We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Reviewed 30 June 2014

What a beautiful setting!! We stayed in the Inn with a lovely view, but the room was really nothing special - VERY dated. Plenty of space, but really needs a refresh. Highland Sitting Room is a nice place to "hang out", but they could use a little work on the service - it's not BAD, but it's not GOOD, either! Purple Thistle was very good - and our server (Aaron) was just a joy...he took care of us for at least 3 different meals, and really added to our experience each time! I'd stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacksonVA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for the feedback about your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our beautifully picturesque location. It sounds like you had a few great dining experiences with us. We are very lucky to have servers like Aaron, he’s a great team member! We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Until then,
Jason Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
There are newer reviews for Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I went here for our one year wedding anniversary. We stayed at the Inn and even though we didn't pay for an ocean view we received a room with an amazing view of the ocean and Cape Smokey! The Keltic has the best location and amazing grounds! Our favorite parts were hiking Middle Head trail and the entertainment in the Highland Sitting room!! The staff were great and the breakfast was to die for! I can't say enough about the Keltic. Every time I stay there it feels like I'm staying somewhere magical!

Room Tip: Pay extra for an ocean view, well worth it!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our family stayed for two nights at Keltic Lodge. We were in one of the cottages and loved it. The cabin was clean and quite spacious for four people. Nice to have two bathrooms in the cabin. The beds are so comfortable and there is a TV, mini fridge & coffee maker in each bedroom. A fireplace is in the cabin for cooler nights. Fantastic view from the front porch of the cabin. The breakfast buffet is very good. The scenery surrounding Keltic Lodge is spectacular. Great hiking trails nearby. The staff are friendly and helpful. Highlands Links golf course is a great course to play and the golfers in our group loved it. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Cabins are spacious and great for families.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mairip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed one night at the Inn. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

Had the worst meal we've ever paid for at the Highland Sitting Room. Lobster Sliders were nothing short of awful. They were 4 or 5 inches tall and about 2 inches in diameter. About a half inch of that was not very good lobster filling, the rest was the stalest driest bun we've ever seen without mold. It was not edible. We were given the staff discount for that dish because the server said she'd gotten other similar complaints. We ordered seafood chowder - wanted to eat something. It was terrible as well, only ate a bit of it. We both felt off for the rest of the day.

We had been planning a nice feed of seafood & wine at the Atlantic Dining Room for dinner, but went for a clubhouse sandwich and ginger ale instead. It was fine and did settle our stomachs.

Too bad the incompetence of one kitchen overwhelmed everything else. We'll never be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I would like to send my sincerest apologies for your dining experience during your stay with us. Please contact me directly at jbrown@kelticlodge.ca, and we can discuss further. I hope to hear from you.

Until then,
Jason Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This Lodge is located in the most perfect spot, has the best views and wonderful food. the Staff was most helpful and informative on the history of the location and helped us settle on activities and a restaurant. We wanted to stay longer, and recommend that you do.

Room Tip: The Inn part of the Lodge has more modern rooms, but are a bit outdated. Also it was cheaper to just...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJClifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed one night at a room with ocean view. Although the hotel itself and the rooms are a bit outdated, we really enjoyed our stay. The best part was the view of the ocean, definitely worth paying for! The beds were very soft and comfortable, so were the pillows. The had pool table and ping pong, that we enjoyed in the evening.
They have only outdoor pool, and the water temperature is 23C, the air was around 13, so we did not feel like taking a swim. Wish they had an indoor pool!
The spa closed at 6pm, so we did not get a chance to use it, but we did a hiking trail near the hotel, it was nice but lots of mosquitos.

The restaurants were very nice, we had dinner at the Atlantic restaurant, it was very good and amazingly not expensive, and the included breakfast was superb, both variety and quality.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must!!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Keltic Lodge was great. Friendly staff, great dining options, and beautiful views. We didnt have the opporunity to golf, but the course looked nice, will be on our list for a visit back. Spa services and staff were great. Would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 52,414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for the feedback about your recent stay. We are so happy to hear that our staff were friendly and you enjoyed our delicious menus and relaxing spa. We can’t wait to welcome you back again soon.

Until then,
Jason Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingonish
2.4 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
38.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
2.5 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
2.0 mi away
Lantern Hill & Hollow
Lantern Hill & Hollow
#1 of 7 in Ingonish
214 reviews
42.8 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 383 Middle Head Peninsula, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1L0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Price Range: £150 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Cape Breton resort, Keltic Lodge Resort and Spa, is located in the heart of Cape Breton Highlands National Park overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Just 2 hours from Sydney, NS and a scenic 5 hour drive from Nova Scotia's capital city Halifax, the 100 room resort has been welcoming guests to Cape Breton, Nova Scotia since July 1940. Keltic offers versatility for Cape Breton accommodations with rooms in the Main Lodge, spacious rooms in the Inn at Keltic and cozy two and four bedroom cottages with fireplaces and verandas. The Cape Breton resort is the perfect spot for a Nova Scotia family vacation with recreation facilities on-site or nearby that include a heated outdoor pool, Atlantic Ocean Ingonish Beach, hiking, wilderness trails, lawn games, whale watching, Eminence Spa and boat cruises. Adjacent to the resort is the Cape Breton golf icon, the 18 hole championship Highlands Links Golf Course. The Cape Breton golf course, rich in the Scottish tradition, has been restored to Stanley Thompson's magnificent original design. The Purple Thistle Dining Room and Atlantic Restaurant and Bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean offer a comfortable dining experience and traditional Maritime menu. The Highland Sitting Room features a pub menu for lunch and dinner and nightly live Celtic entertainment. Nova Scotia conferences are welcome at Keltic Lodge with 13,000 sq ft of meeting space spread throughout the resort utilizing the restaurants and bars for private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keltic Lodge Resort And Spa
Keltic Hotel Ingonish
Keltic Resort Ingonish
Keltic Lodge Nova Scotia
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing