CA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My tour group stayed here as we wanted a location close to Cape Breton National Park so we could get an early start to hiking. These are large chalet-type, well-spaced buildings with both upstairs and downstairs units. All of the upstairs units have an ocean view!

We had four different units between the group, two up and two down. All were spacious and had small kitchens with every implement for cooking a meal for four.

Staff was great and I would stay here again in a flash!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falling Waters, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Lovely home, quiet surroundings. The hosts treated us as family, and the husband treated my Dad to a visit to his workshop, which delighted my father.
We enjoyed a beautiful walk in this very peaceful place, feeling perfectly safe all the while.
I would recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi2842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level Contributor
109 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed there for one night to get into the Nat'l Park. After passing the various recycle bins showing their contents we entered the gorgeous block house. The owner showed us the room, gave us the key and asked for the breakfast time. That was the shortest small talk we ever had with a B&B host. The room and its bathroom in the basement were very clean and spacious. Unfortunately we could not use the TV in the adjacent guest living room (were not even sure if it was meant for us due to the iron board and desk with open work) as we could not figure out which remote control (a lot of them around) we could use, and the two running air dehydrators that were very noisy. The breakfast was good and we had nice talks with the hosts and other guests before we left.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed one night and it was a comfortable stay. We stayed in the lower room which had it's own bathroom and large bedroom. The breakfast of French toast was very tasty as they used homemade bread! The hosts were pleasant!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seetheworld416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a place in Cheticamp, but this B&B was only 15mins away from the town. Clean, relaxing, and a great breakfast! The host was wonderful! This B&B isn't on the ocean, it instead has more of a country feel (maybe a 5min walk from the water). We would definately recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkp440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheticamp
34.7 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
9.9 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
174 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Yellow Sidecar B & B
The Yellow Sidecar B & B
#1 of 1 in Cap Le Moine
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Ocean View Motel & Chalets
6.3 mi away
Auberge Doucet Inn
Auberge Doucet Inn
#3 of 8 in Cheticamp
136 reviews
7.8 mi away
Bay Wind Suites
Bay Wind Suites
#4 of 8 in Cheticamp
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilot Whale Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilot Whale Bed & Breakfast

Property: Pilot Whale Bed & Breakfast
Address: 77 Bazile Road | St. Joseph-Du-Moine, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cheticamp
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cheticamp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pilot Whale Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilot Whale Bed & Breakfast Cheticamp, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing