We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Clifton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This Lodge is located in the most perfect spot, has the best views and wonderful food. the Staff was most helpful and informative on the history of the location and helped us settle on activities and a restaurant. We wanted to stay longer, and recommend that you do.

Room Tip: The Inn part of the Lodge has more modern rooms, but are a bit outdated. Also it was cheaper to just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJClifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    310
    174
    111
    43
See reviews for
216
526
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed one night at a room with ocean view. Although the hotel itself and the rooms are a bit outdated, we really enjoyed our stay. The best part was the view of the ocean, definitely worth paying for! The beds were very soft and comfortable, so were the pillows. The had pool table and ping pong, that we enjoyed in the evening.
They have only outdoor pool, and the water temperature is 23C, the air was around 13, so we did not feel like taking a swim. Wish they had an indoor pool!
The spa closed at 6pm, so we did not get a chance to use it, but we did a hiking trail near the hotel, it was nice but lots of mosquitos.

The restaurants were very nice, we had dinner at the Atlantic restaurant, it was very good and amazingly not expensive, and the included breakfast was superb, both variety and quality.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Keltic Lodge was great. Friendly staff, great dining options, and beautiful views. We didnt have the opporunity to golf, but the course looked nice, will be on our list for a visit back. Spa services and staff were great. Would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 52414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for the feedback about your recent stay. We are so happy to hear that our staff were friendly and you enjoyed our delicious menus and relaxing spa. We can’t wait to welcome you back again soon.

Until then,
Jason Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Everything was good about this place. The service was outstanding both at reception and restaurants. The food was magnificient in the Thistle Restaurant but also in the bar. They had live music in the bar. The Irish musician, Jimmy, was superb and entertaining. The staff were going out of their way to make your stay pleasant. We stayed in the newer section, a bit away from the main lodge. The room was large and well appointed. The staff was accommodating and let us stay as long as we wanted so that we could hike the Middle Trail which I also highly recommend. This was not the high season so I suspect one might not be able to get so much attention during the high season. Our server had been with the lodge for 25 years! This must mean something. He was warm and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was the first stop on mine and my husband's 5 year anniversary trip to Nova Scotia & PEI. After a nightmare of a time flying here from the states (cancelled flights, missed connections), we were finally able to relax when we landed in Sydney and got in the car to drive to the Keltic. The car ride from Sydney up to Ingonish is very scenic--it was a bit foggy the day we arrived, but beautiful clear skies the day we left. We stayed for 3 nights, and they were splendid.
The staff were all very polite and helpful, and our room at the Inn was great; it was very spacious, clean, and the bed was comfy. The first floor of the Inn also had a lovely sitting area with large chairs you could curl up in to read a book, with a spectacular view from the huge window next to the chairs. The housekeeping staff was very good--always respected our "do not disturb" sign, but then promptly cleaned the room once we left so it was spit spot by the time we returned, and all the toiletries were replenished.
Other things we loved: the scenery, the location, and the food. Scenery: the Keltic Lodge had spectacular views (see pics). Location: inside Cape Breton National Park, near a golf course, and all restaurants/activities were within 5-15 minutes driving distance. Food: Oh my goodness, we loved the food here! Tried the Highland Sitting Room the first night. It is more casual, open till 11, with live entertainment every night. Our drinks and food were very yummy (I got club sandwich and hubby got pork belly burger). We had a more formal dinner for our anniversary the following night in the Purple Thistle Dining Room, and it was all fantastic (bread, apple & brie appetizer, halibut and chicken entrees--very well seasoned with good side dishes). All in all, we were VERY pleased with our trip!

Room Tip: If you are staying in The Inn, note that there is no elevator, and there are (at least) 2 floors. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuTiger609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review and happy belated anniversary! We are so glad to hear that your trip went more smoothly once you finally made it to us! It sounds like you were able to experience all of the amenities Keltic and Cape Breton have to offer. The many views from our property are truly breathtaking. We hope to welcome you back for many more anniversaries to come.

Sincerely,
Jason Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We enjoyed very much our three night stay at the Keltic Lodge. The hotel is what you can expect from those older resort hotels: wonderful location, well-manicured garden, lots of character, beautiful dining room and sitting room but you have to accept some of the idiosyncrasies of this type of older establishment: sound proofing is not perfect (it was not an issue for us as all the guests were well behaved), small windows which limit what would otherwise be a beautiful view and which leave the room rather dark. Our room (a king size bed with ocean view) was reasonably large with a sofa and a very comfy bed. It had a walking closet or more accurately a storage room which was quite handy to put out of view the many pieces of luggage you end up with when you do long distance trip by car. A few things could be better: you would expect this type of higher end establishment to provide bathrobe for their guest which is not the case, the rod for hangers in the walking closet was located so high that my wife had trouble reaching it and last I do not think that the carpet in the hallway leading to the rooms was ever vacuumed during our stay. There was some pieces of bread crumb or sand in front of our room and in other part of the hallway when we arrived and they were still there when we left.

The Keltic Lodge prides itself in offering a first class dining experience and it is well deserved. We had diner twice in the Purple Thistle Dining Room and once in the Highland Sitting Room. In each case we had excellent food and service making the experience very enjoyable. Do not miss the seafood chowder which is, by far, the better I have ever had

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My two-night stay at this historic lodge was part of a comprehensive tour of the Canadian Maritimes. Our weather was perfect, and one couldn't ask for better views of Cape Breton. While there we hiked the top trail of the peninsula and had a interesting lecture about lobster preparation by the head chef. Meals were superb! My room was small, but this is vintage site; it was clean, quiet, and comfortable. The facility now has wifi, and I was able to take my iPad outside and show a friend the views on FaceTime. I would love to return someday!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily_Lady_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingonish
2.4 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
42.9 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
610 reviews
38.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
20.9 mi away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
1.7 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa

Property: Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Address: 383 Middle Head Peninsula, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1L0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Cape Breton resort, Keltic Lodge Resort and Spa, is located in the heart of Cape Breton Highlands National Park overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Just 2 hours from Sydney, NS and a scenic 5 hour drive from Nova Scotia's capital city Halifax, the 100 room resort has been welcoming guests to Cape Breton, Nova Scotia since July 1940. Keltic offers versatility for Cape Breton accommodations with rooms in the Main Lodge, spacious rooms in the Inn at Keltic and cozy two and four bedroom cottages with fireplaces and verandas. The Cape Breton resort is the perfect spot for a Nova Scotia family vacation with recreation facilities on-site or nearby that include a heated outdoor pool, Atlantic Ocean Ingonish Beach, hiking, wilderness trails, lawn games, whale watching, Eminence Spa and boat cruises. Adjacent to the resort is the Cape Breton golf icon, the 18 hole championship Highlands Links Golf Course. The Cape Breton golf course, rich in the Scottish tradition, has been restored to Stanley Thompson's magnificent original design. The Purple Thistle Dining Room and Atlantic Restaurant and Bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean offer a comfortable dining experience and traditional Maritime menu. The Highland Sitting Room features a pub menu for lunch and dinner and nightly live Celtic entertainment. Nova Scotia conferences are welcome at Keltic Lodge with 13,000 sq ft of meeting space spread throughout the resort utilizing the restaurants and bars for private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keltic Lodge Resort And Spa
Keltic Hotel Ingonish
Keltic Resort Ingonish
Keltic Lodge Nova Scotia
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing