We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They couldn't have been nicer, neither the cottages nor the owners”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ingonish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Point Cottages by the Sea
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They couldn't have been nicer, neither the cottages nor the owners”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Fabulous cottages right on the water, thoughtfully appointed kitchens and bedrooms. We stayed here on our trip to Cape Breton and found it beautiful, relaxing and so quiet. After a day of hiking and biking it was perfect. And the owners were so accommodating and helpful to us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
46
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
vail, CO
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed in Lochinver cottage and it was certainly the best part of our trip. We only stayed for one night and we wished we could have stayed more. As mentioned - it is perfect for two people. It is a true "cottage" feel with an "old school" feel but was very clean. Bed was pretty good, though bedspread needs an update. As does the magazines and some of the other appointments, but really - the best thing about this place is that it is right on the water. The view is awesome, and you can watch the lobster boats early in the morning. You can walk right out onto the rocks and you fall asleep to hearing the waves. Slept great! Loved sitting on the deck with a beer and looking out to the sea. You can drive to the Celtic Lodge (10 minutes or so) for a nice dinner an to listen to music and have a whisky. Or, you can stay in and cook a decent meal in your cottage. HOWEVER - go to the store early and beware on Sundays, the liquor/beer store is closed and the grocery store closes around 5. We were stuck with no groceries and had to eat locally and the restaurants are not very good at all. The property manager certainly has a gem on her hands. I could only imagine this place with a few other friends and renting two cabins. It's close to Dingwall which is a great place to go sea kayaking and to eat oysters and beer for lunch at the campground. It's also close enough to the park for day trips to/from for hiking. I wish we had stayed longer. We had GREAT weather, so that is part of why our stay was so great, however I don't know what it would have been like if it was fogged in, rainy, and cold. It was 70-80 degrees and clear as a bell when we were there in late June of 2014!

Room Tip: wifi is spotty as you have to walk closer to the main house to get reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goreranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Lochinver cottage which is perfect for two people. Well equipped, clean, comfortable, it provided all we needed for two nights. The kitchen area had a decent size fridge, 2 electric rings, a coffee maker, kettle and sufficient cutlery, glasses etc to produce easy meals. The gas bbq was excellent and we used it on our second night. Rod's Lobsters and the Food Store a short distance away provided the ingredients and the government alcohol store a bit further down the road had a good selection of wines, beers and spirits.

The very best part about the Point Cottages though is the location. A matter of feet from the ocean, you could not ask for a better place to relax and unwind which is exactly what we did! Having had great plans to go walking and exploring, the rain clouds cleared quite early on in the day and we went no further than the very comfortable chairs on our front deck, watching the lobster boats go about their business, bird spotting, reading, eating lobster and soaking up the sun while enjoying the beautiful views of Cape Smokey and the coastline.

This is truly a very special place, well run and cared for - would highly recommend fitting it into a trip round the Cabot Trail and we wished we had stayed longer.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Winkie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

this was a very very nice place to stay, we had a lovely time there, it was lovely waking up every morning to the beautiful sea view, if you do go please take a torch, as there are no lights when coming back from the shops and bars ect, it is pitch black, and I mean pitch black. right next to the golf club, so if you fancy a long walk looking for a little white ball well, the option is there!!! absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank carol l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was our first stop along the Cabot Trail, what an amazing place to stay. Our cottage was outstanding and the view was even better. With the waves gently crashing against the beach, the sunsets and sunrises on the small piece of paradise were brilliant. I can only imagine this place during the summer. Several restaurants nearby, as are hiking trails. The cottage was complete with a kitchen allowing for small meal preparations. The beds were comfortable and the room spotless. Would definitely recommend this to family and friends

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ggummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Right on the ocean, with wonderful view, especially sunset. While not luxurious, cottages are perfectly fine, with nice thoughts like dish soap, coffee, plenty of towels. Could do with a sign indicating where they are for those doing the Cabot Trail clockwise..

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank FE2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Slow down, relax, simplify and enjoy. Sit on the deck wtih a glass of wine and ponder the expanse of the milky way - nearly a new moon so more visible stars than I've ever seen! Set the alarm and coffee pot for 10 minutes before sunrise. Sit on the deck and watch the sun rise and produce a myriad of colors - the cottages face due east.

Nothing fancy here, just a clean place to stay with pure views of nature. It is not a B&B but the cottages are equipped with appliances and tableware. Our cottage was stocked with coffee, filters, salt and pepper. Note that you should plan ahead if you need other supplies. There is a small market ~2 km away but its hours are limited. There is a great breakfast spot less than 5 minutes south and its a great option if you weren't able to stock up before arriving.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tphke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ingonish hotels
0.8 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
4.1 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lantern Hill & Hollow
Lantern Hill & Hollow
#1 of 7 in Ingonish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.5 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Castlerock Country Inn
Castlerock Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Ingonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Cottages by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Cottages by the Sea

Property: The Point Cottages by the Sea
Address: 2 Point Cottages Lane | PO Box 67, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Ingonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few feet from the Atlantic Ocean, The Point Cottages are situated at a private and secluded place, surrounded on three sides by the sea. There are unsurpassed views of the surrounding Highlands, adjacent sand beaches, walking areas, fishing and boat tours, hiking, etc. The Cottages are equipped for housekeeping with dishes and linens supplied. Each cottage has full kitchen or kitchenette, living room, one or more bedrooms, electric heat, TV, microwave oven, barbecue and a spacious outside deck. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Point Cottages By The Sea Hotel Ingonish
The Point Cottages By The Sea Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing