We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms Feel old, Look old, Smell old, Function old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
SC
Level Contributor
284 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Rooms Feel old, Look old, Smell old, Function old”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The lodge was built in 1940, I am not sure when the Inn was built, but I doubt that it was upgraded or renovate, since then.
I stayed at the Inn (the only room available that day).It is clean, though... Still smells really old. Of-course, it is not historic so it has no Old-Charm character ... So no excuse.
If your room on the lower floor, you will hear and feel every single walking step of the room above you.... With active children, kiss the sleep good-bye. The bed mattress is so bad that poor sleep and back pain are guaranteed.
You charge an arm and leg for this room, at least do something to make our stay bearable ... It truly feels like a cheap Motel room.... In all honesty.
On the bright side, when you are outside the room: the property is in a Prime spot... Beautiful nature ....
This hotel is the best in the area, so I was told, read, and being advertised... So know exactly what you are getting into before arrival.... It will be too late for regrets.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOURtheWORLDMexPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the scenery surrounding Keltic Lodge. We are very sorry that your room wasn’t what you had expected. In the future, we would encourage you to speak to the front desk about any concerns you may have. Please trust that we take guest complaints very seriously, and we are working with our staff to ensure improvements are made for future visitors. If you would like to discuss your experience in greater detail, please do not hesitate to contact me at, jbrown@kelticlodge.ca

Kind Regards,
Jason Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    294
    171
    105
    41
See reviews for
211
505
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nauvoo, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 45th wedding anniversary at this luxurious lodge. The drive to the lodge along the Atlantic coast was magnificent through the Cape Breton Highlands National Park. We arrived very early and were warmly welcomed and assigned our suite which was ready for us. The view of the Atlantic Ocean from our room was beautiful. The bed and furniture were very comfortable in our suite.The immense grounds were immaculately kept and we enjoyed a drink appreciating the view in two of the many chairs available outside. The total package that we reserved included the suite and complimentary full breakfast the next morning. After eating a delicious dinner in the attached Purple Thistle restaurant, we enjoyed the entertainment in the lodge. The full breakfast the next morning had a wide selection of different savory items to choose. The atmosphere of the lodge and grounds was very relaxing. The amenities of the hotel were first class and we were made to feel special by the staff in both the inn and restaurant. It was one of the best hotels/lodges we have ever stayed.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for accommodations in the lodge and on the second floor with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redcar
Level Contributor
405 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped for lunch on a coach tour. The location is spectacular and the building itself is worth a visit. We had a buffet lunch which was varied plentiful and tasty. The views over the water were spectacular on two sides.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank redscarfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for telling us about your experience! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our delicious buffet and beautiful ocean views. Next time you’ll have to stay for the night!

Until then,
Jason Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Well, this place is a MUST stop simply for the view and location--period. There is no argument in my mind at it is one of the most spectacular pieces of land on the planet. And breathtaking hiking right off the end of the property that is part of the Highlands National Park.

Having said that, our room, a King "with view", was located in the Inn at Keltic building, a short walk from the Main Lodge (the historic structure). The building and common areas seemed to have an institutional feel--think of a hospital or home for the aged that was converted to a resort. The room doors (steel) were painted a semi-depressing light brown, the hallways had this terrible smell (like stale air is the best way I can describe it), and the carpets (at least in the hall and common areas) needed to be replaced. In the rooms, they had done a fairly nice job trying to update what is an older building with newer carpets. Still, the dated feel of the building prevailed. I would opt for either the authentically dated feel of the main building (where a historic feel prevails) or the cottages, which are campy and warm (from what I had seen).

The food was consistently good. The breakfasts, included with the daily rate, were WELL ABOVE average. The bacon was the best I had had (my kids agreed) in many years. The salmon (fresh Atlantic salmon) was the best I had since a British Columbia trip 17 years ago.

Finally, the pub. A nice feel. Great beer selections, decent food offerings, and nightly entertainment (Irish folk music prevailed during our trip) was very good.

We would return....just fine tune it a bit for the MAIN LODGE. The packaged nightly rate, when including the breakfasts, was very competitively priced. I would disagree with some others suggesting this resort complex is overpriced. It is not.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsy0004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banning, Ca
Level Contributor
697 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here and the Inn was nice and old fashioned. Room was clean, great views nearby. Meals were also good. Staff service was a big plus. Somewhat pricey, no we do not golf, maybe this would have helped.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perkadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom, two bath cottage that was surprisingly luxurious. One bedroom had a king, the other bedroom had 2 queens. Both bedrooms had refrigerators and nice TVs. The beds were unbelievably comfortable! The cottage also included a living room with couch, chairs, and fireplace. We can't comment on the dinner at the inn, but we very much enjoyed the breakfast buffet each morning. The hostess was WONDERFUL - she even packed us "to-go" breakfasts, as our last morning we had to leave before the buffet started. Going to the highland sitting room at night was a great way to relax, have a cocktail and snacks, and listen to some live music. Our only complaint was that many of the staff at the lodge were new employees, and couldn't help much with recommendations for what to do in the park. But, that will improve as the season progresses, and the visitors center for the national park was quite helpful.

Activities we enjoyed right around the Keltic Lodge: the Middle Head trail (a shorter hike, the trail head is within sight of the Keltic Lodge), the Ingonish Beach, ordering a take-out pizza and sitting in the adirondack chairs to watch the sunset, etc.

Activities we loved in Cape Breton: the Acadia hike - a little more challenging but the best views at the top! the Skyline trail - an easier, flatter hike with similarly wonderful views. Kayaking with North River Kayaks (1/2 day). Keltic express Zodiac whale watching tour (we saw > 15 whales and several very cute seals!). And, one of our favorite activities: driving up past Neil's Harbor to White Point - it is a very tiny harbor town with a small relatively short trail at the end of the road, leads you to the tip of the island with amazing views. There was no one else there when we went, and it felt like we were at the end of the earth with a vast ocean in front of us. Great place for pictures, particularly near sunset. We also drove the dirt road to Mary Ann Falls and Warren Lake - if it's a sunny warm day, bring a bathing suit/clothes that you don't mind getting wet - it's quite easy to swim at both locations!

Tips for your stay: bring lots of bugspray, we got a ton of mosquito bites. The sunsets in Cape Breton national park are unbelievable, but be wary of driving back to Keltic Lodge in the dark - we saw > 5 moose on the road and had to drive very slow.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

What a beautiful setting!! We stayed in the Inn with a lovely view, but the room was really nothing special - VERY dated. Plenty of space, but really needs a refresh. Highland Sitting Room is a nice place to "hang out", but they could use a little work on the service - it's not BAD, but it's not GOOD, either! Purple Thistle was very good - and our server (Aaron) was just a joy...he took care of us for at least 3 different meals, and really added to our experience each time! I'd stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacksonVA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for the feedback about your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our beautifully picturesque location. It sounds like you had a few great dining experiences with us. We are very lucky to have servers like Aaron, he’s a great team member! We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Until then,
Jason Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingonish
2.4 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
42.9 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
589 reviews
54.7 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
42.8 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
614 reviews
1.7 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa

Property: Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Address: 383 Middle Head Peninsula, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1L0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Cape Breton resort, Keltic Lodge Resort and Spa, is located in the heart of Cape Breton Highlands National Park overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Just 2 hours from Sydney, NS and a scenic 5 hour drive from Nova Scotia's capital city Halifax, the 100 room resort has been welcoming guests to Cape Breton, Nova Scotia since July 1940. Keltic offers versatility for Cape Breton accommodations with rooms in the Main Lodge, spacious rooms in the Inn at Keltic and cozy two and four bedroom cottages with fireplaces and verandas. The Cape Breton resort is the perfect spot for a Nova Scotia family vacation with recreation facilities on-site or nearby that include a heated outdoor pool, Atlantic Ocean Ingonish Beach, hiking, wilderness trails, lawn games, whale watching, Eminence Spa and boat cruises. Adjacent to the resort is the Cape Breton golf icon, the 18 hole championship Highlands Links Golf Course. The Cape Breton golf course, rich in the Scottish tradition, has been restored to Stanley Thompson's magnificent original design. The Purple Thistle Dining Room and Atlantic Restaurant and Bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean offer a comfortable dining experience and traditional Maritime menu. The Highland Sitting Room features a pub menu for lunch and dinner and nightly live Celtic entertainment. Nova Scotia conferences are welcome at Keltic Lodge with 13,000 sq ft of meeting space spread throughout the resort utilizing the restaurants and bars for private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keltic Lodge Resort And Spa
Keltic Hotel Ingonish
Keltic Resort Ingonish
Keltic Lodge Nova Scotia
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing