We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, friendly owners”
Review of Driftwood Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ingonish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Driftwood Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Ingonish B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for a night just travelling through. Our room was very basic, but clean and comfortable. We did not have a shower, just a bath tub, though it wasn't really a problem, we just found it part of the charm. The room was no more than 50 dollars, which is amazing value, so we were super happy. The owner was very welcoming and made recommendations for where to eat and go.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

Location is great, right by the ocean and you can literarily hear the waves from the room. There the access to the private beach and a private little playground that the owner build for his kids- but is generously sharing it, so this was a bonus that we did not expect for our toddler.

Rooms are rusty old, basic, but clean and have everything you need. The space is utilized well.
Owners are super friendly and ready to give advice on dining, hiking trails, etc. They are both artists- happen to work in film and theater and interested people to talk to, They are genuinely nice.

We stayed in the comunal Lodge for two nights- and if it happened that we had stayed on any different day of the week the rating would have been probably higher- however the second night ofd our stay ( wich happen to be Saturday)-we could not sleep until 4:00 AM!
If you are early bird- and go to bed pretty early this place will not work for you unless you rent their " yellow house" - the separate entity at the property.

What happened to us a lots of young crowd came for the weekend fun, there was door slamming, laughing, smoking, rooms circulating, sitting on the stairways, talking..
We heard every single word and movement as isolation is pretty poor.
We asked them kindly to lower the tune, explaining OUR situation, and although they were polite and apologetic, nothing changed and the party didn't end all night. I understood they were just young and on a different life stage than us , I am not blaming them.
However, I wish the owners had made some " house rules" in the comunal house, in terms of the neighbor- curtsey after certain hours , as our relaxing time and all the great feelings about the place we felt were pretty damaged by this experience.

Room Tip: try to book the yellow house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danolear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We weren't t expecting muchness...$50.oo per night in Aug!! And we were pleased with our choice. we only stayed a night and had the small double room with tub no shower. The checking was a bit if a out off as the chap ...owner? Although friendly was a bit on the grungy side. happily the room ...was very clean...carpet looked new and it was all pine...rustic but fine. loved having morning coffee on the beach!!

Room Tip: If you book the rooms with a view you ll hear the waves crashing at night.....a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank easterntreker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This place is great! The owners are friendly and very helpful! The lodge is right along The Cabot Trail and the Atlantic Ocean which makes it even better. The rooms are very clean too! Very worth you're money! There is a beach right beside the lodge which is very nice to walk on. Don't expect a TV because there isn't! There are much better things to do in Ingonish like going to the Ingonish beach, or hiking some of the beautiful hiking trails that are part of the Cape Breton Highlands National Park.
Overall: GREAT PLACE!! :D

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catsrbetterthandogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

As I said, the yellow cabin already become "our" cottage when we book a few days get-away on the famous Cabot trail. We come back every year! The yellow cabin is separated from the main lodge, it may look dated, but it's always clean! My family appreciate the privacy and the peace, just sitting at the dinning room, looking outside the big glass window facing to the ocean, it's all about why we love to stay here. The private beach is so clean and beautiful, my family enjoy the evening walk and kid has tons of fun on the beach. The landlord Kersti is very very friendly and helpful. She loves to share the story about the history of the driftwood lodge to her guests. The yellow cabin we stay has two bedrooms, one washroom, one kitchen with all appliances, it's perfect for the family. The landlord always brings extra blankets and space heaters when we visit either early in the season or in falls. The beauty of Cape Breton island, and the dirving experience on Cabot trail is second to none. The Driftwood Lodge just sits on the trail and "inside" the Cape Breton highland national park. Location is another great feature we choose to stay here. And of course, last but not least, the staying is very affordable!
All in all, everytime my family stay in Driftwood lodge, we're always pleased. We will come back again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ProjectTantallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The accommodation is modest but so clean. And the wi-fi was an unexpected bonus, I hadn't seen it mentioned on their website. A perfect location on the beach near Cape Breton Park The kitchen was sufficiently stocked for easy meals.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrlandoFLTravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We booked 4 nights in the separate lodge over the internet as the website was attractive and it had a good writeup in "The Lonely Planet" book on Canada. It was a shock to see the condition of the yellow "shack". We had to wipe the dust off the bedhead and there were many dead insects inside the lampshades. It was cramped, creaky rough and poorly maintained even though we were told it was 140 years old. Age and tradition are no excuses for poor housekeeping. We hardly slept the first night -we were so upset we had been fooled by the available information and could not face another 3 nights . We only stayed the one night and the owner charged us a second night's accommodation fee. We found much better, cheaper, cleaner accommodation just down the road. We are informing "Lonely Planet" of our opinion on Driftwood Lodge.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ingonish hotels
0.2 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.2 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
2.5 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ingonish Chalets
Ingonish Chalets
#3 of 7 in Ingonish
93 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lantern Hill & Hollow
Lantern Hill & Hollow
#1 of 7 in Ingonish
216 reviews
4.4 mi away
Castlerock Country Inn
Castlerock Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Ingonish
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Lodge

Address: 36139 Cabot Trail, Ingonish, Nova Scotia, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ingonish
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Driftwood Lodge Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing