We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Accommodations”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ingonish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sleepy Hollow Cottages
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Notch Accommodations”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My friend and I stopped by in October in the off chance that we might find accommodations. Although the owners were in the process of closing for the season, they allowed us to stay for as long as we needed. The cabin was extremely clean and the host and hostess were very accommodating. It was a pleasure staying there and we plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    1
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed at Sleepy Hollow for two nights and were very disappointed in the accommodation. The cottage was VERY rustic and dated, there was NO view. The website states it's is close to the beach but we had to walk an uneven trail through someone property to the 'beach'. Also, it i located in a hollow, with unsightly houses nearby. I would not recommend this establishment. There are much nicer accommodations in the Ingonish area.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NStraveller97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ingonish hotels

montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We have been coming here for 10 years. The owners are very accomodating when you are in need of something and try to help you have a really enjoyable stay. The cottages are fully equipped and extremely clean. It is located near restaurants and wonderful beaches. We are very very comfortable staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seetheworldMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Great place to stay. Confortable cottages, very roomy, large kitchen and all appliances.
Super friendly owners. Joey took us out on his fishing boat for more than 3 hours and gave us a pot to cook the lobsters in. Would like to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldismyhome1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Waterford, NS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

My husband and I were travelling with another couple for a 3 day mini vacation. We spent the first night in Cheticamp which was perfect and then travelled the Cabot Trail to Ingonish. We spent a night at the Sleepy Hollow Cottages and was not impressed at all...wallpaper is peeling off the walls in places, metal strips join the vinyl floorcovering in the kitchen/living room, bathroom was OK, the bedrooms had carpet on the floors which no doubt added to the most disturbing problem, the musty smell...after trying to amuse ourselves as the weather was not the best with rain and fog, we decided to go for a drive to get away from this nightmare. The price we paid was $187.00 which was so far out of line for the accomodations provided and I think the advertisement online nowhere reflects what these cottages really are...poor to substandard would be my rating. I think their website needs to have actual pictures of the accomodations, not some enhanced rendition...people travel long distances expecting to get what the proprietor promises. Oh, the light fixture mentioned in another review of these cottages is still not fixed and that was last year. Would I recommend this establishment to my friends, definitely not.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Palisades
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Other than Sleepy Hollow, we were very pleased with all our accommodations in Nova Scotia. Both the setting and the condition of the cabin were disappointing. The cottages are set in an area of quite uneven development with some ramshackle homes. When we were there, the access to the beach was difficult. (The manager said a bridge had been washed out. ) At best, you will still not feel close to the water.

The cottage itself had so many things that were not quite right that we at times were amused. Floors were uneven and a patchwork of materials that often were cut so they didn't quite reach the walls. The furniture was very tired. Sitting in the couch was a dive into the unknown. My husband finally lost his sense of humor when the light above one of the beds didn't work, and he found a loose live wire in the fixture.

We checked out early. There were a number of other accommodations in Ingonish that looked more pleasing to us. The owners/managers of Sleepy Hollow should be more accurate in their website presentation. And they should get some professional advice on their attempts at remodeling./modernizing. The rates are not consistent with the property.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Friar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ingonish hotels
0.8 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.8 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
2.8 mi away
Lantern Hill & Hollow
Lantern Hill & Hollow
#1 of 7 in Ingonish
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
84 reviews
3.0 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Ingonish Chalets
Ingonish Chalets
#2 of 7 in Ingonish
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepy Hollow Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Hollow Cottages

Property: Sleepy Hollow Cottages
Address: Snow Road | P.O. Box 199, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Ingonish
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sleepy Hollow Cottages Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing